We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a Valentine's Night dinner”
Review of La Matera

La Matera
Reserve with
La Matera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 213 Restaurants in Santa Pola
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten outside this restaurant (though it may not have been the same one) on a summers evening but this was our first meal inside - great welcome, good fun waiter who spoke perfect English and really looked after us and the February menu was excellent. Specially liked the quacamole as the first course and the steaks had a really great taste as you would expect in an Argentinian steak restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for La Matera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

La Matera is worth a visit all round an excellent experience and the services matches the overall experience. It is always on our list to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rustylino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were looking for a good steak restaurant...we came across this gem!
My Family, along with my Daughter's friend, dined so well.
Excellent attention.
Food: so well presented...interesting hotplate to keep the meal hot! Loved it.
The kids had tinto de verano...so cool!
Absolutely going back next time we're in Santa Pola...which is quite often...
Very highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Anton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matera G, Propietario at La Matera, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hello Anton
Thanks for your comments!!
And we hope to have you back, to repeat the experience
Please. Do not tell us who you are when you come back!!
We are happy to give same service to all our clients
But thanks for sharing your opinion, which of course is very valuable for us!!
Kind regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Based on good reviews on this site we tried this restaurant. We were disappointed. We both had sirloin steak and on one side it was too well done, on the other nearly raw. My partner got the wrong sauce and the chips could have been from McDonald's. Service could also be better. Very ordinary food and we will not go there again. There are better options in Santa Pola.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matera G, Propietario at La Matera, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Tore
It is some time since I first answer and took care to your opinion, and I´m afraid we haven´t heard anything after that.
I can´t know if you´ve been back, but i do expect so, to try with our daily work, to improve your previous sensations with it
Thanks again
Best regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My partner loves steaks and I don't. So when I saw Caesar salad on the menu I was happy to go to this restaurant. We visit Santa Pola at least three times each year. How can you spoil a salad? A Matera know how to. Wrong lettuce, chicken, hard and old, (been in the fridge for some time). So much sauce the salad swam in it. Cheese hard tasteless and served in chunks, the visual picture was off putting.......... In fairness my partner enjoyed his steak.

1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matera G, Propietario at La Matera, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Anne
We keep doing our Cesar´s salad as I told you we would do, after your visit and comments
Hope you have come to try it again !!
Kind regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Matera also viewed

Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Matera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing