We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute for two nights. We payed 115 euro per night and had quite an excellent stay. Our luggage was brought up to our romantic two-level room with a balcony and tremendous view of the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel was clean, relatively quiet, and had a very large and enjoyable pool. The inclusive breakfast was very good. We had the buffet dinner, which left something to be desired, but the room made up for it.

Do not follow Google Maps directions. You will wind up atop cliff on an unpaved road.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 818 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

First problem is that this place is located several miles from Taormina with not much around it. The view is quite pretty, but that's about it. Our room was disgusting-closed in, dark and smelling like a smoke break room. Oh yes, it was dirty too. We had no intention of staying in it even though our group was spending two nights there. We went to the front desk where the woman didn't seem too interested in helping us.
I explained the problem and was told that it was too bad, the hotel was booked and had no vacant rooms. Advised her that we would be leaving for another place via shuttle or taxi and she replied that we couldn't. REALLY??? Situation could have degenerated rapidly, since I don't think it was her business what we would do. As I was trying to get transportation, the duty manager came over and I explained the situation. He first told me that was the type of room the provider had booked for our group. However, once I explained the room's condition, he did manage to find us a decent one that we could move right into. Re: our being told we couldn't leave, he apologized.

Ok, so now we have to deal with the cattle call, excuse me, I mean meals. The location made it impractical to wander around looking for a place to eat. The dining area was an extremely large room with a buffet set up that was mediocre at best. Different groups were scheduled and herded through the lines. There really wasn't another place to go and the complimentary shuttle didn't run much past 4 or 5:00 PM. I suppose I could go on and on, but for what purpose? I really don't see any reason to recommend this place to anyone. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: No tips for this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Let's face it here you are isolated. And if you have trouble walking then you must rely on the shuttle service to bring your luggage. I loned it and it was fine. But it depends where your room is located. This is not a small hotel area. There are some fine views of the sea but make sure you ask for a room with a view. If not, you might find yourself in a room opposite a mountain wall. I found the hotel quiet and views wonderful. The health spa was wonderful; but find an hour when it quiet and take a book with you. For an extra 25 Euro it was worth it for the indulgence. In the morning, I walked towards the beach but be careful crossing the street. You will find a trail leading to a wooden staircase leadig to the sea, Typically, the stairway is neglected but once down on the wooden platform enjoy the view, and of course take your camera along.
Last tip about rooms: make sure the AC outlet is in good working order.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a porch facing the see, otherwise you will dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The photos shown in the hotel web site are hiding several tough facts. The hotel is composed of quite old small buildings (ground and two upper floors) spread along a steep hill. The access to mosts of the rooms is through a steep climbing way in order to reach the building and when you reached the building then you need to climb all the steps up to your room. If you are lucky then you'll be on the ground floor which is also reachable through about almost 10 steps. The farther (from lobby) the building is then so longer and higher the location of the room. I had no luck and my room was almost in the farthest entrance - this is a full frustration. Most of the rooms are above the very steep way to the building/room. There is a comfort to use a shuttle to and from the building, including for the luggage, upon arrival and upon departure. The room is very poorly decorated with old closet, old and small television. No soap holder is in bathroom. Only one waste basket is in both bedroom and bathroom. I even slipped on the floor of the shower place. The telephon (required mainly to call the reception) did not work in my friend's room and it was not fixed along the two days stay there althogh this issue was informed to the reception. There are no restaurants nearby but in Taormina about 7 miles to the south. The bay is seen nicely from the hotel but it cannot overcome the big disapointment of this hotel. I cannot find any real reason why it has granted four stars. I evaluate it as between 2 and 3 stars and not recommended at all to anybody of my friends. I now understand why this property was graded at the last position in this small village.

Room Tip: ;Prefer rooms closer to lobby and restaurant in rooms 4102 through 4424. Beware higher floors if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mendi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived to this hotel if thats what you would call it more like a resort that i could not even rate as a one star that would be too generous.We were eventually greeted after 5 mins of standing at the desk when the receptionist finally decided to acknowledge us which was also very abrupt and not very welcoming felt like she didnt really care as she was paying more attention to her colleagues hanging around reception area,We were carted off after been given a map of the resort which was a quick rundown)in a run down mini bus to our room which basically is a chalet. On arrival at the chalet i was horrified the place looked like it had not been used in years totally unkept lawns uncut all the chalets beside us looked like rundown hovels, shutters broken ,outdoor sockets pulled from the wall. When we got into our room i was horrified as it had said when it was booked it was a superior room, more like a box room from the 80's. All that was in this 4 star superior room??? was an old t.v 2 lockers a bed and a wardrobe we had no where to put our luggage no minibar no safe Nothing not even a glass.Decor was terribe(old fashioned). The bathroom was also hideous and smelled of mould.The view from the balcony was the only thing nice. The room was tiny any pictures put up by this hotel are misleading and do not not even look like the same place.
We were honeymooners and what a place to arrive to. To make it worse we contacted our rep withing 2 hrs of setting foot in the place to be moved as i would rather have booked a flight home than stay there for more thank one night. To top it all off after spending the night there we woke up to ants in our suitcases and also in the bed.The hotel advertised that there is a shop and tabacchi for sale ha what a laugh everything closed to be told we had to get a shuttle if we wanted to get anything.Shuttle runs from 10.00hrs to 16.00hrs after that its up to you to pay 20-25 euro for a taxi. Also its so far from taormina and you miss the the buzzing streets.

Food was terrible in the restaurant not one staff member came near us whilst eating.
We were only in this hotell!!! for less than 24hrs and hated very minute of it . Receptionist was especially rude to my husband ,abrupt and obviously she does not have any proper training in customer service.
When my husband went the reception to get a number for our italian rep they were most unhelpful and he was brushed aside and told where the computer was and to send them an e-mail on the only computer in the hotel.And this hotel is rated as a 4 star
We have stayed in 2 stars etc in our time and we are not fussy people but this was the worst experience ever, We felt intimidated the next day as we collected our passports.Not one manger or anybody was of any assistance here.There didnt seem to be anyone in charge. It is totally run down old fashioned and not what it seems.Not worth the prices they charge and is very misleading,In my opinion i would not advise anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place has so much potential but has sold it's sole to the operators of bus tours. They arrive at night and leave in the morning. Accordingly breakfast is like eating in a large shopping centre. The Internet that is only available in reception only worked 50% of the time. The place was hard to find, as the street sign is covered by vegetation. The linen and towels are past their used by date. The sea platform was not open (told 15 May it will open). We did not eat dinner here.

We had the top floor, facing east, so it had a mezzanine level for the bed, which gave more space, and you get the views up here. Why stay here?, well location as there is more to do around Taormina than just shop. The views are great leigh 180 degrees views.

Room Tip: Stay top level facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fabulous location for Capo dei Greci resort - even if we failed entrance from "strada statale 114", 2 times, :-) in both directions (entrance hidden by vegetation). But once broke in, I discovered an oasis of beauty and vegetation. Unfortunately, in September 2012 (and probably due to crisis) just one restaurant from 5 was open, disco closed, no much entertainment opportunities inside. Of great help was shuttle bus that took us up to Taormina and back (for which you must register at reception the evening before).

No beach nearby hotel – but who cares? Using a lift and walking through a tunnel carved in rock (spectacular) can reach a very nice and large wooden platform (sustained by steel reinforced - thus very safe) with umbrellas, chaise, showers, restrooms, lifeguard and bar (bar also closed at that time) with stairs descending directly to water. Water – absolutely gorgeous!!. No problem that there was no sandy beach, considering the beauty of the area and also the existing beaches before and after km 38 (where the hotel is located). No little kids around – the whole place is recommended mostly for adults.

2 panoramic pools, situated on the top of the resort, make you to feel incredible on the top of the world – it’s exactly as in the professional photo from site.

Our room was with sea view, situated on last building in front of sea, at the right side of the resort, at first level (on the ground) and we had the possibility to stay in front of the room, on chairs, with our green garden plenty of flowers in front of us, with little bunnies running in the grass in the evening and night, with all seashore lightened – splendid. One single night we were lucky enough to see also the spectacular “pink cloud” above the volcano Etna.

Before km38 (the indication for our Hotel): Taormina and Giardini Naxos.
Giardini Naxos - heavenly place (they knew the Greeks, way to build here the first town in the island …) the wide beach, sand and a lot of good restaurants on the Riviera. The only crazy thing was parking the car (uncovered large parking out of the town).
About Taormina – I’ll not write more words, because there is a lot of infos referring to this fantastic place and Greek Theater with his impressive panorama.

After km38 – Sant Alesio Siculo, a cozy area, with a long wide beach, but with pebbles, less arranged than Giardini Naxos, but with enticing promenade. Sunsets are fascinating all over in this part of the island.

It’s recommended to rent a car, if you want to see the beauty of this island and it’s recommended to eat in different places, anywhere food was very good, fish or meat, everything was ok ( Mediterranean food, ehei… )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant' Alessio Siculo
0.2 mi away
Baia Taormina
Baia Taormina
#2 of 4 in Forza d'Agro
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elihotel
Elihotel
#5 of 7 in Sant' Alessio Siculo
171 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Main Palace Hotel
Main Palace Hotel
#1 of 2 in Roccalumera
403 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,568 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#30 of 87 in Taormina
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Nazionale 421, 98030 Sant' Alessio Siculo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly NH Capo dei Greci)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Sant' Alessio Siculo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sant' Alessio Siculo
Price Range: $105 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid down on the beautiful Bay of Taormina, the Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort & SPA**** looks at the crystal clear blue water of the Mediterranean Sea, kissed by a hot sun and illuminated by a clear sky. A perfect location that houses a facility which can offer the warmth typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capo dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Capo Dei Greci
Capo Dei Greci Hotel
Capo Dei Greci Taormina Coast - Resort Hotel & Spa Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing