We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent, delicious and devastating to depart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pisticci
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've been putting off writing this review for fear I'd have to accept being back in reality. You see, when you're at Torre Fiore, it's as though you are living in a dream world - one filled with the most decadent service from Mariana, Juisy, Donato and all of the staff who will make you feel like a movie star. Your stomach will be filled with delicious and local food day and night and you'll be introduced to some of the best wines that the region has to offer. And your head will be filled with the very rich history of Pisticci, Matera, Metaponto and many more villages in the surrounding area.

My new husband and I spent the last glorious six days of our honeymoon at Torre Fiore. Mariana welcomed us like we were family and provided the most knowledgeable information about the area and how to experience all that it has to offer. From arranging an in-room massage, to booking a tour guide (thank you Amelie) for us to see the Sassi in Matera to recommending a gastronomical adventure like no other (Luna Rossa Restaurante), Mariana took the time to ensure that we made the most of our time at Torre Fiore but on our schedule and at our pace which having just planned a wedding, we really appreciated.

Sure, we went to Amalfi and yes, it was stunning but the experiences that we had at Torre Fiore were so unique and welcoming, that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for some down time, a romantic getaway or even a family vacation, go to Basilicata. And go now because once the secret gets out about Torre Fiore, it will be extraordinarily difficult to get a reservation!

Emily Bullock
Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Don't make a reservation online. Call the hotel and tell them why you are travelling to Torre F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We didn’t want to leave! That best describes our feelings about Torre Fiore.

It was easy to slow down, relax and soak in the picturesque and serene environs immediately upon arrival owing to a warm welcome from the genial and helpful staff..

Our room was perfect: tastefully decorated, spacious, quiet, inviting and luxuriously comfortable. The resort’s landscaping is both beautiful and fragrant. We felt rejuvenated from our dips in the tranquil infinity pool which overlooks the stunning valley. Various beautiful outdoor seating areas abound on the property which were utterly conducive to unwinding. With biking, hiking and walking paths in the immediate area and the sea just minutes away there was never a shortage of opportunites to be active, either.

The intimate size of the resort (only 13 rooms) gave us the opportunity to get to meet, socialize with and befriend fascinating people from around the world! The food and wines were delectable and there was just enough variety to choose something different every night.

Recommendations for excursions in the region were invaluable. Our guided tour of Matera and Sassi was totally engaging and visually breathtaking. The art gallery set in the caves housed one of the most remarkable art displays we have ever seen.

The hotel owner/manager, Mariana Giannone, is gracious and eager to share colourful backstories of the region and to conduct animated and informative tours of Pisticci, her parents’ birthplace. Strolling through the main square with all the locals felt like we had walked back in time 50 years – and we loved basking in Mariana's well-earned celebrity in the community. With the establishment of the Giannone family’s magnificent hotel, they have added class and international stature to the Basilicata region while honouring its heritage and people.

We consider ourselves very fortunate to have experienced all of this during our very first stay at Torre Fiore - and it most certainly won't be our last!

Room Tip: Other guests expressed similar satisfaction about their accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having spent a wonderful two weeks at Torre Fiore last year we returned again this year for another week. Arriving through the gates and being greeted by Mariana and Giusy, it was like coming home. And that is the best way to sum up this resort. It is small, friendly, extremely comfortable throughout and is a superb location to explore the delights of the Basilicata region. Rooms are great, the pool area is excellent and you are only 10 minutes away from the best beaches you will find anywhere.
It is said that one should never return to a place that was perfect first time because it may not live up to your expectations. For the most past Torre Fiore did not fall into this category but it has to be said that we had some minor disappointments this year. This mainly centered around the restaurant and service. We found that this year the overall level of food service did not come up to last year's level and this was no doubt due to the change in staff and in particular the restaurant manager whom we learned on our last day is leaving so perhaps this aspect has already been sorted. No complaint about the food itself, that was good and very reasonably priced. We felt that the new Patio Restaurant lacked atmosphere. Dim the lighting, introduce a little bit of candle light and it would make the world of difference.
Overall we love the place, the staff (with one exception that would now appear to have been addressed) are great and could not be more friendly and helpful and Mariana and her father are a delight to be with. We will without doubt be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent so chose the best your budget will allow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarmingjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A beautiful, magical hotel; once a ruin of an ancient fort, the building has been meticulously transformed into a luxury resort in the Basilicata countryside

The staff are helpful and friendly (like everyone we met in the south of Italy), the décor straight from an issue of Elle Decoration, the food well priced and delicious, the rooms comfy and well-equipped with all the expected mod-cons.

I feel bad saying anything negative about the Torre Fiore because it’s clearly a labour of love for the passionate and friendly owners. But hopefully the following can be seen as constructive criticism.

Room for improvement: the pool needed cleaning the first two days we were there, our room would have benefited from a lick of paint, and the breakfast could have been better (out of season apples when we would have loved local fruit).

Yep, I’m being fussy, but I think it's allowed considering the price tag for a night's stay.

A solid four stars. A paintbrush, pool sweeper and some watermelon would have made it five.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a peaceful haven, nestling between the soft white sand and crystal clear waters of Pisticci beach and Matera. Close enough to visit all the highlights of Puglia and Basilicata, whilst retaining a sense of a rural idyll.

The rooms and guest areas are well laid out and the restaurant serves the most amazing food. What makes the place more special is the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff, as commented on by other reviewers.

All in all, a really lovely place. Thank you, Mariana, Donato and all at Torre Fiore!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEdwards99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wow, Wow and Wow...Torre Fiore is just the most amazing place to go if you want to relax, get away from the world and feel like a Royal. The hotel grounds were just spotless. The staff working in the hotel were umbelievebly helpful and very kind. The room we stayed in was just amazing, very modern and very stylish. The pool area was so relaxing with plenty of sun loungers and plenty of towels to help yourself. Staff were often nearby if you wanted anything. In the evening we didnt go to eat anywhere else but the restaurant in the complex because the food was special. I had the best lobster and the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection. All in all i would come again and again to this hotel as its just the best around. I have been to many countires and hotels around the world and id have to say that this tops them all if your after a warm welcoming place with plenty of character and the best location for landscape views and peaceful relaxation.

We are definately going to return very soon!!

Thanks Giannone Family!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0nBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A wonderful tour which included the spectacular sights of Cinque Terre, Positano, Florence and Rome was highlighted with our stay at Torre Fiore in Southern Italy. The whole experience was absolutely first class - the history ~ colourful, the hilltop setting ~ stunning, the suites ~ luxurious, the atmosphere ~ relaxing, the food ~ exquisite and Marianna and her team warm and engaging. We spent a relaxing 4 days enjoying the gorgeous infinity pool and surrounding sites, after two weeks travelling it was a perfect place to unwind. We enjoyed visiting the town of Pisticci, the colourful site of the festival and loved our afternoon tour and evening in Matera (sassi). Members of our party loved the 'Flight of the Angel' (Volo dell'Angelo) zip-lining at break-neck speeds (Basilicata), a thrill ride at a very reasonable price. We felt at home and we can't wait to make it back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisajeremyTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisticci
11.1 mi away
Masseria Macchia & Relais San Pio
Masseria Macchia & Relais San Pi...
#1 of 2 in Marina di Pisticci
332 reviews
16.1 mi away
Eco Resort dei Siriti
Eco Resort dei Siriti
#4 of 8 in Nova Siri
1,045 reviews
13.2 mi away
Greenblu Marinagri Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel degli Ulivi & Spa
Hotel degli Ulivi & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ferrandina
293 reviews
11.8 mi away
Magna Grecia Hotel Village
9.5 mi away
Miceneo Palace Hotel
Miceneo Palace Hotel
#4 of 4 in Scanzano Jonico
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria

Address: Contrada Terranova snc, 75015, Pisticci, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Pisticci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pisticci
Price Range: $162 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a pristine rural setting, the hotel torre fiore is a trend-setting luxury hotel. Located within view of the picturesque town of pisticci and situated only minutes from the sandy beaches of the Ionian Sea, the Hotel Torre Fiore is a stronghold to enjoy the excursions and diversions of this region. Within its walls, the Hotel Torre Fiore provides a relaxed sanctuary of comfort that personifies a new informal luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing