We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super chill, cheap and handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ravana Ridge Polhena
Ranked #96 of 207 Matara B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Not much else to say but this is the cheapest place we found and the location is really perfect.. so quiet and amazing beaches 100m to the left and right when you walk out the door. You'll find zero other tourist in either direction and occasionally some locals. The locals are not so used to tourists in this area and are incredibly friendly, you can't pass someone without them saying hello. I recommend walking to the main road, it's very pleasant compared to unawatuna /mirissa. Also if you're on a budget you can take a local school-style bus every 2mins to mirissa (20rp /person) which is a good day trip. Every time we heard a gathering while walking to/from the main street at people's homes we peaked in and were promptly invited to join so there were few boring walks. The rooms are not impressive by any means but clean and comfortable, we didn't need a/c in jan, fan was plenty. Iroshan the receptionist is an amazingly friendly host and happily provides anything you like without hesitation. No complaints.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Shaelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

very nice staff in the hotel and quite delicious food, and, of course, beautiful landscape. Indeed, you can see the sea when you stand up in the yard and every night you fall asleep with the sound of the waves, which is fantasic!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XIAOCHUAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a one night stop in Polhena before we headed to Mirissa for whale watching and we stayed at the Ravana Ridge after booking it last minute on Agoda. The hotel was very easy to find and the owner was very friendly and warmly welcomed us when we arrived. The location was good, there are a few bars and restaurants up and down the stretch and it’s very chilled out.

Our room was basic, exactly what we were after with mozzie nets around the beds and a private bathroom. We both had double beds as well which was really nice especially after we had been travelling for an extended period of time and had a nice chilled out rest.

We also had forgotten our plug convertor and the hotel provided us with one without a charge. The staff were very friendly and were happy to help if we needed anything which was great.

Would definitely recommend as a nice little stop in Polhena beach for a very good value place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

At usd sixteen booked through Agoda on the web, this is a bit of a no-brainer if it's your first visit to Polhena, and especially if you are arriving late in the day. Rooms are basic, and there's little atmosphere, but the owner is welcoming and there's little to complain about. His wife cooked us good rice-and-curry, decent price, and it gave us a chance to look around.

It might suit you for longer, but my wife likes her snorkelling on the door, and easy access - failed the latter test. So three stars really, but worth the fourth for convenience and the willing owner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broughhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Ravana Ridge Polhena; and your awesome feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, specially the food. We very much appreciate you recommending our guesthouse and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our down south hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The beach road is awash with many guesthouses. Iroshawn made every effort to be a attentive host. My budget room cost me a little over 10 USD for a fan room which was perfectly cool and comfortable for how freaking hot and strong the sun is. I think the rooms go up from there depending on how many occupants you require.

You need to order your food in advance, but everything is reasonably priced and Iroshawn will source you some beer, which, is hard to get so it seems.

I had great conversations with Iroshawn, who patiently sat with me and taught me useful phrases in Sinhalese. He is a rockstar of a host. Strong reliable WiFi and only a 5 minute walk to Polhena beach which is perfect with a little place to buy cigarettes, snacks and soft drinks.

You can also borrow a bicycle to take a ride into Matara. It should cost between 150 -300 LKR to get to Polena from the Matara train station.

If I were to return to Polhena, I wouldn't mess around and just go straight to Ravana Ridge. :D

Room Tip: The budget room has an interior outdoor area (like a skylight but behind a glass door) that lets lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Ravana Ridge Polhena; and your gracious and very kind commendation on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, services. We very much appreciate you recommending our guesthouse and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our "Hospitality from the Heart". we are definitely looking forward to see you back at our property very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I really had a great time at Ravana Ridge. Iroshan and the staff are really friendly. There is free wi-fi and a laptop to use if you haven't brought one or forgotten the leads like me. The food is fantastic. People come from the other guest houses to eat here, especially the famous spaghetti bolognese which is as good as it gets. Iroshan also put on a barbecue banquet one night which was amazing.
My Primary reason for going to Sri lanka was for wildlife photography and I was delighted to find turtles in the shallow sea just outside the hotel They seemed to prefer this area, just away from the main beach. It wasn't long before I took to the water for some snorkelling and was rewarded with some great underwater turtle shots. There is also a myriad of tropical fish on and around the reef a few yards from the guest house gates.The surrounding area is rich in all types of beautiful birds and butterflies. There was even a pair of mating Bengal monitors on the rocks out front!
Whale watching tours can be arranged through Ravana ridge at a competitive price, I went twice and I would definitely recommend it. The boats used are clean and responsible and as a result I saw 20-25 Blue whales (I can't believe I lost count), 2 pods of Spinner dolphins and 2 pairs of mating turtles. The trip includes a generous breakfast but you may see it again a short time later. A little sea sickness is a small price to pay for a very special experience and I slept on the 2 hour steam out the second time and wasn't ill at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRoughley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iroshank, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Ravana Ridge Polhena; and your gracious commendation on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, services and of course the food. We very much appreciate you recommending our guesthouse and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our down south hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Léonie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.3 mi away
Culture Resort
Culture Resort
#6 of 20 in Matara
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#7 of 20 in Matara
147 reviews
7.6 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#7 of 128 in Weligama
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blooming Polhena Hotel
Blooming Polhena Hotel
#21 of 207 in Matara
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
#124 of 207 in Matara
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sayuri Beach Hotel
Sayuri Beach Hotel
#40 of 207 in Matara
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravana Ridge Polhena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravana Ridge Polhena

Address: 124/A, Polhena Road | Polhena, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Price Range: $14 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal destination for your stay, relax to your heart's content, have peace of mind with our super class rooms and service staff and your party, business meeting, wedding, or any type of event. Facing the picturesque Indian Ocean with delicious dishes which will satisfy your every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ravana Ridge Polhena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravana Ridge Polhena Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing