We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another "well worth seeing"”
Review of Isla de Tabarca

Isla de Tabarca
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Santa Pola
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aalesund
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yet another "well worth seeing"”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Take time out from the beach, well no you dont even need to do that onTabarca because theres one there as well! A lovely littel fishing village with one main street, if you can call it that, loads of restaurants a lovely little beach and peace and quiet, well not so quite on a busy sunday in summer. Take a catarmaran and enjoy a lovel day out for kids and adults.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    303
    137
    50
    37
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tabarca island”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is only a 20 min boat trip from santa Pola, in a glass bottomed boat so you can see all the fish. The main part is mainly restaurants, but the far part is more interesting, with old buildings. The church was being renovated when we were there but we have not been back toi inspect it. Oh yes, if you eat in one of the restaurants-I forget the name, watch that you don't get charged 'tourist' prices rather than spanish.

Helpful?
24 Thank DianaAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Day trip”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

So we took the boat trip from Santa Pola, yes it was a little choppy, but it was November and we were just grateful it wasn't raining. Once we arrived at the island we had time to walk round it all, look at the little houses, huge seagulls and many stray but well fed cats. We wanted some lunch but decided to stay well clear of the tourist bars offering chicken nuggets and chips and we found a small Spanish restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely meal, salad, prawns, sardines, paella and dessert with a drink for 12Euros each. The paella was fresh and delicious. Finding this place to eat made the trip. The journey back was much calmer and for 10Euros return it wasnt too expensive.
I would return, but not during July and August as I think it would be packed and we enjoyed the peace and tranquility.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank TonyPepper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get in the water !!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

After seeing a couple of bad comments about Tabarca i thought i'd add my bit to even up the score a little .
First of all yes , the boat ride from any of the towns along the coast can be choppy , so if you get seasick take a tablet or two before travelling !
I think some people have missed out on the best part of the island - the aquatic life ! Take a snorkel and flippers . The island is in a marine sanctuary , and so the marine life is healthy and abundant . During my many trips to Isla Tabarca ive been lucky to see squid and octopus very close to the shore , huge schools of bass , bream , and other tasty "table " fish ,you can litterally swim among them ! Dolphins and porpoises , all manner of crustaceans . If you are more adventurous and can swim further then the main beach there are small sea caves .
Yes the food on the island can seem a little on the dear side , but it is fresh (not often found on the costa blaca nowadays) and delicious . I love the arroz negro !
As said before , there is very little shade so dont forget your sunscreen !!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank zedhead36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Although this place is very charming, it is a choppy boat ride to get there, and nothing much to do when you get there, it has 1 shop and 2 bars/restaurants, for a lazy beach day fine but if you miss your last boat there is one hotel and it is a lot of money for 1 night!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RICHARD N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla de Tabarca also viewed

Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Isla de Tabarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing