We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
villa
pool
villa
Paolo and Jacopo Cottages
villa
villa
garden view from terrace
pool
executive bedroom sleeps three
ocean front view
morningshining
house beach
executive bedroom sleeps three
kitchen
guest room
executive.JPG
Main kitchen
houseview
Morning light on villa terrace living
Polhena Beach 5 minutes walking from the villa
Villa private beach and rubber boat
Executive Room.JPG
executive bathroom.JPG
swinging bed double.JPG
Outdoor kitchen
breakfast
corner1
dining.JPG
executiveroom  from outside.JPG
kitchen roof
executiveview.JPG
flowers.JPG
guestroom from outside.JPG
house corner.JPG
house temple.JPG
terrace.JPG
guest room
guest room
guest room
guest room
guest room
executive bedroom sleeps three
guest room no 2 bathroom
sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Remi A
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed 4days in Deep Blue Villa after a 10 days trip all around Sri Lanka. We wanted to relax and we were not disappointed of our choice! The villa has a private garden away from the noise and with an amazing seaview. The manager Ruzaik made us feel at home as soon as we arrive. The staff of the villa couldn’t have been nicer with us preparing delicious sri lankan food and fresh grilled fish on the barbecue. We really missed them all. The pool is the best we have experiences in Sri Lanka. The garden is fitted with a superb suspended bed for your nap in the afternoon under the shade of a coconut tree. Air conditioned was not available but we had very good fan above our beds. If I had was negative comment to pick up it would be the quality of the mattresses that could be slightly improved but we still managed to get a good sleep. If you go to Matara or Mirissa, do not miss Deep Blue Villa. Matara beach is 10minutes away walking were you can experience beautiful turtles and sea snakes in the morning. Mirissa is only 20minutes away by tuk tuk.
We strongly recommend this place if you want to relax, eat delicious food and enjoy a superb tropical garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Thank You Remi for your comments regarding your stay with us at Deep Blue! We are very happy when our guests are satisfied! Maruz and Ruzaik
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorh358
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Could have been perfect”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here for two nights in low season and extended our stay by a further night. First and foremost the pool area and ocean view is magnificent. When we stayed we were the only ones here and it is so peaceful.

Where this place falls down is the rooms which have no a/c and our first room the mosquito net was not great. We had a pretty bad night's sleep the first night but we did stay in the cheapest room which was about €25 a night so was good value given the amazing grounds. On our second night we upgraded to an apartment with a kitchen and more space. It was not too expensive to do this and was much better.

The apartment meant we could cook for ourselves and had a much better net even though it was still hot at night. Overall the place is great but if it had a/c it could be perfect because it is so peaceful and beautiful.

Tips: it only takes cash which is not unusual in Sri Lanka. I would rent a motorbike from the property if you want to explore as it is very cheap. Finally do not rent the cheapest room if possible as it is quite small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Dear Conor Thank you for the time you have taken to review Deep Blue! We are not going to install A/C because we dont like the artificial air and prefer to have a good natural ventilation by using methods whcih are antique but ecological! You can find A/C anywhere but not at Deep Blue it is a choice not something missing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppylime
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marvelous view”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I rated this place to be very good only for the marvelous view of the ocean. It is really peaceful here, but kind of hard to find. There are no signs - nothing. But that's not uncommon is Sri lanka, i guess you have to know where to go:) the room was ok, nothing fancy, everything you need. Staff was nice, but most of them didn't speak english properly, manager did speak good english, butgave me a bad impresion -- just came in to collect money, didn't give a receipt or anything, didn't have any change and he said he would bring it later and never did. It was cents really, but honestly i didn't like it at all. They only accept cash, but don't have any change, that's just ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Dear Poppytime please tell us how many cents were missing from your charnge and will send you a Paypal immediately!!!!!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinella...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WHERE TO ENJOY FULL PEACEFULNESS”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is located in an amazing place next to the famous Pollen Beach, you can enjoy a good swim in the doorstep clear sea water or relax at the swimming pool in total freedom and comfort. Very close to all Mirissa small beach front restaurants, spa, amenities and Matara shopping centers. An excellent safe place for adults and kids. The rooms are all with ensuite hot water bathrooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna321...
2 reviews
“Excellent times here -very memorable - we already miss the people there - kids want to take a detour to go beck and say”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really fantastic time at deep blue. It's a lovely piece of land right on the beach. There are three properties all available to rent - by room - so you could have various people staying at any one time. We liked the opportunity to meet new people but we really loved the staff. 10 minutes walk to the city, fish markets etc really a great place for an adventure !?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
Thank you Joanna for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience at deep blue villa with others!!! Maruz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosanna R
Trieste, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Marvellous swimming pool and eco garden”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have found deep blue villa by chance, after the chaos of Mirissa beach we found this secluded villa and will never forget our stay there.......quiet, green, birds, the ocean the fresh Fish from the market.....not to be missed...

Traveling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
thank you rosanna it was a real pleasure having you as a guest, come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieSmAL...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday!”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It was the perfect holiday location for our family with small kids. The house was beautiful and the garden was very spacy and safe for the kids to run around in. It was centrally located which made it easy to move around and get access to food and groceries. The manager was very helpful and attended to any worries we had very promptly. Overall it was a great holiday and we will definitely return to Deep Blue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The colonial house and the space around it.
Liked least: That it did not have a beach nor pool
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2015
Thank you Marie for your comments, we are so happy to learn how our guests have appreciated our simple yet attentive hospitality. We await your return to Sri Lanka and hope to see you and your family again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing