We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no problems with snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunil Rest Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 208 Matara B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went in august an have a great time with nishanta who is a good man. I thing if you had such problem you should complain to the police and not write some thing like that in internet....Nishanta and is family are very friendly and welcome and i doubt that you strory is true

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank maiasocrate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Sunil's guest house is located in a small village road with gardens surrounding. It's only a 2 minute walk to the sea front of a nice small beach. The room is basic but clean. Sunil is friendly and very helpful. Being once a tour guide, he is very willing and capable to answer almost all questions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Because of heavy rains in the center of Sri Lanka we had to change our travel plans. We hoped to find some sunshine and dry weather on the south coast. We did and more than that :)!
We saw Sunil's Guest House mentioned in the Lonely Planet book and thought to give it a try. It turned out to be a very good choice!
The rooms are very simple but great for the money you have to pay (around 10 euro for a double room). The rooms are situated on the ground floor of the house and have all things insite you might need. The owner and his wife, Sunil and Eureka, are the two friendliest people I have ever met! They help you with everything.
The house is situated in a quiet area of Matare, between tropical gardens, just a few minutes from the beach. You have the local beach but when you walk a little bit further you find some more beautiful beaches where we often were the only two ;)!
Sunil serves breakfast in the morning if you want. For only 2 euro you get a big pot of tea or coffee, omelets, fresh fruit, toasted bread and marmelade.
You can also order for dinner in the evening; they make everything you ask for.
Next doors, at his parent's house you can use the internet for 0,42 euro an hour and his brother organises snorkling trips if you are interested.
We think it is a great place to enjoy the real Sri Lankan village life.
In the near future Sunil, also has a more luxerious guesthouse, next to the beach. All rooms with sea view. They were building it when we were there but it will be finished soon I think and looks wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank servatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sylvain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Yan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank khanhigoufake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 34 in Midigama
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#9 of 20 in Matara
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Weligama
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Culture Resort
Culture Resort
#6 of 20 in Matara
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunil Rest Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunil Rest Guest House & Restaurant

Address: 16 3a 2nd Crossroads | Polhenna, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Price Range: $13 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunil Rest Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunil Rest Guest House & Restaurant Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing