We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good in parts, but bad bits outwiegh the good parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Center Parcs Park Nordseekuste
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tossens
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Sunparks Nordseekuste, now run by Centre Parcs, is a collection of holiday houses around a central resort base with restaurants and a large indoor pool. The pool is excellent, great for kids of all ages, and the houses are clean and pleasantly situated. However the on site shop has limited stock, mostly booze.
The major problems with Sunparks Nordseekuste are as follows: 1) staff are pretty unfriendly and unhelpful. 2) There are no washing machines in the holiday houses, only one laundry room with ten washer/dryers for 600+ houses, for which you need to get a key at 8am otherwise they are all gone. 3) The 'beach' is a patch of sand approximately 20 metres from the sea, the water's edge itself being a man-made concrete/stone construction leading onto mudflats and overlooking the highly industrial Wilhelmshaven.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We visited this Center Parcs as it is relatively close to family who live in Holland and we have had 2 enjoyable breaks at Center Parcs Penrith, UK plus recommendations based on another Center Parcs in Southern Germany.

The first thing you notice on arrival is that cars can be parked outside your cottage. Handy for shopping and the like, but it also means that there is a constant, if light, flow of cars to and from the cottages. As there are no cycle paths, it means cycling within the “park” (more on this later) is akin to doing so in any normal UK housing estate.

The second thing you notice, is that there is no “park”. There is a collection of self catering cottages, a roundabout, a central part with the swimming pool and shop and then some other, unrelated, businesses such as a (run down) cycle hire, a (closed down) cycle hire, an odd souvenir shop and a (closed for the winter) cafe bar.

All of this – including the swimming pool etc. - is open to the general public too, so again there is a constant, if light, flow of traffic to and from the various places.

The accommodation is good, if a little basic. Our 3 bedroom cottage was clean if a little in need of refurbishment. There is a television with 30 some German channels and CNN. The one bathroom is downstairs and there is a shower, but no bath.

The kitchen had a four ring hob with no way of telling which dial operated which ring or what setting each one was on (it made for an interesting first evening of cooking). The toaster would reset the main fuse board more often than not and reception ignored our request for someone to look into the problem.

There was also a microwave. Remember to bring washing up liquid.

The 2 towels per person provided at extra cost were threadbare.

We hired bikes, which required a phone call from reception for the friendly bike hire chap to come along to the shop 5 minutes walk away, but then we discovered the next thing; there is nowhere to go and nothing to see. As there is no park or traffic free paths, you either cycle around a small housing estate, or around a bigger housing estate in Tossens.

This part of Germany is not blessed with picturesque countryside and in winter one bleak field looks much like another. We had hoped for something like other Center Parcs, in having a park to cycle around.

This brought us to our fourth and ultimately most telling conclusion: this is not a Center Parcs as we understood them to be. It is a reasonably priced self catering accommodation with a swimming pool within walking distance.

We did go to play badminton in the always empty sports hall near to the swimming pool. After some fuss looking through booking sheets (the hall was entirely empty and we hadn't seen anybody use it in 4 days), we were asked for over 20 Euros for an hour's play. The cost advertised was 6.50. It turns out that this was per person, plus 3.50 for each racket (for non matching tatty rackets with the handles peeling away) plus some other cost which brought it to more than 20 Euros. Oh, they also wanted my passport to keep as security for the rackets (which you wouldn't have paid 3.50 to buy never mind rent). This was not a misunderstanding.

So if you played one hour of badminton every day, you would have to carry your passport with you and it would add over 100 Euros to the cost of your holiday. Squash and tennis are more expensive.

At this point we decided against it and asked to play the free table tennis instead. Despite the hall being empty (as it had been every time we looked in) it was decided after a hurried conversation that the table was booked for at least an hour. We went swimming again instead.

According to the website, there is a choice of four restaurants. There isn't. There is one cafe with one menu and a few different themed areas within it. There are two restaurants in Tossens 15 minutes walk away; one Italian and one German. The Italian was cold and the food, sub par. There was a restaurant within the hotel at reception, but it wasn't open. At all.

There is wireless internet available near to reception at 1.50 per 15 minutes.

In summary: the pool is good. This isn't a Center Parcs. If you need a reasonably priced self catering base for exploring this part of the world, then you can get cheaper.

If you want the Center Parcs experience, go elsewhere because this isn't it.

On a final note, this was our first trip to Germany for a holiday and we did enjoy it. The people are very friendly and the places, interesting. It's just that this place was nothing it should have been.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriswith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

this place is at the end of the world-miles from anywhere you cannot use Visa credit cards as they can't get a signal here to authorize payments.Everyone is German no-one speaks English.The houses are shabby and poorly equipped with no English language TV channel.There is no cooker just hotplate.This is nowhere near as nice as Centerparcs in England where we've been loads.The carpets are dirty,sink is cracked,no cupboards to store food.The scenery is flat and boring and there is nothing to do and nowhere to go-the swimming pools are Ok but not as good as Longleat in UK.There is also a lot of industry around-nothing pretty no nice beaches and MILES from anywhere,It also took us 9 hours to get here from Calais as Satnav sent us through Holland which seemed to be entirely gridlocked the day we travelled here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hold dig fra hotellet og opgrader til VIP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morten_Evamdrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Bernd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossens
4.1 mi away
Nordseehotel Wilhelmshaven
Nordseehotel Wilhelmshaven
#7 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
42 reviews
7.1 mi away
ATLANTIC Hotel Wilhelmshaven
ATLANTIC Hotel Wilhelmshaven
#1 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
297 reviews
13.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Sail City
Atlantic Hotel Sail City
#1 of 19 in Bremerhaven
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Butjadinger Tor
Hotel Butjadinger Tor
#2 of 3 in Nordenham
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hof van Oldenburg
Hotel Hof van Oldenburg
#1 of 1 in Tossens
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Park Nordseekuste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Park Nordseekuste

Address: Nordseeallee 36, 26969 Tossens, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Sunparks Nordseeküste)
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Tossens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tossens
Price Range: $60 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Center Parcs Park Nordseekuste 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Center Parcs Park Nordseekuste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing