We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - shame about the entertainment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - shame about the entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We travelled with Thomas Cook and expected a transfer of about an hour but it took over two hours from Faro. We were unlucky to arrive when the weather changed and our first four days were spent trying to find something to do in the hotel and surrounding area until the weather improved (the town was a 20-30 min walk away though there was a small shopping area 10 mins walk away) . There is only one bar (with an outside section for pool service). Entertainment not brilliant with most people having to sit in the downstairs lobby as seating inside the bar was always full and this was not high season. No contingency was made to offer daytime entertainment during bad weather and more imagination is needed in this area. Room was very comfortable and clean with great views and but the air conditioning was not brilliant. Getting a sunbed was very easy though the pool was bitingly cold even as late as 5pm. Spa was excellent with small indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi for 7 Euros/hour - massage was excellent too (also a small free gym). Free wi-fi was only available in the lobby and cost 12 Euros/day in your room which is poor for a 4* hotel. We were very happy however with the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    497
    232
    88
    48
See reviews for
444
711
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is without doubt superb in every way; I was warmly greeted with a cool drink, the staff were all very courteous and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The buffet meals were extremely good; there was ample variety of very tasty foods (at breakfast one could also have a glass of Cava!!). I am very well impressed with the whole of this hotel, which should not be confused with others of similar name. I would stay there again without any qualms and would, of course, go with Saga, they also looked after me well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MatajiReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel has a good location with direct access to a long sandy beach. Good rooms but spoilt by the air conditioning being off. (7 May 2013). Too warm to sleep well and not practical to open the window as we were on the front of the hotel and there was noise from traffic on the rounabout and bites from the gnats. The staff were friendly and helpful. The entertainments staff worked really hard to provide something for all tastes.
For the same reason ( air conditioning off) the restaurant was uncomfortably hot. Really I should term it a canteen. It was very noisy, aggravated by some tour groups sitting together on long tables. There is the terrace but you have to fight the sparrows. Be careful what you sit or lean back on and do not leave your food unattended on the table.
If you like food geared to the English taste then it is not too bad, but when in a foreign country I want to eat local food. I do not want to come in to the restaurant to see Fish and chips and mushy peas, nor on American night, to hamburgers or the Italian night,Pizza.Why was there no Spanish night? Every night should be Spanish, with a dish to cater to other tastes.
A lot of the guests off season would seem to be like myself English and elderly (I was with Saga).
If you are on "All Inclusive" then the wine is rather "thin" tasting. I reccommend getting a glass of wine in the bar where you see it coming out of the bottle, and carry your glass into the restaurant.
The meat and fish from the grill was often over cooked, dry and cold because it was cooked too far in advance. Often the fish from the buffet served in a sauce was the opposite. Undercooked to the point of being raw and chewy. Even if you like English type food there is room for a lot of improvement. I will not be returning. When on holiday food is important to me.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of March. It is a large hotel and we were given very little help in finding our room...at least they could tell you at reception which block your room is in! However when we found it, it was a very nice room with a balcony that got sun most of the day. I was not very impressed with the fact that you had to pay by the hour for the indoor swimming pool and nowhere on the website does it tell you that you have to wear a swimming cap. The cost of parking(10 Euros a night ) is somewhat excessive.
The breakfasts are quite adequate with a good choice but the evening meals...buffet style...left a lot to be desired as the food was often not very warm.
We were also a little disappointed with the area...there is not very much to do in the area without travelling a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed on a Saga holiday in Mid Feb 2013 at Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar after a recommendation. It was our first Saga holiday and it won't be our last. We paid extra for a balcony and sea view. Birds seen from the room with the aid of optics - Crested Lark, Iberian Grey Shrike, Serin, Spotless Starling, Sardinean Warbler, Black Redstart and even three Bonxies distant on the sea! The nearby walks in Enabrales woodland produced even more birds including Crested Tit and the beautiful Azure-winged Magpie. Those who walk further to view the saltpans and marshes would do even better with Flamingo, Spoonbill, Black necked Grebe, waders galore, Red Kite, Marsh Harrier, etc. The hotel arranges special half day bird watching excursions and these are just wonderful. We ticked off 110 species in a week! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Whitters99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Arrived 07.02 till 07.03 Fantastic Hotel Fantastic Staff,Food on the whole was 2 * Head Chef Matthew was English and when he was on duty food was great rest of the time it was cold mixtures of God knows what and 1 Microwave between 150 guests did,nt help,We had some kind of Veal at least 20 days out of 28 days I lived on Soup and Bread and Cheese or Pate,Sweets were gorgeous which is unusual for Spain.So many silly things going wrong all the time Wi Fi worked when it felt like it same as toilets not flushing,lights not working Charging 10 Euros to park your car.Its Ideal location for twitchers and walkers but other than that there is nothing to do,in local are there were 2 cafesand 3 SuperMarkets,Free courtesy bus into Punta Umbria but must of that place was closed 92yr old Lady got caught by lift door shutting to quickly and broke her hip,Hotel immediately denied responsibility but lift after that had been seen to and doors worked slowly Beautiful beach at back of Hotel

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grizzly277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from 15 nights at the hotel and cannot praise it enough. It was spotlessly clean, all the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you. The food was plentiful and replenished frequently. Lots of choice. I have a dietary requirement and once I had explained to the chef what the problem was, he cooked for me every night! Service indeed.

We had a room with a seaview for which we paid a little more but would recommend doing so as it was quiet and overlooked the lovely beach and nature reserve.

A lovely place for families or for couples and there were solo travellers as well.

The hotel was also a good base for exploring the area and we spent a lot of time in the Donana National Park and the nature reserve at Odiel. We also had a day in Seville as it was only an hour away, went up into the mountains and into the Rio Tinto mining area. Spent a day in Portugal exploring and was easy to cross the border with no-one stopping us either way,

If you wanted to explore further afield from the hotel a hire car would be a good option and one we chose or alternatively the local buses run frequently into Huelva where you can get onward buses to wherever you choose.

Room Tip: Sea view very quiet as other rooms overlook the pool area and bar which I can imagine will be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank poppyfield17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ayamontino
Ayamontino
#5 of 8 in Punta Umbria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar

Property: Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Address: Avda. del Oceano s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Barcelo and Expedia so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar Hotel Punta Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing