We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place near the ocean”
Review of Rest House Matara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rest House Matara
Ranked #36 of 192 Matara B&B and Inns
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really nice place near the ocean”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went here with my family for dinner, twice. Good service, reasonable price, and good food. Location is nice and relaxing. it has a colonial appearance to it... The only downside was, they didn't allow guests to have their beer in the veranda tables, where it was really nice to spend some quality relaxing time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarshaM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed there one night before getting on the train to Colombo. Very good situation, near the main bus station/city, but in a quiet zone next to the beach, perfect for short stay in town. Nice and clean rooms in colonial style at a very reasonable price (I had fan/mosquito net, w/o AC). As doors point to the inner courtyard and restaurant, could be a little loud in the evening.
Very nice food at the restaurant, thanks for respecting my food allergies on preparing curry for sri lankan breakfast for me! Nice and helpful staff and manager. On my next visit to Matara I would definitely go there again.

don't miss a visit at the little temple on the island vis a vis of the Rest House, special atmosphere in the very early morning time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sathya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at Rest House Matara for one night on my way to Yala National Park. The gorgeous colonial style building is a popular wedding venue. Its beach location is beautiful and quiet. Matara bus station is a stone throw away and the town center is in walking distance. The restaurant offers delicious meals and the staff is superfriendly and helpful. Communication can be a bit tough as not all staff speaks English that well, but there will always be one around to help out. The rooms are basic, but clean - at an unbeatable rate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfoersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo , Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

its great place to relaxing in Matara city. Very calm & quite place as good environment. Good service and staff are very friendly.It has long history since Dutch & English period. You can reach the Matara city within 05 minute and shopping. arranging transport if our own request as well as whale watching and tours. Room interior are very attractive & dutch type wooden. Specially it has extra ordinary fan in the main restaurant also an attractive. We got valuable memories there belongs to long ara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are planning to stay in Matara, Rest House Matara is the best place for the buck. Situated extremely close to the amazing beach and looking at the beautiful pigeon island, this hotel has been there since the queens time. Created around 17th century this hotel is a good location to have a sip of their iconic Ceylon Tea. As I was living in Matara I remember 2004 Tsunami break this place apart but now it has been reconstructed again without hurting its historic look. Well the rooms are big and clean, staff is very friendly (as most of the people in Matara) . If you are riding towards Kataragama or Yala Wild Reserve this is a good stop by to rest and have your lunch or tea. If you are staying here do not forget to check out the amazing beach (with exceptionally soft shore sand) and the Monastery in the pigeon island.

Room Tip: Facing beach of course , if you are lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great staff, clean room and peaceful location. Strong historical/ colonial heritage. Nice courtyard layout and large veranda to relax on listening to the sound of the waves.
Popular wedding venue too!
Had a chat with the general manager who's a nice chap..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stopped at Matara Rest House for cups of Ceylon tea. It has long history beginning in the year 1780 as part of Matara Fort. The Rest House was newly reconstructed following damage in the 2004 Tsunami with Dutch type furniture and extraordinary historic photos hanging on the walls giving historic information. I took wheel photos of wagons in the yard but most intriguing were the wheels which operated ceiling fans in their formal dining area. A very interesting place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_2hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.0 mi away
T.K. Green Garden Hotel
T.K. Green Garden Hotel
#13 of 18 in Matara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#16 of 18 in Matara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#6 of 18 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nawathana Hotel
Nawathana Hotel
#54 of 192 in Matara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest House Matara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest House Matara

Property: Rest House Matara
Address: Fort, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rest House Matara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing