We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and staff, shame about the end of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
northants
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and staff, shame about the end of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went there with my wife's mother on a two week Saga holiday in September.

We arrived just after the 15th September when everything closed down, it was totally deserted which was a shame as all the staff and the rep were very good.

While we were there you could go on the beach and there were a few umbrellas and sun beds to hire but the wind blew constantly, the same wind funnelled around the hotel and across the pool and outside seating area which made it uncomfortable to sit for long.

The excursions were interesting but expensive and many did not run due to a lack of participants, one we wanted to go on was cancelled twice.

Due to the shutdown of the resort there were not many restaurant's open so eating out was limited for lunch and while they did toast of ham and cheese at the pool bar we felt it would be good to have a simple menu, as it was we got sandwiches from across the road most days.

With nothing to do we walked to the port of garibaldi most days and a small foot ferry took you across to a couple of cafes and you could walk along looking at the fishing boats and their catches.

It was a pleasant enough stay and the meals and included drinks and wine were fine but two weeks was too long.

Room Tip: All have a sea view from the side but we moved to the front which was lighter and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howszat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    63
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
52
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

very young friendly staff.clean rooms. pool a bit cramped. food average. near beach. enjoyed stay there.balcony too small.free safe and air con which is a bonus.would be happy to return, although would go in mid season rather than out of season when everything is closed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mofurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

All of the staff in this hotel were exceptional, thanks to Antonio and his team, they made our holiday. The area is amazing, so much to do and see, one of the best breaks we have had. After a busy day it was good to come back to some exceptional hospitality, good food and wonderful service. Pam Holland THANKYOU you made sure that we all got the best from our stay, with Alessandra and Melissa, the four of you really are the FOUR MUSKETEERS.......Thanks

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Plaza. The staff at this family owned hotel are second to none - nothing is too much trouble! The resort was quiet as it was the end of the season but this did not mar our enjoyment at all. We were well fed, entertained and cared for. Antonio & Alessandro, the charming managers, always on hand to provide advice and help; smiling Melissa serving drinks and wonderful snacks; Victor our efficient waiter.The lovely chef, Beta who took time to show us how to make pizza - all the staff took pride in their work and cared about their guests. The de Vitis family run a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sCOTLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Returned from a lovely week at the Hotel Plaza and have to make a special mention to all the Staff they went the extra mile for all staying, the food and the presentation was first class.

Other resorts were easily accessed from Lido Estensi and Comacchio is a short journey away and worth while a visit, we were lucky as they were holiding a weekend festival when I visited.

I hope to return again

Room Tip: I was allocated a high room and it was quiet and had a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cALEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel Plaza looks on to the beachfront road (very light traffic), with sea views from (very small) balconies. It is a short walk from the pleasant main street of this small resort and about 10 minutes walk from bus stops to Ravenna and Ferrara.

What made this hotel really special for us was the staff. From the managers to the cleaners, everyone was so pleasant, polite, yet friendly, and, especially important, efficient and really good at their jobs. Alessandro and Antonio went out of their way to help and were always ready with information. You could even get bus tickets at the reception desk! We should also give special mention to Melissa, at the pool bar, who prepared tasty little snacks to have with our drinks and had style and a smile, even just serving a cup of tea or coffee! The dining room staff were equally pleasant and efficient, with no mistakes in delivering the right meal to the right table.

We were on half board with a set menu (with an ample choice even for vegetarians) for dinner and buffet at breakfast. The typically Italian food was served hot and was delicious, every night. Dinner was a real highlight and the cooks were brilliant at their job, with fresh, mainly local, ingredients cooked to perfection. Our favourites were the fish dishes, different each night with everything cooked and served perfectly. There were additional serve-yourself vegetables - fresh produce, freshly cooked. There was plenty of choice for dessert, with Italian sweets (tiramisu etc) and really fresh fruit, or local cheeses - the only thing to suffer was the waistline. Breakfast too had a wide choice, including bacon, mushrooms etc. and eggs cooked to your personal preference. The home-made jam was packed with fruit and the coffee was excellent.

I cannot speak highly enough of the food at this hotel and the atmosphere in the dining room, relaxing and calm, with the views over the beach, made dining a real treat, like a superb restaurant, but without the pretentiousness. Even the included house wine was acceptable and refills came readily. One could not ask more.

Our room, on the fourth floor, was comfortable, with all the usual facilities, including a safe (free) and mini-bar with enough room to put in your own extras. The air conditioning was effective. It had the usual 'hum' but did not bother us and we were not disturbed by any noise from adjacent rooms or from outside. We did need the air-con as the temperature outside in early September was around 30º. The TV worked well, with several English channels, plus Italian, French and German. The bathroom was very small but had everything one needed, including plenty of good towels. It might not have been OK for people of large stature. The balcony was also very small, with room for one person only to sit there, but the view made up for this - you could see the beach and the sea even from the bed - and there were pleasant places to sit near the pool. There was also free Wi-fi, but we didn't use this, so I can't comment on it.

The adult pool was big enough to swim properly in, providing it wasn't crowded. The whole pool area was very clean and well kept and there was a life guard. Several of our group swam in the sea, a few minutes walk from the hotel over hot sand [there were duckboards]. Our tour director got us a very good deal with a bagno [beach establishment with loungers, parasols and facilities]. The pool bar had a pleasant shaded seating area. The only things to spoil your pre-dinner drink were the dreaded Italian mozzies - silent and always ready to strike at dusk. They were beyond the control of the hotel - but a generous application of whatever your favourite anti-mozzie cream or liquid is a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good location - very close to beach and resort area. Hotel staff are its best asset . They were young, friendly and went the extra mile especially Melissa who was lovely .
Breakfast choice was good although you need to get their early as they don't replenish enough . Three days the toaster and coffee were broken while we were there. Evening meal was disappointing for vegetarians - three variations of omelettes in 7 days , over cooked veg and limted salad .
Rooms were clean and double was good value although bathroom was small and basic expecially the shower .
As we went out of season the resort was very quiet and mostly shut up except at weekend. Plenty of walks and nearby Porto Garabaldi is a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.

Room Tip: all had side view of beach - higher the better . Balcony is very tiny just room for one chair .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido degli Estensi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Logonovo
Hotel Logonovo
#1 of 9 in Lido degli Estensi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#3 of 9 in Lido degli Estensi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#6 of 9 in Lido degli Estensi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Rimini
Hotel Vecchia Rimini
#4 of 9 in Lido degli Estensi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Locanda La Comacina
Hotel Locanda La Comacina
#5 of 14 in Comacchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday
Holiday
#8 of 9 in Lido degli Estensi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Dei Lecci 41, 44022 Lido degli Estensi, Comacchio, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Comacchio > Lido degli Estensi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lido degli Estensi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing