We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”
Review of Beach Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Inns
Ranked #6 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Matara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent much more time at Beach Inns than we planned at the beginning of our Sri Lankan adventure and we are on our way back there to celebrate the end of our journey and my birthday. It's a truly unique, quiet place which attracts nice, relaxed people. Fiona and Indika are wonderful-always helpful, always jolly and always making sure everyone is being taken care of! The food is great - fresh, delicious and always freshly made to order from scratch which is always important to us! The private beach is lovely- swimming by the sunrise just before the breakfast is just wonderful! We sent many people we met on our way to this fantastic place and we strongly recommend you give it to everyone!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anamcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 162 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Beach Inns is a great place to stop at, the owners are relaxed and friendly, the food is fantastic (try the string hoppers for breakfast and the giant prawns for your evening meal, you'll have a happy belly.)

The private beach area is really ideal, we were lucky enough to see a turtle laying eggs in our stay.

Overall this is the perfect spot.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank wildkindness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Beach Inns. The hotel owners are extremly nice. The rooms are clean and nice but not very big. This doesn't matter, because the terrace and the beach are so great, that you want to spend your day there... Food is delicious. It's a perfect place for parents with kids!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Inga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Beach Inns over Christmas this year and it was by far the best place we stayed in sri lanka. Fiona and indika the owners went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The food was amazing, especially the freshly caught red snapper! Our room was very clean and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony on to the private beach..something we were not expecting considering how reasonable the price was. If you are thinking of staying here, then do. It will make your holiday :-) Thank you Beach Inns for such a womderful stay!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stephaie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This was such a lovely place to spend Christmas 2013. The family that own the place are so friendly and happy to help. Rooms are lovely, big and clean with fab sea views. Food was amazing. Beach is lovely too and lots of wildlife in area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's perfect destination for solo-travellers, honeymooners and couples with kids! For everyone here doors are always open. Very friendly home-stay style resort with all facilities and proper infrastructure! Beach side is empty of crouds of people, good for snorkelling and sunset watch! "No problems" here everytime! Enjoy! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upa_opex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Beach Inns was the last stop for us in Sri Lanka. The location is perfect at the suburbs of Matara in a peace and quite area. The hotel is located by the ocean, has private beach and wonderful views. There are different types of room. Our was on the ground floor with an ocean view, with a bathroom and fan, which was just what we needed. The owners Fiona and her husband are great and helpful. We really enjoyed the stay in your place! I loved the fact that at the evening there were candles on the tables. Still have this image in my memories!
The only problem we got is that local people on the bus station didn't know where is it, even though we had address. Beach road on which the hotel is situated is divided, so you get it in other parts of the city. Fortunately one tuk tuk guy new where is it. If you want to walk to Matara it is 4 km one way. Tuk tuk to the city Rs 300 one way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matara hotels
0.2 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#8 of 20 in Matara
155 reviews
7 mi away
New Bay View Villa
New Bay View Villa
#5 of 142 in Weligama
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
#7 of 239 in Matara
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
421 reviews
8.9 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 34 in Midigama
31 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inns

Address: Beach Road | Madiha, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Matara
Price Range: $21 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Inns Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing