We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Gaia Riverlodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
$189
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$545
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blancaneaux Lodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
$289
$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
$194
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windy Hill Resort(San Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
282
22
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
282
22
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip liningrio frio cavebig rock fallsatm cavescreened in porchbird watching towerbelize zoohorseback ridingfood preferencesnature trailriver tubingmayan ruinsmosquito nettinghis brotherbutterfly ranchlikes and dislikesvisited caracol
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 311 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have traveled all over the world except the middle east. As you know, most vacation spots have hordes of people. Not here. This facility is so beautiful, right in the rain forest. The tranquility is hypnotizing. The owners and staff are at your disposal 24/7. No phones,televisions or radios. Heaven it is. The staff will make all of your excursion reservations, and drive you to and fro. Everyone is so nice, knowledgeable and obviously in love with their location on this earth. We are not young, ages from 63 to 82. There were 4 of us. We went zip lining, canoeing in a underground cave, horseback riding, Belize zoo and to the butterfly garden, and yes you have done all of these things before, right, but not like this. The beauty is mesmerizing. Many activities for young and old alike. Hope I have helped you to select an unbelievable experience. Happy travels. Rita and Ron Bernot

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 40th birthdays together with a trip to Belize and we stayed at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. As most our vacations in the past have been to ski resorts, Caribbean Islands or Kids theme parks, we wanted to try something different. We were looking for a bit of adventure while still having a relaxed vacation experience. Mariposa looked promising and ultimately proved to be a great fit. We had questions prior to booking our trip and Sharon was extremely responsive and eager to help to tailor our vacation experience to our wishes. There were so many interesting choices for the excursions, but we were able to build an itinerary that worked great for us.
After a long day of traveling, transferring flights and waiting in customs, we were greeted by our guide and driver Damian. Over the following week, we found that Damian and his brother and fellow guide Agusto were fantastic ambassadors of the country, showing us the history, culture and of course the adventure we were looking for.
Our first day trip was to the Caracol Ruins. An early morning departure time started us on our two hour journey to the Caracol ruins site. We traveled through the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Preserve, a rugged and remote portion of the country which has an entirely unique ecosystem compared what we were used to seeing in our first day and a half in Belize. We had a brief stop at an overlook at Rio-on-Pools as well as small walking tour at Rio-on Caves. Although Rio on caves was a quick waypoint stop, it really set the tone for what we were expecting to see: incredible natural wonders that can only be seen in this part of the world.
Over the next few hours, we were able to explore the site without any boundaries. Climbing on the temples as the Mayans once did let us really experience the site. Fantastic views were provided from the top of the highest temple. There were only a few other groups at the park so except for when we were at the picnic area, we felt as though we had the park to ourselves. A close up look at a group of Howler Monkeys and great picnic lunch from Mariposa topped off our visit.
Another adventure included ATM cave. First you wade through 2 rivers during the 45 minute hike to the entrance. There is a short swim to get into the cave which was large, however I was nervous about the tight areas. I found the once in a lifetime experience outweighed the fear I had. The 2.5 hour trek in the cave had me swimming and climbing but ended with a look back at the untouched past deep within the cave. Our tour guide gave us so much information into the history of this area and the Mayan life. This excursion made the trip the adventure we were hoping for! Other trips included the butterfly farm for cocktails(interesting, but could have done without), zipplining in the trees, and cavetubing.
The Mariposa Jungle Resort delivered in every way during our trip. The food for breakfast, lunch and dinner were all fabulous dishes of the culture. The meals are customized to your likes and any food preferences can be accommodated by the wonderful staff. The bungalows are quaint and the perfect size to relax and unwind after a long day. There is a hammock on the screened in porch to see the jungle and hear nature nearby. The pool is a lovely touch as well as all the plants and flowers.
We took several strolls on the trails that lead to the bird tower and Mayan ruins on the property. It is evident that Sharon and Jim love this area and want to make sure that every visitor takes away the love of the Belizian culture and jungle.
We highly recommend this resort for the relaxation away from it all, but mostly because it is located centrally to all the attractions, the food is delicious and the hosts and their resort are welcoming. If you are hoping for adventure, you will experience it here in such a beautiful country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and equally perfect. They are private no matter which one you get.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thank you to Sharon and her team at Mariposa, my husband and I had a wonderful Birthday weekend. A time away from the beaches of Belize to Mariposa Jungle Lodge was heaven in Belize! From our wonderful room, our own Jungle Cabana, to the amazing meals, then a great adventure to Caracol (thank you to our very knowledgeable guide Damian - thank goodness there was no quiz as we learned so much that day!). The first day we had a tour of the property with Eric, then a welcome drink at the pool, a quick hike around the property and a delightful end to the day was an amazing three course meal....Oh so good food! Day two up early to another amazing meal breakfast before our adventure to Caracol. A full day away with Damian, our guide, and so much history....of course we had a great lunch sent along for us! Then back to our lovely room for a shower and ready for dinner. Again a wonderful meal ending with "Happy Birthday" sung by all and birthday cake for me. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. You just can't ask for more. There really were so many small touches, on top of the exceptional beauty of the resort and knowledgeable welcoming staff, I can't hope to mention them all in this review. You will have to go to Mariposa and find your piece of heaven in the jungles of Belize. I do not hesitate to send you to Mariposa Jungle Lodge, go enjoy and make sure to book your tours with them as well....they will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! All of the staff and tour guides were incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. It was the perfect combination of adventure and relaxation. We hope to go again!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My family and I took a trip to Belize Summer 2013, and I am so happy we decided to stay at the Mariposa Lodge. Our family isn't a beach family- and wanted to stay away from the Cayes. The help of the staff and owners really made this trip easy and fun! The staff went out of their way to ensure their guests enjoyed their stay. The owners made trips and recommendations based on each family's interest.

We stayed in two cabins - Puma and Iguana - and found them quite cozy and well stocked (coke, water, belikin). Even more impressive when you learn the staff built all the wonderful furniture in the room themselves! The lodge has a nice hiking trail with a bird tower, a pool, plenty of hammocks, and small gift shop with lovely locally made pieces in it. The dinners and breakfasts were wonderfully made, different and unique each day. Dinners were three courses every night. My favorite was a clear night where we had BBQ style dinner served by the pool! Meal times were good to meet other travelers at the lodge.

The tours they offer are easy in terms of organizing, just sign up! They provide water and meals (tasty ones too!) and tours remain small and personal. Our guide Damien was amazing, he is knowledgeable and in the rare instance he didn't have an answer sought it out and told us the next day! Would highly recommend going to the Happy Hour at Green Hills butterfly ranch.

My family loved staying at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge, would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews