We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polhena Reef Garden

Polhena Reef Garden
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polhena Reef Garden
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Matara
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The staff tried to be helpful although they spoke very little English and nothing seemed simple. They advertise wifi but after asking 5 members of staff none of them knew the password. One eventually gave me his email password! The rooms are clean enough but very basic, we had no water for the shower the first day but it worked fine the second day. Only a couple of the rooms were occupied, but during the day the pool was full of local men who go to swim and there was also swimming lessons for children. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on food. Apparently the kitchen isn't always open depending on how many guests there are. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

You would expect more for the price you pay at this place. The place is more like a cheap motel, except that it's not cheap.

Only a room with ac. No laundry facilities, no phone etc.

The front desk closes at 10 pm and the staff is very minimal although they are friendly.

Only advantage is that it is close to the beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matara hotels

Leipheim, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 14 days in PRG during a 10 week stay in Sri Lanka so we were able to look around the area. We arrived at the hotel and were informed that they did not have a liquor licence and I explained that I would not have booked the room if I had known. Five minutes later a refrigerator was provided and the manager said he would arrange to have any beer etc; delivered to our room, the day before we checked out they received their licence. The breakfast was Sri Lankan and continental and you could order your breakfast the day before. As we were getting tired of toast we ordered the local bread and I sometimes had three curries for my breakfast seated in the garden beside the sea. The staff done everything they could be capable of to make our stay a pleasent one, we even had fresh flowers on the table every day. We were in room number 207 which was upstairs and had a large balcony which we shared with the room next door and we spent many evenings with local business people and learnt a lot from them concerning politics and the Sri Lankan way of life. The room was cleaned every day with fresh bed sheets although we did not need them and two bottles of water free of charge were provided every day. Hot water was plentiful and we had no problem with mosquitoes in the room which was air conditioned. The swimming pool was the cleanest I have seen in this price range and we spent the weekends there when the public beach got really crowded, on week days it was deserted. The snorkelling was good and I swam with the tutles on several occasions. There is a local diver named Sunit near the hotel and he organised fishing trips and some guests went diving with him and they said the fish and coral were fantastic. I went fishing with him and unfortunately we caught hardly anything and he delivered a large red snapper to my hotel as compensation. He is a really nice man and very honest. The food in Polhena is not a gourmets paradise if you are not a curry fan and you need to have a lot of patience and beware of the beer prices as the price is often not shown in the nenu so ask first as we got charged 450 rupees the first night in a retaurant. Walking around the dusty streets was interesting and we were invited often for a cup of tea as we wandered around. My conclusions to the hotel is when you treat the staff in a friendly manner you receive the same. I would go there again but for those on a limited time frame I would suggest a 4 night stay to enjoy the sights around Matara

Room Tip: Room number 207 which faces directly onto the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is expensive, you pay an outrageously high price for this hotel for the AC and the pool!! The rooms however, are average and you are not on the beach! There are plenty of hotels in the area for half the price and with nicer service!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped at this place for a meal. We ordered some chicken fried rice and a sandwich which took about one hour to arrive. The entrance / reception etc can only be described as a dump, unless you are a traveller who has not been to better places. The food was so disgusting that even the stray dog we offered it to did not want to even go beyond sniffing it. The rice was so disgusting, tasteless and just a pile of somewhat soggy boiled rice with shredded carrots & leeks and white pieces of chicken to match the whiteness of the rice. There was no nice colour or flavour and it cost Rs. 600 a plate! We only had a few spoonful. The sandwich was equally bad.For 3 fried rice, a sandwich, 2 bottle of water & 2 bottles of Sprite, it cost over THREE THOUSAND RUPEES which was OUTRAGEOUS for such horrible food and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annonymous2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pohlena Reef Garden is a nice little hotel at the southern tip of Sri Lanka. The service is surely basic but kind and accurate. The rooms are clean and well kept. The food has a definite local flavor and appetizing. The hotel is right on a nice little beach with a coral reef where you can do some good snorkeling in the winter months, and has a swimming pool in the back. All in all, a pleasant experience which has created many good memories.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel lies along a dusty road facing an untidy beach where the sea is quite dirthy.Rooms are basic but clean,the only nice thing at this hotel is the swimmingpool on the back.The restaurant and the reception hall are rather squalid,better to eat outside.Food is acceptable but very hard to get a decent cup pf tea!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ennio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matara
0.2 mi away
Amaloh by Jetwing
Amaloh by Jetwing
#6 of 17 in Matara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#7 of 17 in Matara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.4 mi away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polhena Reef Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polhena Reef Garden

Property: Polhena Reef Garden
Address: 30 Beach Road, Polhena, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Matara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polhena Reef Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Polhena Reef Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polhena Reef Garden Hotel Matara
Polhena Reef Garden Sri Lanka/Matara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing