We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rails Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rails Restaurant
Price range: $18 - $55
Cuisines: International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Rails Restaurant IS CLOSED. Rails Restaurant closed in March 2014. It is now under new management and called Station Street Bistro.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I am so glad I have found this local restaurant.Its pleasant atmosphere and food is both value for money and beyond.I had the pumpkin salad and mezze plate and left happy and satisfied.My partner had the steak and scampi and said it was the best steak he can remember in a long time.We intend to make this our local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Milly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Hornsby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have dined at Rails on a few occasions and it just seems to get better each time.
The beef and Guinness pie is the best I have ever tasted and my partners salmon with prawn salsa and baked tomato sauce was cooked to perfection. fairly limited wine list but excellent service. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - little atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went recently with a group of ladies and much to our surprise the place on a Thursday night was EMPTY apparently MOST unual. With some misgivings we entered and had a vast choice of seating!! Happily NO TV was on and the entire place was aesthetically very pleasing.We chose our meals which were FANTASTIC - lamb shanks, Atlantic Salmon and Tenderloin fillet!! Then came our desserts - YUM -sticky date pudding, flourless chocolate cake, lemon and lime tart and a coffee dessert!!!The quality was up there with the best! This place is SO much better value and better food than The Greengate Hotel and so much less noisey than Blue Gum which has VERY average food and no dining service!
Rails prices are extremely competitive and realistic as is of course wine!!
Parking may be the only issue but NOT on this occasion!
WE will be back!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trina027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Broke and hungry- over priced for average food which was slow to come out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Average pub food. Great menu for gluten free or vegetarian as long as your patient and can spend a pretty penny!! I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aimz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahroonga, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Its been a while. Glad I went back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to go to Rails with my family a few years ago and always loved it. They had a change in ownership so we stopped going. Last week we were looking for something different for an early dinner and decided to give it a try again. We were pleasantly surprised. We shared garlic bread and deep fried calamari for entree. The calamari was dry, not too oily, and had a nice hint of chinese five spice. For mains we had a variety of dishes including schnitzel, steak, seafood. It was all very good. Served promptly, hot, and tasty. We had no room for dessert. Maybe next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelJunkkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rails Restaurant also viewed

Berowra Waters, Hornsby
Berowra Heights, Hornsby
 
Cherrybrook, Hornsby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing