We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing location wonderful beach family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing location wonderful beach family holiday”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were 14 members of the same family to celebrate the 75th birthday of Grandmother. We have rent this villa because of the amazing location and i think it was the best choice. We had all the house just for us, it was probably the best holiday we had all our family together. The 7 rooms are neat, nicely decorated, ac very silent. The area is so peaceful, great great long beach to spend time a real paradise. There is the city of Matara very near, many places to eat as well but we preferred to order food from the villa that were so tasteful and affordable, good service also, room cleaning everyday, staff helpful to organize our trips with their big van, very great driver! Our 10 days vacation have gone really too fast, i wish we will come back again and warmly recommend the villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thanks very much to have taken time to write such a nice review, we are very happy that you appreciated the quality of our place and service, the exceptional location offering an unspoiled beach with still having all facilities nearby and the city of Matara reachable also by feet, wishing to see you again very soon, bye bye
the Team, Anna and Baghia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjack2010...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful swimming pool and beach”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The villa is right on Meddawatta beach so awesome and not rough, good for lovely swim. Rooms are neat and clean, all sea facing. AC working very well and silent, it was brand new i think, dinners were excellent, staff pretty helpful to advice about trips, we have rent a van from there to go around, good place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thanks very much for the nice review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay, we have fully renovated the place in April 2016 so AC are brand new as you noticed, we have a cook to prepare home made meals, and we can rent vehicles with drivers for your excursions that we help you to organize as you wish and according to your budget, hoping to see you again bye bye!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mluigi129
Province of Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful beach holiday”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

+ Lovely spot with a great view over the sea, beautiful swimming pool, comfortable AC rooms with en suite bathrooms this was really a plus as we were 4 couples.

Long and large beach in front of the villa where we could swim and play ball

Great food cooked by the chief, many choices sri lankan food, Chinese, BBQ, different everyday so finally we had all our meals there as it was for reasonable prices too.

Wifi working very well even in the bedroom

Only minus is no credit card payment on the site but it was not an issue as matara city is only few minutes away

So overall a fantastic holiday we strongly recommend the place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tutto
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Thanks very much for the nice review, our chief is very glad that you have enjoyed his cooking, he always does his best to make guests happy, wish to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
july f
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic holiday in paradise”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

It is the perfect location for a beach holiday. On our arrival we were very impressed by the amazing panoramic view, the deserted beach, the immaculate pool, the beautiful tropical garden, the beautiful house well arranged, the nice people and specially the quietness. The house is surrounded by nature, no road noise. It was so easy to move around there are tuktuks parked all the time on main road and the city is near, we had some great shopping better than anywhere else in Sri Lanka. Baghia brought to us some meals that we have ordered from their menu, it was so cheap and good comparing to other beaches where we have eaten. We finally find their take away system so much cheaper and easier than buying food and cook though there are groceries nearby few meters away. Their menu has a really big choice and we just needed to order one hour before, so we didn’t have to think about our food and just relax that is what I call a holiday! And such an incredible experience to have a beach for us alone while other touristic beaches in south coast are so crowded!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2015
Thanks very much for the nice review, we are very happy that you had a great time and wish to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exceptional place for a beach holiday”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Great great place really deserves a 5 stars review. Nothing to complain, just pity we didn’t stay more, we have done an organized trip before and stayed there only 4 nights that is not enough.
Sri lanka is a nice country to discover but this place is really exceptional. Difficult to find as much unspoilt beach anywhere else in this world but still so easy to reach and move around as it is near the city of Matara. Best beach we found in sri Lanka. If you are a nature lover should not hesitate to book immediately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, location, house, people
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thanks very much for the nice review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday in our place, hoping to see you again, bye bye
Baghia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fkac
Oxted
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing outside, tired inside”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I've struggled to know what to say on this property. We wavered between 3 and four. I don't think we have any regrets staying there but I think it is fair to say we didn't think , on balance, the description was accurate. We have put our comments as follows:

Positives:
The outside is truly wonderful. They have a beautiful garden, beautiful pool and the direct access to the beach. The beach is truly glorious- it was busy when there were eight other people there (at the other end of a mile long section) and you truly felt you had your own paradise. The pool was also great and it was wonderful looking out over the beach from the pool. The housekeeping was great and it was very easy to get transport from the villa.

Negatives:
I don't feel the description is fair. We only ever saw two bedrooms. I believe the third was on the ground level BUT due to way the house is laid out we could never have used the third. Essentially you have the garden, a ground floor loo and outside dining area, a third bedroom (it was a locked door) and then stairs up to a lockable first floor. Ie a flat. As such we couldn't have used the third room as it would have meant one of the children, or us, in a room with separate access. In the end the boys, not used to sharing a bed , woke up every night and we ended up splitting and sharing rooms with the kids.

The owners the live on the top floor in a flat. I actually think the layout could be great for some people - you could have teenagers or grandparents on the ground floor and I think they should sell this way. I think they have focused on selling it as a villa which I dont feel is truly accurate- you don't lock separate bits of a villa. I also think saying "food available" is somewhat disingenuous. I was hoping to be able to order local food; essentially there is a Chinese menu (and i understand Chinese food is very embedded) that you can order off and have a takeaway.....I would prefer to be able to order sri lankan curries to noodles and I think the description should say takeaways available in case other people make same presumptions.

I am still confused as to what to say in summary. I think it is a great outdoors, a less great indoors but I think my biggest gripe is the description. There is lots to sell with the outdoors; it is a truly amazing place BUT they need to explain how the house works more. If we had turned up with three small children it would have been a nightmare. That said I cannot rave enough about the deserted beach and the happiness we had in sitting in the pool overlooking the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
This review of 2015 doesn't describe anymore our place. We have done full renovation, and keep the villa maintained, to have a best holiday in our exceptional location.

We are renting the full villa with exclusive use for your group. There is staff always on site: a manager, a cook, a house maid and a night guard to care about your needs.

Our food service also has been improved: you can choice food from our menu, made from fresh ingredients (no take away available) or buy ingredients and our cook will prepare it.

Owners can be contact at anytime by phone, email...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjeanne17
Liege, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: l'endroit, les chambres, la piscine, la plage
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Merci beaucoup pour votre gentille revue en espérant vous revoir une autre fois dans notre villa! Anna, Baghia et le personnel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing