We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - I loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked a room here at very short notice for a couple of nights over the Easter break and from the moment I arrived was very impressed. I've passed this Motor Inn many times when I've been in Melbourne and have always been a bit put off by the external appearance (a bit dated & 70s retro) but this is definitely a case of don't judge a book by its cover!

I arrived early but the reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and even upgraded me on arrival. The room - with a small kitchen - was spotlessly clean and everything that you need when you're travelling around and trying to prepare meals etc was there. The beds were super comfortable, the room had good lighting, quiet air-con, big flat screen TV, and power points in all the right places. The kitchen was well fitted out with a micro-wave, stove/oven and fridge + a good range of utensils, crockery and cooking pots etc. There is also loads of off-street, under cover parking and no extra fee is charged for this which is unusual for Melbourne and a real bonus if you're travelling with a vehicle.

Our unit faced onto Brunswick Road which was a little noisy but tolerable and at least we had a lovely view over the park. Lots of great shops/restaurants on Sydney Road right outside the door and an easy tram ride (or longer walk) into the city.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Jo S,

Thank you for your kind review, we're delighted that we impressed you during your stay!
You provided an excellent breakdown of our facilities and services, one thing that you may not have used is our Free WiFi which runs on business grade infrastructure so it NEVER fails!

Our location is indeed one of our strong points, as well as the tram we also have a train station only a block away for quick access to any of the city stations, as well as a bus stop behind us for easy access to the adjoining areas of Melbourne.

Thank you again for the kind review, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Melbourne!

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff extremely available and very friendly (they also provided a free drink at the nearby pub). However - despite having been renewed (only inside) - the rooms are still lacking a certain refinement. We were surprised to have the washbasin sink closed, with no tool to open: therefore we had to cope with a water-filled basin for all night. A definite good point is certainly the availability of free internet, not always the case in Australian establishments.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilkDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear MaC853,

Thank you for your kind feedback, I've passed on your positive comments to our front desk and they're delighted that you found our service and facilities outstanding. Our free WiFi is a great facility for our guests, and it runs on a rock solid business grade connection.

I apologise for your washbasin sink outlet being closed, one of the cleaning staff must have left it this way. Our rooms are fitted with pop-up type outlets, which need to be pressed to open; no tool is required. If you found any fault with your room, the quickest way to resolve any difficulties is to notify Front Desk.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very clean well appointed staff are very helpfully and look after your needs close to our favorite pub (Bridie O'Rillies) all our needs were met very well done . Far enough to be out of the city but close enough be be where we want to be very good .

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Winston L,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We take great pride in our service and facilities and we're glad that you found them to be of a high standard and to your satisfaction.

As I'm sure you may have experienced, our guests do enjoy a free welcome drink at Bridie O'Reilly's with each stay, as well as enjoying discounted meal prices. We do enjoy a close relationship with Bridie O'Reilly's and we highly recommend them to our guests. There are also a number of other pubs and eating establishments within walking distance, if you feel like a change.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're visiting Melbourne.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the third year in a row we have stayed here during the Australian Open and we love it! The staff are so helpful and welcoming, the location is excellent and the convenience of stores nearby is great. Thanks, once again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear KrisM_10,

Thank you for your positive and kind feedback.

We love the fact that you refer to us as a 'home away from home'. This exactly describes our attitude towards providing our services to our guests, and we do attempt to make our property as welcoming and comfortable as one's own house. It's wonderful that you enjoy our convenient location and its close proximity to essential and everyday services.

We sincerely appreciate you staying with us a number of times and we hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the motel for 2 nights during the Australian Open Tennis and found the place:

1. Good value for money
2. Convenient location only 4km or 20 minutes away from the city centre with the tram line number 19 runs very 5-10 minutes. It was also next to the 7/11 convenience store where we purchased the Myki tickets for tram/bus/train lines for traveling around Melbourne
3. The room was very clean & nicely refurbished
4. Comfortable room except the pillows were a little hard (this can be a little subjective as some people might prefer hard pillows)
5. Very quiet despite the fact that the motel was at a corner of two large roads

But the key thing that stood out was the politeness, warmth, friendliness and good service from staff at the reception. It is hard to find staff at four to five star hotels to be as polite!

It was such a pleasure to find that people with old fashioned values and manners still exist!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Sydney2000000,

Thank you for your kind and positive feedback. It's wonderful that your found our service and facilities to be of a high standard and to your satisfaction. Also thank you for making the effort to detail your experience so accurately.

We take great pride in our commitment to providing the best service possible. I have passed on your comments to our front desk, and there's no doubt that they'll be delighted by your feedback. It's also wonderful that you found our property to be excellently located and to be of good value.

We would love to welcome you back next time you're visiting Melbourne

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although this motel doesn't look much from the street we found it to be very clean with good sized rooms and comfortable beds.
I booked 7 twin rooms for a sporting group of 14 people, on the day of our arrival Nick advised that he had upgraded two of the rooms to Studio Apartments at no extra cost, this was a great bonus as it gave us the use of full kitchen facillities.
Although we didn't have much spare time to get around we did appreciate the location opposite the park and the convenience to public transport. Princes Park is just far enough out of the city to escape the rat race and the staff are very helpful.
We would definitely recommend and return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tindale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear tindale17,

Thank your for your positive feedback, we're delighted that you found our service and facilities to be of such a high standard. I have passed on your comments to Nick and he is glad to be of service.

We definitely agree with you that we're ideally located, Princes Park is probably one of the most relaxing places near the city to enjoy an afternoon or evening. I'm glad that you had additional enjoyment staying in our Studio Apartments, as I'm sure you recall they have direct views over Princes Park and provide a wonderful place to sit and relax on the balcony.

We would love to welcome you back next time you're in Melbourne

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here by default as we needed accommodation during the Australian Open and our usual favourites - the Sofitel and Intercontinental were outrageously expensive ! We figured we just needed somewhere clean and convenient to have a shower and a sleep so thought we would give this hotel a try. At $170 for a deluxe room with free parking we couldn't have been happier.
Pros
The extremely helpful ,hospitable and happy staff. Lester and the gentleman who used to live in Singapore (sorry I should have written your name down) were both exceptionally good at their jobs :) Some of those 5 star properties should take a few lessons from you both on customer service !
The room was newly refurbished with a comfy bed and good bathroom. We asked for one at the back on the top floor so it was very quiet.
Free parking - a real luxury in Melbourne.
Handy position - just a quick tram ride from the city or a $10 taxi fare to Lygon Street.
Very fair price
Lovely to be able to explore Princes Park (just wish Carlton still played there lol)

Cons
None really - maybe the stairs could be an issue for some guests.
Looks pretty ordinary from the outside

A very good choice and we will be back for sure !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear MickiAustralia,

Thank you for your kind review. I have passed on your thanks to Lester and Nantha at the front desk and they are delighted with your positive feedback.

We take great pride in our service and our attention to detail. Receiving positive feedback from a person as well traveled as yourself is highly rewarding and we appreciate your efforts in highlighting our strengths and weaknesses accurately.

We would love to welcome you back to our property next time you're in town.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
1,050 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure North Melbourne
#147 of 161 in Melbourne
455 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn

Address: 2 Sydney Rd, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: $72 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Award Winning Property, located a short distance from the Melbourne CBD. We are situated at the start of Sydney Road, Brunswick and overlook Princes Park & Royal Parade. Public transport is readily available with tram and train services on our doorstep. We pride ourselves on our commitment towards service and guest satisfaction. We are proudly a non-smoking property, and are a member of Best Western Australia.Our rooms are comfortably appointed and contain:- Comfortable queen & single pillow-top beds- Fast wired internet- Newly renovated bathrooms with heaters- Split Air-conditioning (heating & cooling)- Balconies overlooking parkland (Apartments only)- Fully equipped Kitchens (Apartments only)- Flat-screen TVs- Free off street parking- Free Foxtel and In-house moviesOUR AWARDS:**WINNER** - BEST WESTERN - BEST RENOVATIONS & PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS**WINNER** - BEST WESTERN - BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn Greater Melbourne/Brunswick, Australia
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing