We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Sri Lanka”
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #112 of 208 Matara B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one week. The hotel has back his old owner and everything is great! Rooms are clean, food is great, hotel is clean and what a view! If you want to feel like in a paradise, accomodate here! If you have special wish, they are happy that they can fullfill it. The staff with the owner are all helpfull and great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent one night at the Panorama and found it a lovely location. It is not an expensive place to stay, but I believe it is a value for what you are spending. The views are very good, there is a walk down to a very quiet beach, and a pool. The rooms are large, and clean with air con. The restaurant does not offer a huge selection, but the food is good and not expensive. Overall, it was a good experience. One warning: we wore white clothing into the pool and everything was rust stained and ruined when we left. This was not a huge deal to us, but just a warning to wear dark colors!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were given extra discount for early booking and say many thanx for that. The place and the view is really fantastic, probably the best location in Sri Lanka. The beach is amazing, 800 meters long, but sometimes not very clean. Although you are almost along on this beach.
Things which need to be improved:
- room service - we were forced to ask for towels change and room cleaning, since it was not done at the regular basis at all
- food - if you will be almost alone in the hotel - don't count on diverse breakfasts and dinners. But when hotel is crowded the choice of meals is good. As for us - the meals were overspiced sometimes.
- The TV didn't work at all.
We wish all the best to hotel owners and personnel and will be missing this magic place on hill

Room Tip: choose 2nd floor to avoid any beasts :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

To give them credit, we were the first guests of either a new owner or temporary owner, not sure which. The place is hard to find and you trek up a rocky, muddy slope of a driveway to get to it. We could tell the view at midnight (when we finally arrived) was going to be great. Turns out, probably the best of the entire island. Once we got into the room though, we could smell an odor of staleness and old unwashed bedding on a very uncomfortable mattress. We also instantly noticed a trail of ants marching from the bathroom, meeting another army of ants at the front door then carry on through the room to the back door frame. This took place the entire time we were there (3 nights) and we did not want to disturb them so they would remain in their line and not scatter through the room. There were no towels or toiletries, however the owner provided those at request, unfortunately that included a half used bottle of shower gel and 2 towels. The food was not very good and looked nothing like the pictures posted here. If you need water or anything else, you must get a tuk-tuk to town, (recommend bringing a big bottle of water and snacks along, b/c there is no kitchen or coke machine for convenience).The most disappointing part is, they have the food to be eaten outside, which is definitely where you would want to eat with the view, however they have no fans. Which means - FLIES. We are pretty laid back and adaptable people, so we didn't say anything, but we had to swat at flies swarming our food. This wasn't like 3 or 4 flies, I'm talking dozens. There were no options for food, the first morning we were served eggs and toast (our son is allergic to eggs, so he had toast and water). 2nd morning similar, but it also included yogurt and juice for my son. There was also a spider the size of my hand in the bathroom, but that's not surprising in the jungle. My son also got bit by something pretty intense while walking near the pool b/c the grass was not mowed/trimmed near the pool. It came to his waist and our knees. I really wanted to rate this place high as the lady running the place was very nice, but overall, I feel the need to warn future tourists and/or provide our experience to the owner so things can be improved. We were informed we were the first guests, so the previous reviews do not apply. The pics of the rooms are only similar b/c of the room, they were not nearly as neat and presentable. There were many places much cheaper in the area as well as throughout the country of Sri Lanka, though to be clear, this may have the best view of the entire island. The owner did say she was bringing in help to improve the facility and services. This will go a long way, the place could be fantastic, though the location is a bit far from anything other than the view.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jaguarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have no chance,only say EXCELENT ! Amazing place to build hotel there, wonderful view around country side, beach without tourist, blue sky and blue ocean ... and that kitchen ! Originally Sri Lankan cuisen, special fish and prawns ... I think this hotel order everything what europien people are looking for - comfortable rooms, tasty meal, friendly, still smiling staff, time without stress, send's beach, blue ocean, palms tree, villages people... I rekomend this hotel everyone ...

Maria, Czech Republic

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I really love this hotel and Talalle beach! We stayed at Panorama Hotel 5 nights in februari 2010. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the beautiful Talalle beach. At the time we were almost alone at the hotel and often alone at the beach, even though there´s 3 other (at least) hotels on the beach. Every hotel in Talalla are behind the trees, like Unawatuna was before Tsunamin, This makes the place so beautiful. We had breakfast and dinner inkluded. It´s a very good choice because theré´s not so many places in Tallalle village to choose anyway to eat. Panorama Hotel is a new fresh hotel with calm and relaxing atmosphere. This is the place I dream of when It´s snow in my country. The food was nice and they even made the fich when we went to fishmarket and bought our own big fish. The peronal i very friendly and helpful. There was a cold fruitdrink and flowers on the bed. Still the prices are moderate, look at the homesite for prices: http://www.panorama.lankabeach.com/cenik_en.htm halfboard double room 75 USD. It´s the best bargain we found when travelling around Sri Lanka for 2 weeks. It´s really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NinaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank LinaPeregontseva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matara
0.8 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahena
Hotel Mahena
#2 of 5 in Talalla
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Talalla Bay Beach Boutique Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jasmine Resort Thalalla
Jasmine Resort Thalalla
#6 of 10 in Talalla
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freedom Resort
Freedom Resort
#3 of 10 in Talalla
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Talalla Beach Bungalows
Talalla Beach Bungalows
#4 of 10 in Talalla
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Address: Mahahena kanda, 9/3 Naotunna | Talalla Bay, Kottegoda, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Matara
Price Range: $74 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panorama 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At hotel is own swimming pool and swimming pool’s bar. In bar we offer hot and cold drinks. Breakfast is served by smorgasboard. Restaurant with all day working is in Hotel Europe and Asian specialty. Wifi is available. At reception you can buy souvenir postcards, figurines, pendants. At playroom are many games - chess, arrows, table football. Hotel's taxi is available. In 12 km distant city Mátara is available scuba diving base. You can visit Saturday’s open-air market in 6 km distant city Dikwella. And you can visit near large nacional park Yalla. Nice rok’s temple Mulkirigalla is only 15 km of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panorama Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing