We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant near Fondation Beyeler”

Wiesengarten Musetti
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Riehen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Grimentz, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant near Fondation Beyeler”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located a 5 minute walk from the Fondation Beyeler. We went on a beautiful spring day for lunch and the setting is very pretty amongst the meadows and trees laden with blossom. There is a courtyard where you can eat outside, but as it was a bit breezy we decided to sit inside. The interior is bright, airy and welcoming with lots of natural light. We had a light pasta lunch - home made pasta, followed by home-made orange ice-cream. All delicious. Not cheap, but a lovely place to go before or after visiting the Fondation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Wiesengarten is by far the best Italian restaurant in the Basel area... I have never had a bad meal. We had the 6 course "surprise" menu today, where every dish was just amazing... The highlight if the meal were the scallops with strawberry chutney: what an amazing combination of flavours. The service is always very good: friendly and "family style" and professional at the same time. And I just like the look of the restaurant, with the white floors and walls and a lot of light. A must try in Basel. Limited parking can be an issue, and of course the restaurant is a little off the beaten path...which is also part of the charm.

Helpful?
1 Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Italian delight”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I simply love the carpaccio di polipo, the great wine selection and the friendly service

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank turtle-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Superbe Italian Restaurant at great value”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The atmosphere is very welcoming, charming in hosts and excellent food (try the carpaccio di polipo, my favorite dish!). The wine-list is great, not only mainstream with very fair prices. Given it is very close to the Fondation Beyeler, I suggest you first enjoy one of the most beautiful museums in the world and enjoy thereafter the fine Italian cuisine at Musetti's Wiesengarten.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtle-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The lack of sufficient parking spots in this remote location was the first turnoff. Service seemed somewhat stressed out and the food was way below what an establishment such as this ought to deliver. Carpaccio was still frozen, Risotto lacked seasoning and the dessert was a looser. Generally speaking, the place is technically ok but lacks a bit of soul and passion. Nearby Basel has a whole lot of better altermnatives at this price level.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ghosteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiesengarten Musetti also viewed

Riehen, Canton of Basel
Riehen, Canton of Basel
 
Lorrach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Wiesengarten Musetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing