We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and lovely place”

Restaurant el Burgonon
Reserve with
Restaurant el Burgonon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 171 Restaurants in Campello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The chef wants you to be happy
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and lovely place”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very positive points. This place is really nice (inside the room is lovely) and very clean (the state of the toilets is always a sign). Really nice service. There is a music band paid by the restaurant which plays songs of your choice, really nice again!
The food is all right. Not exceptional but good and fresh. We had the tapas menu (31€ per person) and tournedos meat. Meat is super good. Regarding the tapas menu : the selection is great really and you won't be hungry after that, for sure! Presentation is really good... But I was expecting a little better regarding the tapas.
It's a bit expensive (130€ for 2 adults and 2 children) but it's no surprise as the restaurant is located on the paseo primera linea de la playa. So there is nothing to complain about.
In fact my comment seems a bit negative but I had in fact a really good time and meal. I was just excepting something amazing at the food level.
But.... I will come again. It was a good surprise after all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare92380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy D, Gerente at Restaurant el Burgonon, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi, Thanks for leaving your opinion on this website. For us it is the best gift we can have a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    77
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“excellent food in great setting but watch for the small print”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hi my wife and i finished our holiday to campello with our last nights meal at this restaurant and i must say it was one of the best meals i have had in spain,starters were salmon sashimi and baccalo fillets in batter with mains of iberian pork fillet and a tagliatelle all of which were absolutely superb .desserts were good but just good nothing special,the only problem we had was having not sat at our table till about 9.45 as we seem to become spanish on holiday when the menus came we were told that the 3 course menu advertised outside finishes at 8 pm which i looked at the next day and it is there in very small print so a bit misleading to put it mildly,we were debating leaving as we felt a bit done but the head waitress/maitre de after i had explained politely ,told us we could have the 3 courses at the offer price as it was our last night and she wanted us to go home happy a nice touch and even after a slight mix up with the bill as the wine we ordered wasnt the one on the offer the friendly lady whose name i have forgot sorted this straight away leaving me so impressed with the value i left one of the biggest tips of my dining out life.while we were dining the owner of the restaurant wandered around all the tables checking everyone was happy and was pleased we were visiting because of trip advisor reviews but also a little defensive as if they had had bad reviews in the past ,the setting for this restaurant is perfect and the service is a step up from most of the cafe bars on the front at campello and if you are lucky like us you will get cabaret as the spanish couple sitting near us had an arm waving ding dong argument without raising voices for 2 hours i would love to know what the poor chap had done but it made us smile.finally i will definitely return to this restaurant when next in campello but perhaps we enjoyed it most because of the value we got with the set meal perhaps off the main menu we will return for a special occasion night

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlosjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy D, Gerente at Restaurant el Burgonon, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you very much. It is a pleasure for us to take your time to leave us a positive review on this website. Thank you very much again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maybe I chose badly”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Was over doing the paperwork on a house I am renting for a year and wanted a nice meal out to celebrate.

Started with the tuna tartare with wasabi, nothing too challenging. Came exactly as described, but that is a little disappointing. Some lines on the plate of soya and a couple of wasabi balls from a tube with some rather dirty looking mini leaves for decoration on the chopped tuna. Hell the local Lidl in San Juan stocks spherified soya, wasabi and yuzu, so you would expect some effort and if you are going to use mini leaves as a garnish wash them and only pick nice looking ones.

Next I went for a signature dish described as follows: - Cuttlefish Bay Tagliatelli cooked at 65 ° with cream emulsion red prawns and tomatoes, zucchini ink (google translation). Sounded interesting, but was so sweet it tasted like rice pudding. No way you could taste any other ingredients over the cream in the sauce. Such a disastrous waste of such prime ingredients, assuming they were there that is.

I took one mouthful and asked the waitress to check with the chef that it was as he intended. She came back with the plate and said it was. I didn't eat any more of it but asked for the bill making it clear that I was happy to pay for the dish but that it wasn't to my liking.

Next the owner came over, he assured me that the dish was very popular. He was a charming chap who asked me to try the restaurant again. I paid for everything and tipped well, as maybe I was expecting too much from a tourist resort restaurant.

I am now over in Bonalba with my family. So the question is do I go back? Was I unlucky?

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy D, Gerente at Restaurant el Burgonon, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your opinion. We are sorry that your experience at our hotel was not to your liking. We would definitely like to return to try again and so have the opportunity to change their impression on us. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“WATCH OUT FOR ADDITIONAL CHARGES”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for the third time whilst holidaying in Campello.
On each occasion we have had the menu of the day.the first two occasions we had bread which was include and also water.
This last time we visited we ate the bread provided only to discover a charge on the bill. We did not ask for bread it was put on the table prior to meal being served.
As a previous trip advisor writer giving very good review, I feel disappointed at this underhanded gesture and I have to admit it has put me off returning as many times as I would have.
I feel that customers should not be given food or drink without requesting it then being charged for it.
Pity about this as bread and water in Spain is minimal and could be given free as goodwill.
However the meal served was good but their are much better value restaurants around the area that include bread and water and even an aperitif included.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy D, Gerente at Restaurant el Burgonon, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
thank first opinion on this medium. Our shop always offer the bread as a service and you break it down properly in our invoice. We may include it in the final price, but we consider more explanatory itself and register it in the bill. All restaurants in the area, charge the bread and water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great end to our trip”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten in many restaurants in El Campello and the surrounding areas over the past 8 years and have posted a number of reviews (largely complimentary) but for some reason I have always shied away from El Burgonon preferring to go to one of our more regular haunts.
WHY.......I cannot now explain!!!
I can only think that I must have thought that the place was a little pricey by El Campello standards (which it is) but Wow! Whilst you may be able to eat cheaper dinners, I doubt very much that you will eat better anywhere and as for value for money it was on the occasion that we visited, absolutely superb!
4 of us went on our last night persuaded by our friends who knew that we had been umming and aarghing about trying the place - glad they did.
It was a Monday evening for dinner and one of the Menus del Dia that day was a tapas menu for 29.50€ which at first glance may seem a bit "minty" - it wasn't!
Every course was exceptional and certainly not your run of the mill tapas which we love anyway. A great deal of thought and care had been put in by the chef and the whole meal was imaginative and a revelation to me at least.
One of our party ate A La Carte as she did not fancy the tapas choices and the staff made a point of ensuring that her courses came at such a time as to blend perfectly with our various tapas plates.
The service was impeccable, attentive but not intrusive and there was nothing to question.
We men had chosen to drink Albariño that evening but unfortunately they had run out of that wine and the wine waiter recommended to me an alternative - aWhite Sauvignon -which proved to be a wonderful alternative AND at 12 € a bottle cheaper than my original choice!
We will certainly be going back in August and I am left wondering why I have, stubbornly, ignored all previous recommendations on TripAdvisor and from local friends and have not been there sooner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoddersDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy D, Gerente at Restaurant el Burgonon, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi, it's a pleasure to receive this review we pride ourselves tremendously. We are delighted to form part of their experience in these days of relaxation in our city. We hope to see you soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant el Burgonon also viewed

 
Campello, Costa Blanca
 
Campello, Costa Blanca
Campello, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurant el Burgonon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing