We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, service and location”
Review of La Cova

La Cova
Ranked #13 of 167 Restaurants in Campello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Reservations: 965 63 43 71, Phone 677 11 36 00 / 93 http://www.guiamaximin.com/un-jamon/restaurante-la-cova-el-campello-alicante.html
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, service and location”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

31st October 2013
After finding this little gem we weren't disappointed. The food was presented beautifully and tasted amazing, fantastic value for money and very pleasant staff. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked again tonight. It is most definitely the best restaurant in Campello, we just wish we were here longer to try the menu everyday as it changes on a daily basis. The surroundings at the marina are simply stunning.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    102
    52
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catral, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is in a lovely setting overlooking the Marina with great views. There is a nice outdoor terrace and the ambience inside is very attractive with good quality table linen etc. We chose the fixed price set menu which included a half bottle of wine per person and was priced slightly above other local restaurants. We were not impressed with the food ,fish was dry having been left under hot lights and the vegetables were virtually non existent. Service was poor and waiter seemed disinterested. Despite this we managed to have a jolly lunch mainly due to the very acceptable wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargieB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Food was of reasonable standard, but service was poor. The waiter serving our table seemed to drop every item from about 1 inch on to the table as if he just did not want to be there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Durham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The set menu which is three courses & a drink is good value for money. Large portions, well presented and served. Not a massive choice on the set menu, particularly the deserts, but there is always the a la carte which is extensive. The views overlooking the coastline are really special, the hotel being in an elevated position...ensure you get a window seat though. We took our family who were visiting for a lunch time meal and everyone enjoyed themselves. Highly recommended for service, food and atmosphere. Will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good for a special occassion”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely restaurant but fairly expensive so not for every night! Interesting menu which even our 10 year old found suitable (along with the 13 and two 16 year olds) so worth a visit as a 'treat'. Fantastic view over the bay and beautifully prepared food. Perfect for special nights out and equally suited to couples and families. You may need to visit after the frustration of the very ordinary beach front restaurants gets to you - with a few notable exceptions. We enjoyed it but it worked out about €30 per head.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorpo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cova also viewed

Campello, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Cova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing