We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunny Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value, great staff”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although this motel doesn't look much from the street we found it to be very clean with good sized rooms and comfortable beds.
I booked 7 twin rooms for a sporting group of 14 people, on the day of our arrival Nick advised that he had upgraded two of the rooms to Studio Apartments at no extra cost, this was a great bonus as it gave us the use of full kitchen facillities.
Although we didn't have much spare time to get around we did appreciate the location opposite the park and the convenience to public transport. Princes Park is just far enough out of the city to escape the rat race and the staff are very helpful.
We would definitely recommend and return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tindale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear tindale17,

Thank your for your positive feedback, we're delighted that you found our service and facilities to be of such a high standard. I have passed on your comments to Nick and he is glad to be of service.

We definitely agree with you that we're ideally located, Princes Park is probably one of the most relaxing places near the city to enjoy an afternoon or evening. I'm glad that you had additional enjoyment staying in our Studio Apartments, as I'm sure you recall they have direct views over Princes Park and provide a wonderful place to sit and relax on the balcony.

We would love to welcome you back next time you're in Melbourne

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    120
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
63
100
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here by default as we needed accommodation during the Australian Open and our usual favourites - the Sofitel and Intercontinental were outrageously expensive ! We figured we just needed somewhere clean and convenient to have a shower and a sleep so thought we would give this hotel a try. At $170 for a deluxe room with free parking we couldn't have been happier.
Pros
The extremely helpful ,hospitable and happy staff. Lester and the gentleman who used to live in Singapore (sorry I should have written your name down) were both exceptionally good at their jobs :) Some of those 5 star properties should take a few lessons from you both on customer service !
The room was newly refurbished with a comfy bed and good bathroom. We asked for one at the back on the top floor so it was very quiet.
Free parking - a real luxury in Melbourne.
Handy position - just a quick tram ride from the city or a $10 taxi fare to Lygon Street.
Very fair price
Lovely to be able to explore Princes Park (just wish Carlton still played there lol)

Cons
None really - maybe the stairs could be an issue for some guests.
Looks pretty ordinary from the outside

A very good choice and we will be back for sure !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear MickiAustralia,

Thank you for your kind review. I have passed on your thanks to Lester and Nantha at the front desk and they are delighted with your positive feedback.

We take great pride in our service and our attention to detail. Receiving positive feedback from a person as well traveled as yourself is highly rewarding and we appreciate your efforts in highlighting our strengths and weaknesses accurately.

We would love to welcome you back to our property next time you're in town.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good location just outside of city and very accessible by Route 19 trams. The buildings are very hodge-podge and clear that it's a very old design, but they've done a great job with renovation which has smartened everything up considerably, and looks very modern! We stayed here because it was Australian Open weekend and this was the cheapest we found that's anywhere close to city with tram transport. Also good that they have free parking on site. The front office staff were very nice & helpful as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Kitkat271,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we're glad that you found our location to be highly convenient.

We have invested considerable time and effort in improving our facilities and rooms over the past few years, and its great to see that it's appreciated!

I will pass on your thanks to our front office. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you next time you're in town!

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked a deluxe queen room on New Year's Eve, which was on the 2nd level of what looked like converted 50s apartment block, 2 buildings away from the main office on the corner. Kind of nondescript place to look at from the outside, but the room was recently renovated tastefully, was quite roomy, and well appointed with flat screen TV, air conditioner, and we had a lovely view of Princes Park from our window! The bathroom was really good, with a large shower and well lit vanity. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep after the party we went to nearby. Shops and restaurants are close on Sydney Road. Plenty of free parking on-site. My only minor gripes were that there was no wifi for iPhones (only a port for a laptop), and no in-room safe and perhaps some hair conditioner could have been provided (shampoo was). Some people might be perturbed about going up a couple of flights of stairs to the room, but we had light luggage so it was fine for us. But overall I was very happy with our stay! Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCQ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear CCQ01,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer Free unlimited WiFi to our guests over the entire property, this is one of our most popular facilities for our guests. We also offer individual safe deposit boxes at our reception free of charge for our guests. We apologise if you weren't made aware of this upon check-in.

We are glad that you found our facilities to be of a high standard, and that you found our views of Princes Park and the CBD appealing. We highly recommend taking a walk in Princes Park in the late afternoon/early evening, its magical!

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you once again.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had to stay on very short notice.
Lester, the manager was so very helpful.
Had a ground floor room which suited my needs and was very quiet.
He helped me out with using the public transport and supplied me with maps and a place to eat.
Room was clean and the beds as usual with Best Western Hotels were very comfortable.
Great location if you do not want to stay downtown but wish to take the tram in.
Thanks also to Nick

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear 1simon1,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we're overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We take pride in the standard of our rooms and our personal service, and we're happy that you found them excellent.

Our location is ideal and we're glad that you took the opportunity to make us of the ample public transport available, as its a lot cheaper than driving and parking in the CBD.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you next time

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Check in was a breeze with a welcoming smile from a very attractive man,as my girlfriend noted.We had a Standard Studio Apartment (Queen bed&2singles) it also boasted a full kitchen ,a balcony with a nice view over the Park and a bath.(not for viewing,but in the bathroom),There is a 7eleven 2doors up the street,along with hotels and cafes,easy walking distance and the city tram is directly out front (very very handy).
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Beware the light poles on the footpath when parking your car !!! and request a late check-out if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear alloz,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, it has caused some debate in our office as to who the identity of the 'very attractive man' is!! We pride ourselves on our service and are glad that you found it outstanding.

Our Studio Apartments as you mention are very popular with views over Princes Park and the CBD. It's great that you found our amenities and location to be convenient for your stay.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you next time!

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Super nice friendly staff. Checking in was a breeze. Stayed 2 nights in the lovely apartment unit. It was on the ground floor. It has a kitchen and newly renovated toilet with shower. Love the flat screen TV and the sofas in the living room. The Tram and park is nearby. Very convenient to drive to CBD. Next to Sydney Road where you will find lots of Halal eateries. Please note that Sydney Road is a very long road. Stayed one night in the Triple unit too after our trip from Mt Buller. All beds have electric blanket. Slept like a log maybe coz too tired from travelling.

Room Tip: Request for ground floor units if you have difficulty going up the stairs. No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes1, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear szmeow,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our Deluxe 1 Bedroom apartments are excellent as you say, and one of our premium room types. It's great that you took advantage of our ideal location and the amenities around us.

We pride ourselves on our service, and it appears as if you were able to glean plenty of local knowledge from reception!

We would love to see you again next time, and thank you for your business and valuable feedback.

Best Regards,

Emanuel Datt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 159 in Melbourne
917 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 159 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#115 of 159 in Melbourne
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn
Address: 2 Sydney Rd, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Award Winning Property, located a short distance from the Melbourne CBD. We are situated at the start of Sydney Road, Brunswick and overlook Princes Park & Royal Parade. Public transport is readily available with tram and train services on our doorstep. We pride ourselves on our commitment towards service and guest satisfaction. We are proudly a non-smoking property, and are a member of Best Western Australia.Our rooms are comfortably appointed and contain:- Comfortable queen & single pillow-top beds- Fast wired internet- Newly renovated bathrooms with heaters- Split Air-conditioning (heating & cooling)- Balconies overlooking parkland (Apartments only)- Fully equipped Kitchens (Apartments only)- Flat-screen TVs- Free off street parking- Free Foxtel and In-house moviesOUR AWARDS:**WINNER** - BEST WESTERN - BEST RENOVATIONS & PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS**WINNER** - BEST WESTERN - BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn Greater Melbourne/Brunswick, Australia
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing