We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good but not for you if you like to be in the thick of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Campello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here late July 2013. Lovely spacious apartment with nice sea views. Here's my thoughts on things people have commented on before.

LOCATION: Yes, the site is hilly but unless you are VERY unfit or you are disabled, you should be okay. We were glad of the exercise! I didn't bother taking high heels because of what people had said and to be honest only a few women seemed to get really dressed up so just bring the flats! The complex is in the middle of a residential area so if you don't like being far away from other bars or restaurants it's probably not ideal for you. We didn't bother with a car but used the little bus that goes 5 times a day, though only on weekdays, to either El Campello or to Venta Lanuza tram station. The tram service is excellent, clean, punctual and cheap! It is walking distance from the hotel to the tram, only about 25 minutes, but very hilly especially on the way back and not to be recommended in the heat of the day! There's also a bar/restaurant across the very busy road at the tram station where we went for a drink when we had a half hour tram wait once. Reception will give you a map which shows where the tram is. Recommend a trip to Altea which we loved with a beautiful beach, shopping area and old town with art galleries, gift shops and restaurants.

RESTAURANTS: We found them all reasonable but especially liked the Spanish restaurant.

APARTMENT: We had a one bedroomed apartment which was very spacious and the air conditioning was good - nice and quiet! The bedroom was a bit dark but the living area was lovely. Could have done with a bit more in the way of cooking equipment. You can't fit two big pans on the little hob as one of them turns it off (touch sensitive) and there was no mixing bowl, measuring jug or salad bowl which would have made life easier (although next door had a salad bowl so maybe someone ran off with ours!) Also no microwaveable dishes and the microwave looked as if it hadn't been used. No kettle either but boiling water in a pan not that much of a hardship. Cleaner came every third day to change bins, beds and towels and always left us with a spare set of clean towels so we were more than happy with that.

ACTIVITIES: This is a great place for families with younger children as the activities are mainly geared towards the children. However, I think it's probably not great for teenagers. There's nothing much for them to do and certainly nowhere to go. Some Dutch kids had put some posters around in Engish and Dutch asking for other teenagers to hook up with in the evenings as they were bored. Swimming pool nice but you have to get there early to get a place (in July anyway) and definitely not a pool for swimming as the kids were dive bombing all the time. Not really relaxing. The only problem is that you intend to stay on site for the day and can't get near the pool or find it a bit too noisy there's nowhere else shady to relax. We did go down to the pebbly beach once but it's a bit of a treacherous walk across large rocks and stones.

SHOP: A bit more expensive than supermarkets but fairly well stocked (with some odd things - there was a huge frozen lobster in the freezer which I would love to have known how you would cook on that little hob or microwave!) The nearest supermarket is a 10-15 minute walk away and isn't that brilliant. If you have a car you would do better with Aldi etc. There is a cafe/restaurant near the shop up the road. Always seemed to be full.

On the whole an enjoyable holiday. Thanks to all the lovely staff who went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shebs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear customer;
Thank you for writing your review in Tripadvisor. It’s nice to know that everything in Pueblo Acantilado was as you expected. We’ll take note of your suggestion about the cooking equipment. Hope you have a lot of good memories of our Resort. We would be very happy, to see you again.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

A family of 5 we stayed for a week in July 2013. The hotel is a gem when it comes to value for money. We stayed in one of the cliff apartments, which has a good size for 5 people and stunning views over the Mediterranean.
Pool area is not that big, but not crowded at all.
We only tried the restaurant for breakfast, which offered a good selection of food and drinks at a very reasonable price.

The hotel is indeed as seen on their website build in the style of an old Spanish Pueblo, and the surroundings are very well kept. Built on a Cliff, be aware there are quite a lot of stairs and steep climbs.

Staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs and requests.

Nearby El Campello offers a long beachfront walk, where restaurants, bars a some shops can be found.

We will definately visit Pueblo Acantilado again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoskildePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Customer;

We are more than happy to know that you’ll come back to visit us in Pueblo Acantilado Suites. We are glad to know that you like the Resort and the places in El Campello.
Just write me an e-mail when you come back.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Firstly I would like to say a big thank you to Carola in reception who speaks fantastic English and helped us more than once. Although this is a lovely place and the apartments are really first class we did find the food a problem. Firstly due to a mix up we were only offered a buffet in the main cafe and then never went back in there so can't comment on the food. The Italian cafe had its ups and downs, first few days the food was good after that it deteriorated, was charged for more drinks than we had (which Carola got back for us) and the waiter (Andrea) forgot to order our food so we sat there for over an our waiting...hence the drinks mix up. The manager (Walter) speaks hardly any English except 'sorry, sorry, sorry' so not a good experience. I don't think English people should visit here as the communication is very poor. We were self catering, the only problem is there is only one small, very expensive shop on site which doesn't sell enough to make any kind of meal and the supermarket is too far away to walk so unless you have a car...your stuck. The pool area is very, very small and noisy and the sun beds are not cleaned daily as they were smothered in bird poo! Must say though, the water was soooo warm! All in all a shame as the place is beautiful with great views, although super hilly so not for the unfit, don't think you wold even push a wheel chair, the hills are too steep. We did however have a lovely holiday which was very cheap and the weather just makes it!

Room Tip: The apartments without the sea view are the quietest as you can't hear a golf buggy up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lychnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear customer;

First at all I want to thank you for your complement. We are glad to know that you like the place and the apartments. However we are really sorry that the food was a problem. We’ve already talked with Walter to see what was the problem in Chiesa and won’t happen again. We know that the Pool area is a bit small, but we clean the sunbeds every morning because of the trees and the birds. In case you want to give us a second chance, please contact me directly per mail. Hope you’ve had a good return home.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pueblo Acantilado is a marvellous place to stay in your holiday. It is relaxing place, far enough from the crowded beaches. A nice place to take the children with you, nice for children, parents, grandparents as well as couples that just would like to relax. There are good restaurants and friendly people. Sebastian at White Coffee makes your day ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thordis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Customer;

We want to thank you for your nice review in Tripdvisor. We’re glad to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay. Would be nice to see you back in Pueblo Acantilado Suites. Please contact me if you want to come back.

Sincerely

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent one week for a workshop. If I go to the gym I like to go at 7am.. gym here opens at 10 am. closes on middle of the day and at 9pm. They bring people to runs on old golf carts.. Old noisy golf carts which shatter the piece. I had a nice sea view apartment in the middle of the complex.. They also put a bar there which strangely plays different music from two different sound systems- at least it closes about 12. Staff at said bar seem to be AWOL most times we wanted a drink. The food was mediocre at best. On Friday informed if 40min wait at one place I went to the other who took my order immediately BUT I waited over an hour to get my food. They said they were busy but there was hardly anyone in the place.
There are better places in Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank womullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear customer;

We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected. We will try to find a solution to open the gym a few hours before. The golf Buggy is really important; we need it to help the customers up the hills. We are revising the problems you’ve had with the Restaurant on Friday. Hope you’ve had a good return home.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Young couple visited early June for 1 week stay. We are early 20's however where not looking for a party holiday, but maybe not this silent!

Food- poor -Italian: very slow service food standard, Spanish restaurant ok, generous potions, lovely waitress. Upper restaurant poor, no atmosphere at all food tasteless! Bird poo all over seats and tables!!

Towels- changed once, had to use dirty towels.

Bus- only way out of here without a car. Taxis cost 15€ each way min. However the bus only comes 3 times a day starting at 7-15am 1-20pm and 7-00pm

Hilly- reception offered a golf buggy to our room which seems standard, left in car lot to get lift. VERY HILLY! If your unfit or disabled there is not chance of getting up the steep and stubbly hills and rocky steps.

Isolated- it seems like everyone goes to bed at 3pm in the afternoon and awakes the next morning! Restaurants always empty on site, no entertainment what so ever, not even music in the restaurants! Only chance of nightlife is the white coffee shop for a drink or obscure cocktail which is quiet and closes at 11PM! AND EXPENSIVE!

Nightlife- on site no chance! El Campello is very quiet and appears to be a line of empty restaurants on the sea front but no bars, entertainment, no excitement! Plus then the 15€ ride back to the hotel! Alicante and Benidorm accessible with a taxi to tram station.

Rude staff - no one was pleasant, except a girl in the Spanish restaurant, reception are rude and if you ask for a taxi they stare at you like you have asked for an impossible task. They don't suggest a cheaper alternative or make you aware of any other form of transport available.

Lack of info- you are told nothing! You have to figure everything out for yourself. An information guide to nearest beach, supermarket, potential restaurants close by, entertainment, sight seeing or places of interest would be very helpful! Fortunately, a friend made us aware of the good tram system so we where able to slowly figure this out and escape the ghost town!

Weekends! Nothing happens anywhere! Most places are closed inc the white coffee shop on site at a night time = nothing to do past your tea other than sleep! Buses do not run on a Sunday as we found out 2 hours later and being stranded in El Campello! No taxi circulate El Campello so it's impossible to get back to the apartments after 7pm!

Nice rooms - Lovely apartments, over facing the pool, no complaints, bedroom big, living area/ kitchen nice and bathroom clean. Plus air con which is needed!
Free safety deposit box, microwave oven, hob, coffee maker, washing machine!

Wifi available for 7€ per week which is accessible everywhere! This was a god send to find information out!

Spa seems nice but didn't use - no info given in English or directions as it is to one side.

Pool area nice, sun beds modern with plenty of shade.

Pool bar - opens late morning and serves frozen food! Very expensive nasty tasting pizza. Chips available at 1-50€ for small carton (cheapest thing going). Lady seems nice and helpful.

Expensive- on site shop is small and very expensive, basics available and Carlo will open the shop for you at night time ( he owns the shop and coffee shop/ bar)

Not a 4 star complex and was disappointed with the lack of information on purchasing the holiday and when in the resort. Wouldn't return and would not recommend! Would be ok with a car, or if hotel made it something special! Seems like no effort is put into the guests unless Spanish!

Over all get a car and drive every where or speak fluent Spanish!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear customer;
First at all, we want to thank you for writing your review in Tripadvisor, which always helps us to improve. We are glad to know that you like the apartments and the Spanish Restaurant in our Resort. However we are really sorry that your stay was not as you expected. It seems that probably this is not the kind of resort you were looking for. We try to improve better information in our site to avoid this.
We change the towels every three nights and we put always three sets of clean towels in the closet.
The little bus drives 5 times a day, but just from Monday to Friday. We normally recommend rent a car to see more places.
Now in the summer are much more activities like concerts, magic nights, kids activities, …
About the staff, working in Pueblo Acantilado suites, is one of our best aspects, like you can see in other reviews, that’s why we are really sorry that you haven´t perceived it like that.
We are sorry that you haven’t enjoyed your stay in Pueblo Acantilado.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pueblo Acantilado for a week in May. It wasn't too busy which we liked since we had our two young children with us. We stayed in a great 2 bedroom apartment with seaview and I could not recommend it more. The apartment had every comfort we needed for a pleasant holiday and it was very spacious as well. The resort is truly beautiful looking like a converted Spanish old village or maybe it is, I don't know. What we loved about it among other things is that it feels really authentic Spanish and not created for the international turists. The hotel has steep hills but you don't need to be fit to get to your rooms. We all managed without any problems (even my two little ones) and in any case staff are there to help with little golf buggies if you are struggling with bags etc. or even just for the fun of it! Staff are extremely helpful and they have attended to our needs promptly and attentively. They really went the extra mile to help. Unfortunately we had a major problem with a big wedding party which made huge noise for several nights in a row to unacceptable levels until the early hours in the morning. This nearly spoilt our holiday. A drunken large group of guests was screaming, laughing and singing outside our bedroom windows by the bar until 4.30am. After 3 days of this we complained with the manager who listened to our ranting and made sure that the noise level was kept to a minimum late at night. He kept his word and we managed to get a much better sleep for the remaining two nights. Apart from this incident which I hope is an isolated case everything else was perfect. I would definitely go again...hoping that no wedding takes place while I'm there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baccig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PabloGuzman, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pueblo Acantilado Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear customer;

Thank you for recommending Pueblo Acantilado Suites in Tripadvisor. We’re happy to know that you have enjoyed the view in your apartment. We are really sorry about the noise of the wedding. The parties of the people from the wedding were a bit out of control, but we are glad that you have informed us in the moment, so it was possible to find a solution. We hope to see you back soon in Pueblo Acantilado Suites.

Best regards

Carola Jochim
Customer service
rrpp@puebloacantilado.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campello
5.7 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,490 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Familia Gallo Rojo
3.7 mi away
Hotel Servigroup Montiboli
Hotel Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
23.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
10.4 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Acantilado Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Acantilado Suites

Address: Plaza Ciutat de l'Alguer 10, 03560 Campello, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Campello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Campello
Price Range: $43 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Acantilado Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Pueblo Acantilado Suites suspended on a spectacular cliff, and with the best views of the coast of Alicante. This spectacular Resort recreates the enchantment and the flavor of a typical town of the Costa Blanca. The splendid rooms, the majority of which are suites, are equipped with exclusive and comfortable furniture, and have been totally renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pueblo Acantilado Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Acantilado Hotel El Campello
Pueblo Acantilado Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing