We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prato Cafe & Diner - CLOSED

Prato Cafe & Diner
Cuisines: Cafe, Fusion, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Prato Cafe & Diner has been trading at the old Pavilion from April 2013.Our commitment is to great service with fresh food and the always tasty Campos Coffee.The Pavilion has been brought back to locals.So, come in for a lazy breakfast or lunch at our verandah.
Abbotsford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had been sitting there for 15 minutes n asked 2 staff members for menus and water. still no service my dad and i got up and left.
Its a shame as we are local(abbotsford cove) so would have frequented this cafe alot and reccomended it to friends and neighbours.
Not now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capgirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having read a recent review in the Sydney Morning Herald I was keen to try Prato. As we were travelling to Sydney from Canberra I tried to make a reservation for 6 only to be told they didn't take reservations. Being made of stern stuff we decided to take our chances on Sunday lunch arriving at midday. Imagine our surprise when being asked if we had a reservation! We answered in the negative and were shown to a noisy table close to the perpetually open front door where we got to experience the cold wind that blew between it and the open rear door. Normally this would have been enough for me to leave but as we were meeting people we decided to stick it out. The food was merely tolerable- on the advice of the review 3 of us ordered the fish pie which would have been better labelled potato pie for the volume of potato and scarcity of fish. To add insult to injury it was served tepid. The pork and pasta dishes were apparently a better choice. I found the rocket salad tasty but my dining companions thought it over oily. We decided to have dessert, a rarity for me, and were surprised that the selection did not appear on a menu, requiring us to peer into the covered cake plates and read the attached labels before returning to our seats, attracting the waiter's attention and ordering. The desserts and coffee were delivered intermittently, so some of us were just starting to eat while others had finished. On the bright side it was an interesting building, but as this is not the only thing I expect when eating out, I certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Montezoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratocafediner, Owner at Prato Cafe & Diner, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I'm sorry your experience was disappointing we try to please everyone the best we can. Unfortunately we don't take bookings on the weekends due to the high volume of customers, however we do take a waiting list of customers during our busy period for walk ins who are happy to wait for a table to ensure everybody is seated fairly you may have been mistaken upon your arrival of being asked if your name had been taken.
We try to please everybody's seating requirements and ensure everybody's eating environment in comfortable it upsets us that you didn't mention this and give us the opportunity to remedy this.
We display our homemade cakes and slices so people can look and see what they want or feel like rather then what's written on a menu we do this to provide a more casual dining experience.
We apologize that your food was unsatisfactory and we do hope you come back and dine with us soon.

Kind regards Brock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it - delicious food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

During my week long holiday in Sydney we ate here twice as we really loved it - the lunch menu is really unique and the food was so delicious. I had the mushroom spaghetti which was out of this world! The decor is very refreshing and spacious. Very reasonably priced too!
What looked like the manager was so friendly and asked us what our plans for the day and he recommended we take the ferry from just down the road into Circular Quay - highly recommend this as for 5 dollars it was a beautiful way to see the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JessD1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise in Abbotsford!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good food and atmosphere. We had the fish pie and rigatoni which was delicious!

On a side note, our orders were mixed up but no one came to tell us until we asked. The waitress who served us did not advice which was bad form but 2 other wait staff came over and apologised. Will came back again as the food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank manuocconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better places in Abbotsford”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff not obliging. It all started out fine until we asked to have our babys food heated. We were told politely that there was no microwave by one waitress, another staff member then told us they did have one but couldnt heat up food for OH&S reasons. A third waitress told me to speak to the barista myself about getting some boiling water to heat it up, which i thought was strange considering how they are so strict on OH&S. He was understandably busy and didn't look my way while I tried to get his attention. Frustrated we decided we couldn't stay.

We ended up having to cancel our food order and whilst paying for our drinks the cashier was extremely sarcastic and rude to us. For this reason we will never return here. It's a shame, we loved it when it was the pavilion. We left here had a lovely breakfast at hopscotch down the road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 134Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prato Cafe & Diner also viewed

Abbotsford, Sydney
 
Abbotsford, Sydney
Abbotsford, Sydney
 
Abbotsford, Sydney
Abbotsford, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing