We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed at Barcelo Mar while doing a walking holiday, hotel was very good, room was excellent, staff were always very helpful, food and drinks all very good, enjoyed the walking too. Would definately recommend the hotel, and the walking holiday, yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Julia/Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having stayed for 3 weeks with SAGA Holidays, I can only write positive reviews. Location excellent, staff excellent, rooms have fantastic views especially on the Enebrales side of the Hotel. Bird watching, walking, excursions, even the included all are excellent. There is the added bonus of Dawn the Saga rep, best yet for us and some of the other guests, nothing is too much trouble, she is always pleasant, informative and knowledgable of the area and acticvities, look after her SAGA she is a great selling point. The only small complaint is the food, never hot, but Dawn informed us this is all under review. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: second or third floors always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thehudzons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I came on a package holiday with Saga with my sister and her husband, as a fairly recent widow. It was very easy to be a single person and my room was very large for single occupancy. .The food was very good and we enjoyed free access to the spa and all amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here on our return from three months in the Canaries. We arrived quite late at night and were tired and exhausted from our very long ferry journey from Lanzarotte. Our welcome by the hotel receptionist was truly wonderful. The Reception lady had a lovely smile and, although late in the evening and obviously at the end of her work shift, she was smiling and helpful. She arranged for us to have a hot meal in the restaurant too. We stayed at this beautiful hotel, yes it truly is like a palace, for four nights. All staff were polite and friendly, the food was excellent, everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy and our room, (121) could not have been better. It was very big, the bed was so comfortable, cleaning staff made our beds superbly and tidied up each day. We had super views over the pool area and small very well kept garden. The sun benefited from sunshine from early morning until late afternoon. We took advantage of the location of the hotel being literally right on the lovely sandy beach. Without hesitation we recommend this hotel and will book another trip here in the future.
It is also a Saga hotel, so it must be good! We met some very interesting Saga guests and the Saga Rep, Dawn (although this was not a Saga holiday for us). For us this really is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were only at this Hotel for a couple of days but really impressed us we will definately book again.It will be very busy in the Summertime and perhaps not as peaceful.Out of season the prices are excellent.The Breakfast was great as was Dinner.Plenty of choice and nothing too much trouble for the Staff.We didn't use the Pools but they looked amazing,everywhere was spotless.Our room looked over the beach and sea,very inviting.One of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank car0l60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good Hotel. Saga Package in Feb-Mar (4 weeks). All inclusive. Very good food and drink - huge measures of free drinks. Champagne all day if you wish - including at every Breakfast. Best fact (for me) free unlimited WiFi at 6 Mbs. in all rooms and grounds.
On the downside:- Food not kept hot enough. Entertainment in the evening is not as good as on Cruise ships

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea or pool room. Best rooms face the sea directly - may cost a bit more. Avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I visited with a Saga group in February, the public rooms and bedrooms were warm, but the long corridors were cold. The hotel is situated on sand dunes and the surrounding countryside is mainly marsh land, as it is on the main migration route it an excellent place to see birds and a variety of excursions for bird watchers are available, the Donana National Park is also within easy reach. The buffet meals are better than those served at similar establishments, but the fish is generally over cooked, nothing is very hot as is usual in Spain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,139 reviews
18.7 mi away
Occidental Isla Cristina
Occidental Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar

Address: Avda. del Oceano s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range: $66 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar Hotel Punta Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing