We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on an organized tour. A warm welcome was given as we had a two hour wait at Faro airport. The room was very clean and spacious.The restaurant and service was good. The food was especially nice. A thank you to Mathew the head chef. He gave me a tour of the kitchens.which was very interesting.Even though it was very busy, there was always plenty of choice and food.Fortunately the children had gone back to school so it was fairly quiet.Evening entertainment fairly basic but for us it was allright. I would definately come back here again

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool have a beautifull view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adrianEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014
Google Translation

Distinguido adrianEngland,

Agradecemos que haya dedicado su tiempo para trasladarnos sus comentarios acerca de su

estancia.

Atentamente

Director General

Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 6,162 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

barcelo beach hotel not resort fantastic value super staff excellent food going back next year, perfect beach warm sea plenty to do ideal for walkers and nature lovers.Probably Spains best kept secret

Room Tip: Recomend pool or sea facing avoid rooms overlooking car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rosenewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Distinguished Rosenewson,

We appreciate you taking the time to move your comments about your stay.

best regards

managing Director
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed in this hotel as I have stayed in many Barcelo hotels, All was fine untill we met a member ofthe waiting staff in the dining room one night,( she has to be the rudest person and most unfriendly person ever,) she slapped my 4 year olds hand off the table when she went to set it and made faces at us all night and would not clear our table at all..As not to upset my other children i asked for her name and at check out 2 days later I requested the complaints book, i was asked to wait for the manager , i did and he told me he would deal with the matter.I heard nothing back untill I contacted the hotel and was sent a standard fob off email.I am not very happy at all, I believe if you are a family hotel you should have staff who have patience for children.I will not be going back to this hotel ever only to fill in a formal complaint against this lady.never again will i go back, only regret ( i didnt slap her back)

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank meeeeee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Distinguished meeeeee33,

We appreciate you taking the time to move your comments about your stay.

best regards

managing Director
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Myself and my partner recently stayed here for business and we were amazed at the extent of facilities from the stateof the art conference facilities, the auditorium is great for evening entertainment or that prestgious event, there was plenty of childrens activities, Spa and wellness with gym (supplement) the beach was so long you can walk for hours along it and the food wst very tasty and plentiful and the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for the guests. We will definately return to this hotel for leisure in the future. There was bars and cafes in fron of the hotel and a small shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doris35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Distinguished Doris35,

We appreciate you taking the time to move your comments about your stay.

best regards

managing Director
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

went with saga on a so called over 50s holiday ,loads of children there,no problem with kids we have 7 children,16 grandchildren,and 3 great grandchildren,but would not take them with us on holiday,especially a so called over 50s ,the hotel were only concerned with the spanish holiday makers ,entertainment non-excistant,except at weekends when the spanish booked in,saga did not give a damn,attitude was got your money so stop complaining,avoid saga over 50s hols ,because they are not what they advertise.food cold a lot of times,birds flying round the dining room most mornings ,and food very repetative,barcelo you should be ashamed by the way you treat brits.

Room Tip: dont book the barcelo or saga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimbo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear jimbo029,

We appreciate you taking the time to move your comments about your stay with us.

Your sincerely

General Manager
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

on first arriving at 1.00am. food was left out for us, was fresh and tasty, gave good impression of what was to come. we had all inclusive, with buffet food three times a day. quality and variety was superb. wine given with meal was palatable, fresh fruit and juices every day, fish and meat available twice a day and a good variety of vegetables. hotel was clean and spacious. staff for most part were helpful, though when they became overwhelmed with numbers they found it difficult to cope, but still kept good humour. we were blessed with mostly bright weather, which in November is a blessing. room size was spacious, and well laid out, entertainment was varied and for most part widely appreciated. the atmosphere around the hotel was warm and good humored.all in all had great time,

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gillkeithClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Gillkeith,

Thank you for your comments about your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Barceló Punta Umbría Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We were put off by some of the reviews having booked all inclusive. The trick is to book the early sittings and be on time. It is a popular location for the Spanish and their eating habits are different to northern Europeans. If you go on time for the first sitting the food is excellent the choice is great and the service very good and freindly.
Room was great but its a fight for sunbeds even though one is not supposed to reserve.
The location is great but I prefer the original on the roundaout across the road, Walk from the pool straight to the beach., It was a great place to watch this years World Cup final as yo can imagine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoddardMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBarceloResort, Director General at Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Idlerocks,

We really appreciate your comments about your stay.

Your sincerely,

General Manager
Barcelo Punta Umbría Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
5.6 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ayamontino
Ayamontino
#4 of 8 in Punta Umbria
81 reviews
0 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
#1 of 8 in Punta Umbria
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Leo Deluxe
Apartamentos Leo Deluxe
#3 of 8 in Punta Umbria
417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patio Andaluz
Patio Andaluz
#1 of 4 in Punta Umbria
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Leo Punta Umbria
Apartamentos Leo Punta Umbria
#1 of 6 in Punta Umbria
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort

Address: Av Bulevar del Agua, s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range: $68 - $1,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Hotel Punta Umbria
Punta Umbria Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing