We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place”
Review of Nawathana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nawathana Hotel
Ranked #42 of 212 Matara B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When visited down-south found this place. It's a really a good place to stay with family. Clean rooms and calm environment. Kids enjoyed the pool but i wish if there were more spacious even for adults too, There were wi-fi and it was really useful. Had our lunch at there and it was great and reasonable. Sea front surrounding with nicer view. Staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharithaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stumbled across this place when the place we booked at Weherahena was a disaster. After coming here and seeing the rooms we were really happy with the cleanliness of the place its appearance. The property is a vertical strip of land within the Matara Fort and is located right next to the beach. We reserved 5 rooms as we had a party of 10 and all rooms had four post beds. AC were available in some rooms and the Non-Ac rooms were pretty hot at night. Cable TV and wifi was also available although wifi connection didn't succeed. The food was brilliant, probably the best sri lankan food I have had in a while. The staff is very helpful, the Manager Nihal was always concerned about our comfort. In addition they allowed us have our own BBQ (our grill) while they marinated the meats for us.

Overall a brilliant place which is close to the city and only a 15 minute drive to Polhena Beach. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are facing the sea. But ask for an AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is situated directly at the ocean. When I arrived, I had to clean the toilet first because there were fresh urine dots on the toilet seat. The flush was also not working right away. Although it provides free internet, I wasn't able to connect. There was a problem that couldn't be fixed during my stay. The room itself is fine, the bed comfortable and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scailly94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nawathana H, Manager at Nawathana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sven_SOL_Olsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank claudia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matara
0.0 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 34 in Midigama
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
0.0 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#9 of 20 in Matara
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Surf Lanka Resort
The Surf Lanka Resort
#8 of 34 in Midigama
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nawathana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nawathana Hotel

Address: No 15 Sri Dharmarama Mawatha | Fort, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Price Range: $29 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nawathana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nawathana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nawathana Hotel Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing