We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fillet I've had in Spain for a long while”
Review of La Matera

La Matera
Reserve with
La Matera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 202 Restaurants in Santa Pola
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Murcia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“best fillet I've had in Spain for a long while”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Read the reviews on this restaurant on trip advisor, so suggested it to the friends we were travelling with. In late September, it was quiet, but the service and advice from our waitress was very good, she talked us through the choice of Spanish and Argentinian wines, and we settled on the Argentinean red - Malbec - to accompany our fillets, which were delicious...cooked perfectly. I can thoroughly recommend both!!! One minus, should have been a choice of way to have our accompanying potatos - chips, jacket, etc, but we were just given jacket potato with sour cream without the choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurciaDivechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    57
    24
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely food and good service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband ate here at the end of August. We had been looking for somewhere nice to go in the area and reviews were good so we went here.
We sat outside (we had reserved and it was full outside). It is nice as views of the sea and local square. The steaks all looked good. my husband had Ribeye and chips and I had chicken breast and jacket. Both were really lovely. Accompanied by a nice bottle of red recommend by a very friendly waitress.
After the meal she kindly booked us a taxi back to Gran Alicante which was discounted.
Would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in Spain.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I go there every year. The fillet is soft and tender. The red wines are very good. Service is excellent. The waiter speak english which is rare in santa pola. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonhjalmarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived, tired, on Sunday. The consensus was: dine out...the venue La Matera...we all agreed!
It was quiet, but the service and advice from our host was brilliant...recommend the Argentinean red!
The steaks were delicious...cooked perfectly. Memorable.
We will be booking this restaurant for our Wedding Anniversary Family Gathering in July.
However, I suspect we'll be going back well before then!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benijofar, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scenic view, very good food ,excellent servise !”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Scenic view over the beach to Torrevija,Guadarmar and La Marina , we loved the nice food and the waiter did a very good job, also landlord who is from Argentina supplied all our request , and he also speaks Danish,Swedish and Norwegian which was a nice surprise !
So this is the place to visit if you go to Santa Pola and want good food and nice a view !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jens-Ole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Matera also viewed

Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Matera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing