We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benoît Violier not only one of the best...”

Restaurant de l’Hotel de Ville Crissier
Reserve with
Restaurant de l’Hotel de Ville Crissier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Crissier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Hotel de Ville de Crissier - B. Violier's restaurant official page ! Elected best restaurant of the world in 2016 - The List. 19/20 Gault Millau. 3 Michelin Stars.
Iloilo City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Benoît Violier not only one of the best...”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Unfortunately I had not visited le Restaurant de l'Hôtel de Ville since the Freddy Girardet era... But the rumor is that Violier surpasses Rochat who surpassed the founder Girardet. Can world top gastronomy accommodate such rankings and judgments? I personally do not think so. 3 stars chefs are just the gods of culinary art, each with his or her touch, sensibility, creativity. What I can say here is that my recent 5 hours experience will remain as of of my very top dining experiences. I will not comment on the food and service. Other professionals will do it better. Michelin or Gault & Millau or others on the web. What I will just say is that the sublime art of food and the perfect service, meaning totally attentive without being at all invasive, is completed by something even rarer: the feel of being welcome as a friend and the personality and availability of Benoît Violier. Who, because this is his life passion, will offer, as noted elsewhere in these reviews, to visit the temple of Western food creation after talking with you at the table. My only criticism, am almost ashamed!, will go to the dining room and decor that did not fully convince me. But isn't that entirely personal?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oindu_des_Alpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    46
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sion
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning from start to finish”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In most restaurants they serve food. Here it is art on plates. Each dish is a sensory composition which surprises you and stimulates you to listen to your brain examine what you are tasting. Also quite exceptional is the rythm of the service, just right, neither fast nor slow. And the cherry was visiting the kitchen and toasting with the chef!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexlexpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An Eating experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the moment you arrive there are staff to look after you. We like the fact that the tables are not all on top of one another so we could have a good catch. The menu is fascinating We chose to have the The Menu which consisted of ten delicious courses all served on different shaped plates and explained in detail by the waiter. Our main waiter was extremely courteous and you could tell enjoyed explaining the variety of ingredients that Chef had created Well worth booking for that special occasion as it is one of Lausanne's most expensive restaurants...but an eating experience if you are a foodie.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great overal experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The menu is obviously haute cuisine, as expected in a three Michelin star restaurant.
We allowed the experienced and extremely helpful maitr d' to recommend the dishes and he did so having asked the general desires, dislikes, allergies we may have etc. The end result was a spectacular 6 courses where we savoured the Benoit Violier touch.
The decor was better than expected based on some reviews as the recent renovation has allowed for a softer and lighter touch.
Allow yourself plenty of time to enjoy the experience and trust the maitre d'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patpatmarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch near Lausanne”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We went on 20 December and unfortunately they were only serving a Christmas menu (a bit pricey at 390 pp). The flavours were balanced and nuanced and the service good. Strangely enough they serve food even if one of you is not at the table. Having been to quite a few comparable restaurants this is unusual to have to start to eat a course without your partner there...
The Christmas was a little bit unimaginative especially their chicken course which was cooked to perfection, but lacking sophistication i would expect of this level of cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lc_craze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant de l’Hotel de Ville Crissier also viewed

 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Restaurant de l’Hotel de Ville Crissier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing