We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect backpackers home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Matara
Certificate of Excellence
Batticaloa, null, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“perfect backpackers home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's such a nice place which offers you opportunities that I haven't found elsewhere in all Sri Lanka: a comfortable, neat dorm-room for a very low price and Breakfast included (there are also single or double rooms though!) and the possibility to cook for yourself, or together with other guests in the common kitchen. We also watched a movie in the living-room downstairs, could use the computer and the internet for free... We were provided everything we could possible need (stuff to make our laundry, ...) and the owners are very kind, welcoming and put all their effort to be helpful! You can see that they really want you to have a good time.
also cool to have a big terrace where to eat and watch the gigantic turtles in the water and a cool living room just for the guests!

Room Tip: well, for those who are on low budget the dorm room is absolutely suggestable. There are only four b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilariacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
22
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for an authentic guesthouse specialized for world-know travellers and you like to be in a non-touristic place this is where you got to be! The guesthouse is clean, cozy and located near the sea where you can see many many turtles. The Dutch family is very nice, friendly and helpfull. I had a great week there and I would love to come back again. Definately advise this place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Tropi Turtle Guesthouse. I stayed two times during my time in Sri Lanka for about a week each time. That was in the beginning of 2013 (Jan-Feb) and they had recently opened.
The ocean is right across the street, so you can hear the waves and the sea, which I really enjoyed. The prices are fair and include a small breakfast. It's not much, but at least there is a coffee and a pancake in the morning which is definitely a reason to get up.
The owners are Dutch and very friendly. Adrian even joined me and another guest one night to go to Mirissa which was fun!
If there is a good swell, one can surf right in front of the Guesthouse, the wave can be seen from balcony. There is also a good wave a bit further west...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This guesthouse is right by the ocean. It is owned and run by a Dutch family. Matara might be busy and crowded but it is very peaceful here in Polhena Beach. There is a sandy beach just 10 minutes walk west of the guesthouse. When I arrived in Matara bus station, I called them up and they sent a 3-wheeler to pick me up from the station. There is a small communal kitchen upstairs. However, I highly recommend the hostess's cooking. Ester is very helpful and her family is very easy-going. I stayed in the double room and the bed is extremely comfortable. I got the total relaxation that I was hoping for after 11 days of hurried sightseeing in the north.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidelisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our stay at Tropi Turtle was so wonderful that we definitely come back as soon as we are in Matara again. Ester and Adrian are warm-hearted and very friendly people and their son a pleasure to meet! The rates they charge are absolutely reliable, even a small breakfast is included! We highly appreciate that they give backpackers such a nice opportunity to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.6 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#7 of 17 in Matara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#6 of 17 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
T.K. Green Garden Hotel
T.K. Green Garden Hotel
#12 of 17 in Matara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Inns
Beach Inns
#4 of 167 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Culture Resort
Culture Resort
#7 of 167 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sayuri Beach Hotel
Sayuri Beach Hotel
#38 of 185 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropi Turtle Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Turtle Guesthouse

Property: Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
Address: 122 Beachroad, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Matara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tropi Turtle Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing