We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving the Jungle at the Mariposa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the Mariposa. The owners answered multitudes of emails back and forth before our arrival, provided many great suggestions, and helped plan our time in San Ignacio around our ideas and itineraries. After landing in Belize City at 3:30pm, we drove straight through to the Mariposa. Arrived around 7:30 tired and famished. Sharyn the owner had kept dinner waiting, and we walked in to a meal of skewered shrimp and baked grouper. Dessert was grilled pineapple with ice cream and rum sauce. The remaining meals were of similar quality, fine-tuned to our individual tastes, served around our schedule. Frankly, were treated as if we were the only guests there.

The Lodge is well-represented on their web site. Our modern, open cabana (Jaguar) was facing out into the jungle. King bed / bright blankets (nights were chilly) / mosquito netting (romantic!) / jaguar print tile in bathroom w/ rich colored wood counter top / bottled water / hot running water/ electricity/ shelving system to store stuff . The screened back porch, complete with hammock, allowed me to fully enjoy the feel of the jungle, minus the mosquitoes and tarantulas. A haiku:

Jungle surround sound
As light dims between the trees
Hammock swings gently

Tours can be arranged through the Mariposa according to your interests. We enjoyed the nearby Bohl's Cave with the 2000 year old artifacts still there for us to see. Also toured the Botanical Gardens, El Pillar, Cahl Pech, and Caracol with stops at the Rio Frio Caves and the Big Rock waterfall. All highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Jungle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2009

Our family just returned from an amazing vacation in Belize that included a four night stay at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. I only wish we could rate this resort higher than 5 on a scale of 5. The setting is breathtaking, and the owners, Jim and Sharyn Brinker, provided a level of personal care and attention that we have only rarely encountered in years of traveling. Further, the Lodge's location, centrally situated between Caracol, Actun Tunichil Muknal, Xunantunich, and the Guatemalan border (gateway to Tikal) is ideally suited for these excursions. As one recent reviewer noted, the road is rough, but the Mariposa Lodge is much closer to the main Western Highway than many of its major competitors such as the Five Sisters Lodge.

From the moment that we were picked up at the Belize City Airport until the time that we were dropped off four days later at the Water Taxi terminal for a trip to Ambergris Caye, we felt that our well-being was the main focus of everyone at the Lodge. Jim and Sharyn greeted us as old friends upon our arrival, with cold Belikins and tropical drinks at the ready. The cabana ("Puma") was large and immaculately clean, with a spacious bathroom, and a hammock overlooking the jungle. All of the meals were outstanding, and Sharyn made it a point to provide us beautifully prepared lunch to take with us on our daily excursions. We visited Caracol, Tikal, and Actun Tunichil Muknal during our stay, and Sharyn planned each excursion to deliver the maximum experience to our family. The guides were knowledgeable and professional, and went out of their way to ensure a safe and educational experience.

There were many highlights that will stay with us for a long time. We saw constellations in the luminous night sky that we had previously only seen in books. A lodge employee guided us on a nature walk one morning through some of the 40 acres of jungle surrounding the Lodge and showed us many beautiful and interesting birds, plants, and trees. Sharyn arranged an extra evening visit to a local cave, Bol's Cave, that provided a true "Indiana Jones" experience for our boys who crawled through crevices to see Mayan pottery and tools. And always, the best part of the experience was reliving the day over a delicious meal with Jim and Sharyn, and other guests, in the main lodge dining room, regaling each other with tales of our Cayo adventures. We left the Mariposa Lodge with many new friendships, and with unforgettable memories.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PassionateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Sharyn, Jim, and the rest of the staff were all very helpful and made sure we had a great stay. The cabana was large, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The meals were all very good. We especially enjoyed the Belizean themed meal. Our excursions were great. We had expert guides for each excursion. Caving at Mountain Cow and kayaking on the Mopan River were our favorites, but we had a great time every day.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriscage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

A beautiful, new, modern lodge without the "hotel" facade. Large thatched roof cabanas with screened in porch and a hammock, lovely separate dining, relaxing, TV & library building as well as good food. (Breakfast and dinner)
We really enjoyed being in the jungle and away from city lights and noises. The walk through the jungle with Agusto showing us all the plants and giving us samples of allspice leaves and teaching us the names and lore associated with the trees was a highlight of the trip.
This certainly is a lovely place in which to spend a few days of downtime. My DH got to enjoy his favorite Scotch before dinner and I got to relax completely.
The only downsides are that lunch is not included and there are no stores or restaurants nearby so be sure to bring your own. And, the road is not deserving of the name road. It is a series of boulders, washouts and potholes so our aged backs took a beating. Sharyn and Jim are working on getting something done about the road from San Ignatio to Caracol but there is still 11 miles to travel to get to the lodge.
There are licensed tour guides at the Lodge so if you want to go on a tour, you can make arrangements right there.

NOTE: My only reservation in giving the Mariposa an excellent rating is the state of the road to get there, not the Lodge itself.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank tada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We are natives of Belize who have not been home for quite a number of years and decided to get in touch with our roots and ancestry. Mariposa provide the perfect atmosphere for my family - jungle, food, fauna and ruins. The sounds of jungle, the experience we had at the ruins as well as the mood of the lodge was just what we needed to appreciate where we came from. Jim and Sharyn were the perfect host and we felt so very special and at home. The lodge is the perfect size and you get all the attention you need from your host. Our car died upon arrival and Jim checked the car and made sure it worked while we went off to tour a cave. We plan to visit again and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelizeitAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge for our honeymoon. We were married in San Pedro Belize at Victoria House prior to this date. From the time I contacted Sharyn(one of the owners) we knew we made the right choice. Sharyn and Damian(our tour guide for most of the trip) picked us up from Belize City airport. They did everything possible to make certain our stay was everything we could imagine. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The owners, Sharyn and Jim really put their hearts into this place. The cabanas are very impressive and clean. We told Sharyn what we wanted to accomplish on our trip and she took care of composing an itinerary that included all that we wanted to do. We went on a jungle horse ride, tikal guatemala(day trip), rio caves,rio on pools. The food was delicous. The people were so kind.

I would suggest to stay overnight in guatemala, if you choose to go. It takes alot of energy to do a day trip. Tikal was great, but it would be great to go to Flores. I missed out on that.

If you are considering going to the jungle in Belize, Mariposa is the place to go. It was a truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tessann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

My wife and I spent 3 days/nights at Mariposa Jungle Lodge. The proprietors, Sharyn and Jim made the stay a wonderful experience. Not only is the staff friendly and helpful, but since this small lodge consists of 6 beautiful cabanas, the staff is able to provide lots of personal attention and concierge-type services, such as arranging various excursions for visitors. We opted for a trip to the Mayan Ruins in Caracol area, horseback ride and a canoe tour of a cave... Oh yes, and a trip to Boll's cave museum is definitely worth your time! If you're planning a trip to the San Ignacio area, we definitely recommend staying at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank world-jumper-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
384 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $217 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort nestled under the jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six luxury cabanas with air conditioning and wifi, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy local and international cuisine, full bar, and the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. Mariposa is well-located for tours to regional Maya archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing