We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Punta Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Shields
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One word - Amazing”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for a week at the barcelo punta umbria mar in mid october 2012, best holiday ever, i went with my two younger siblings and parents, cannot fault the hotel, room was spacious and very clean, pool was very cold and hard to get into as it is not heated but once you are in your start to warm up. The spa is beautiful with the jacuzzi, sauna and turkish bath. Food was lovely lots of choice even for the younger ones (7, 12) with lots of lovely deserts.
The main thing that made our holiday was the entertainment staff they were brilliant with activities on all through the day archery, catch the rat, aqua aerobics and many more, the shows that were on (grease) was brilliant and lots of quizzes and singers. Cannot fault the staff all very friendly and the entertainment team made a great effort with the english, going out of their way to make you happy and comfortable, they like you to join in but are not pushy at all. (lots of fun)
Hotel has its own bridge on to beach which is stunning and about a ten minute walk to the punta umbria town. Would definately return to this hotel amazing time had by all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, absolutely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    615
    261
    104
    50
See reviews for
576
844
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned from the Barcelo Hotel in Punta Umbria, and we need to let future guest know of our experience. It was not very good, if you want to become a second class guest then go, it is not all inclusive like it states, as our friends had to paid for coffee.

You did not get waiter/waitress service (as we have experienced from other all inclusive New Year Holidays). You had to service yourself to tea, fill a bottle for water from a chiller. No waiter/waitress service in restuarant for drinks, the guys had to drink from bottles and fetch your own wine and waiter. ALL THIS IS ONLY FOR ENGLISH GUESTS BUT THE SPANISH GUESTS got full service they were falling over them to serve them. Also lots of small children running around all over the place.

Towards end of the week the food declined and very little choices were put out, all because the hotel was closing on the 3rd January, because of a cancellation from 140 SPANISH guests. Tables an chairs were being removed from seating areas and drinks were being removed from the bar, they ran out of orange juice.

Also you did not get much help from the rep,the only things it is favour was the few happy guests the beach and the trips. This holidays was not good value for money

We will not be returning and will not be using SAGA again.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool or the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lassiajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is located right on the beach with good opportunities for walking. However, it is a quite a long way from the little town of Punta Umbria which is by no means a hub of activity in winter. When the weather is cloudy, pollution from the local industries can be smelt around the area. If you are not a walker or birdwatcher expect to make your own entertainment.
Good buffet food, spacious rooms, good service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heatheranne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was one of our trips that we enjoyed the most, the hotel was wonderful and comfortable, staff was attentive and installations wonderful ... Best time to go is when is out of season months if you want peace and quiet...city of Punta Umbria only 10 minutes walking and is great for bringing your bike for trails near the beach...hotel restaurant prices are a little steep but there are near by restaurants in the town that are reasonable and great food, we were there for a week and left the car parked the whole time and walked to the town for lunch and dinner..

Room Tip: All rooms are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenMOglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Location
Excellent location, on the outskirts of Punta Umbria. Leaving the hotel through a gate, you were straight onto an 8 mile long sandy beach, with pine trees backing onto the sand. On a windy day it was possible to watch the windsurfers.

Rooms
Are large, comfortable & clean, ours had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the sea. No kettle. TV with multi languages. Large safe, but expensive.

Services
Public rooms are spacious & comfortable, internet service at a cost, but free wi-fi is very poor, as the signal would disappear after every few minutes & you had to go to reception for the router to be reset

Food
Large dining room, buffet meals, good selection.
Well stocked bar with entertainment on several nights.

Good area for those who like bird-watching(Doñaña national park within easy reach). Huelva is worth a visit as is the monastery where Columbus stayed before setting sail in 1492!

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Di10Com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In mid-October after a dire summer at home we headed to the Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar (not to be confused with the Punta Umbria Beach Resort across the road ). We arrived late in the evening and got to the dining room just before it closed. A light supper of salads and meat had been left out for us as the dining room had been cleared. It is a great pity that this was our introduction to the hotel as it was fairly pathetic. Cold potatoes (with no dressing) and tired looking cheese and cold meat was a very poor representation of the hotel food ! All our subsequent meals (we were on a full board basis) were excellent and the management should find out who prepares the meal for late arrivals and tell them to get their act together. After a long plane journey and an hours drive from Faro airport, visitors deserve more this type of meal ! However, my overall opinion of the hotel was that it is very good and we probably would go back. The bedrooms were really big and comfortable and for us early to bed and early to rise people there was the added bonus - the fact that BBC1 and 2 were available. (Sad box watchers as we are). This was a real treat. It was great to see a part of Spain that is so different for the Costa Del Sol. The weather was`nt great but nobody can plan for that. Overall our impression of the hotel was positive.

Room Tip: We had a room with a side view of the beach and overlooking the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DolBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a good fortnight here in September,I was a little worried as had read previous reviews but these must have been about the Barcelo Beach Resort which is across the Main road and is a huge complex.The Mar is great.Bedroom huge and mine 119 was good as it had the sun until miday so allowed the room to cool down by night, The airconditioning was not great and found it hard to cope with 35deg.All the staff were good and the bar staff looked after you and you didn't have to wait long for your drinks. The food was good and hot we even had hot plates.There was plenty of variety and always a cold selection.There is an English head chef Matthew who looks after us and is always open to suggestions.We were all inclusive and had a very nice wine at lunch and dinner.Unfortunately and our last day they altered the system
and we had to get our own wine and water from a barrell with taps and I was very disappointed with the wine from this source.I do hope they reconsider this. A short walk from the hotels private gate takes you onto a lovely sandy beach which stretches as far as you can see.All in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: I mentioned my room 119 was good but 117 would be better as it had an enclosed Balcony so you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ewartBexhillSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Umbria
13.9 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
13.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
5.6 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Punta Umbria Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
961 reviews
18.7 mi away
Occidental Isla Cristina
Occidental Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar

Property: Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar
Address: Avda. del Oceano s/n, 21100 Punta Umbria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Punta Umbria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Umbria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Umbria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Umbria Mar Hotel Punta Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing