We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian restaurant backroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Souverain
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant backroom”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this place, the building is fine but when you're in front, it's quite hard to guess that this place is something else than a restaurant.

When I entered the building it smelled curry and I got lead to a back corridor where I got the keys to my room.

Room decoration is quite old and the eletrical installation, furniture, non-working air conditioning are clearly out of date.

Let alone the view from the bathroom, directly on the satelite antenna, unidentified stains on the sheets and cigarette hole on the blanket.

At 11:30PM, they started cooking onions which smell literally invaded the rooms of the entire hotel.

FLEE FROM THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlito75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is a very unexpected hotel. If I didn't see the pictures, I wouldn't have even known it was a hotel. it's an Indian restaurant on the ground floor with the rooms above it. Seems like the restaurant staff also staff the hotel. The staff was all supremely helpful with helping us figure out how to use public transportation (gave us a public transit map and directions on how to buy tickets etc). For the price we paid (80 euros/night), I thought it was a pretty good deal (they require payment up front). The bathroom in our room was completely renovated and sparkling clean. The room itself was ok. the furniture all looked new but I thought the carpet/bedspread/curtains could use updating too. Comes with free breakfast that was a pretty good selection. The bus stop is right outside the hotel so I could see how that could be bothersome. I always travel with ear plugs so I didn't have an issue with that. Free wifi. So all in all, not a 5 star hotel or anything, but pretty good for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evsiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked it in a rush and later on realized it was a **, which worried me.

Whatever this place has been it is clear the owners (a lovely Indian couple) are making their outmost to lift it up considerably. They are friendly, they help you as soon as they can with whatever issues you may have in or outside the hotel.

They are completely renovating the rooms and I was given one of the new ones. Remember to check this when you book. Another advantage of booking directly with the owners is that then they will include the breakfast. If you book through a booking company the charge you 8 euros for breakfast. Breakfast is abundamt with lots of healthy choices.

Adjacent is an Indian restaurant. Lovely food at normal prices for Brussels and the building inside is one of the most beautiful I have seen.

It is detached from the city centre and you need transport but if I have to come back to the sqme area of the city I will certainly give this hotel priority.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcATni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights on business trip. The hotel is little bit old but the owner and staff are friendly and very helpful. The room is clean too though a bit of painting fell on carpet. Not as noisy as people reviewed. It's in front of the bus station so u won't expect it to be as quiet as the outskirts.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2theMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hi I stayed in May 2012 on 2nd Floor, I will try to give a balanced review

+ve's
> Very close to Tram No 94 and also a bus service although I didn't use the bus.
> Walk to the tube station in about 15 mins
> Walk to Supermarket/shopping retail park in 15/20 mins
> There was a lift in the hotel
> 3 Large parks close by
> Some parts of the rooms were cleaned although I noticed the floor
was not cleaned although the bed was made everyday.

-ve
> Noisy inside could not sleep just could hear foot steps all the time
> Noisy outside you could hear the bus and traffic as it is close to a main road.
> The hair dryer was awful
> The bathroom lights (not the main one on the ceiling) got very hot very quick
I think it's a fire hazard if you forgot to turn off the light.
> No free map or advise about the city
> When I got there the person quibbled about the price, I took my
print out and finally I paid what was agreed (the price I booked). I was also
asked to pay first - all the other places I stayed I always paid at the end of my stay
not at the start.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InfoseekUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermael-Boitsfort
5.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
3.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Taillis
Les Taillis
#1 of 4 in Watermael-Boitsfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Au Repos des Chasseurs
Au Repos des Chasseurs
#2 of 4 in Watermael-Boitsfort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guest House Les 3 Tilleuls
Guest House Les 3 Tilleuls
#113 of 208 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Souverain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Souverain

Property: Auberge du Souverain
Address: Avenue de la Fauconnerie 1-3 | Watermaal-Bosvoorde, Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels 1170, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Watermael-Boitsfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Watermael-Boitsfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Souverain 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge du Souverain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing