We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to have vacation”
Review of Nawathana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nawathana Hotel
Ranked #45 of 193 Matara B&B and Inns
Kandy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place to have vacation”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The place is in Matara Fort, The A/C room is Comfortable & Clean. Satellite TV available. I have stayed 1 night. the price is reasonable. The manager, Mr.Nihal Ganhewage was very helpful. we had string hoppers for dinner. it was tasty. the room boy is very nice and pleasant.recommended for others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKumaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The place is located within the Matara Fort, with 7 rooms. Comfortable, Clean with AC and Satellite TV. Rooms are well designed, i have to say absolutely worth the price we paid for it. The manager, Mr.Nihal was very pleasant and helpful. Would not hesitate to return to this place.

Room Tip: Only one room has Sea View, which is not very spectacular. But rooms are luxurious and worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalindadef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a small place which is located next to the ocean. it has 7 rooms only so if you are looking for privacy , this is the place for you. the owner is very nice. the pool is rather small and the hotel is using a near by restaurant for dinners and breakfasts. the service at this restaurant is very slow

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We are here now, just ate a super tasty, nice and clean rice and curry with red rice. Nihal, the manager is seating with us and sharing information about Matara and sourrondings. All of this with an amazing view on the ocean. We have checked the rooms also: clean, elegant, hot water, satellite tv, wifi. The place is small and private. You can really enjoy and appreciate nature an peace. Strongly advised if you pass by Matara!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ELuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When visited down-south found this place. It's a really a good place to stay with family. Clean rooms and calm environment. Kids enjoyed the pool but i wish if there were more spacious even for adults too, There were wi-fi and it was really useful. Had our lunch at there and it was great and reasonable. Sea front surrounding with nicer view. Staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharithaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nawala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stumbled across this place when the place we booked at Weherahena was a disaster. After coming here and seeing the rooms we were really happy with the cleanliness of the place its appearance. The property is a vertical strip of land within the Matara Fort and is located right next to the beach. We reserved 5 rooms as we had a party of 10 and all rooms had four post beds. AC were available in some rooms and the Non-Ac rooms were pretty hot at night. Cable TV and wifi was also available although wifi connection didn't succeed. The food was brilliant, probably the best sri lankan food I have had in a while. The staff is very helpful, the Manager Nihal was always concerned about our comfort. In addition they allowed us have our own BBQ (our grill) while they marinated the meats for us.

Overall a brilliant place which is close to the city and only a 15 minute drive to Polhena Beach. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are facing the sea. But ask for an AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is situated directly at the ocean. When I arrived, I had to clean the toilet first because there were fresh urine dots on the toilet seat. The flush was also not working right away. Although it provides free internet, I wasn't able to connect. There was a problem that couldn't be fixed during my stay. The room itself is fine, the bed comfortable and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
1.8 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#6 of 19 in Matara
133 reviews
7.8 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#4 of 13 in Weligama
301 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 32 in Midigama
26 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
10.8 mi away
Dolce Vita Surf Rest Point
Dolce Vita Surf Rest Point
#2 of 24 in Midigama
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nawathana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nawathana Hotel

Property: Nawathana Hotel
Address: No 15 Sri Dharmarama Mawatha | Fort, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nawathana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nawathana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nawathana Hotel Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing