We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A high standard self catering lodge in a tranquil...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
meekScotl...
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A high standard self catering lodge in a tranquil setting.”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have been visiting the Enchanted Forest in Pitlochry for the past few years and usually stay in one of the hotels in the town, but this year we decided for a change of scenery, so we rented Chestnut Lodge in Blair Atholl on the River Tilt. This is within easy reach of Pitlochry by car as it is just over 7 miles away. Chestnut Lodge is beautifully equipped with many home comforts such as dishwasher, music system, TV and DVD player. The bedrooms are warm and comfortable with plenty storage space, and the open plan living room/dining area has a log burner effect gas fire making this a very cosy sanctuary on a cold Winter evening. There is also a collection of books, games and DVDs to suit most tastes. The kitchen is particularly well equipped with an abundance of cooking utensils, dishes and glassware. We were staying with our baby Grandson, and the owners provided a travel cot and high chair as requested. There is a small restaurant, a fish and chip shop and a pub all within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this lodge to other members of my family and friends as it is very good value for money and is situated in a very peaceful location. We all enjoyed our stay at the lodge and hope to return sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet C
1 review
“delightful”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Well situated, clean cabin, very well equipped, Beds and, duvets and pillows very comfortable.
Lovely restaurant and amenities nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect cosy lodge”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great lodge in a quiet setting, but very close to Blair Atholl and Pitlochry. We used this as a base to go to the Enchanted Forest and it was ideal. Good amount of tech, with enough charging points to keep the kids happy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel and attention to detail
Liked least: Maybe lack of bath, but for a few days it wasn't an issue
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillyRadf...
1 review
“A great find!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were lucky enough to get a last minute two night stay. The lodge was exactly as described and incredibly well equipped for a self-catering place. It was clean, warm, very well presented and in a lovely peaceful location near the river. There are shops in easily walkable distance. Very good value and suited our family of four very well. We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne_smsn
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Gorgeous little lodge. Pure luxury and a great base for exploring. Would definately come again. Very comfortable beds and all the little extras made the stay even more perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C
1 review
“outstanding value for money”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We took a short break at Blair Atholl as we are regular visitors too the area. First time though for Chestnut Lodge and we were not dissapointed. It was everything you possible will need for a short or long stay from wifi to coffee machine washing machine to tumble dryer. The places is absoultely spotless. It is by far the best place to stay in the area and we have stay in alot of places over the years. We will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunworshi...
ayrshire scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chestnut lodge”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just stayed 4 nights here there is everything u need it's very clean beds very comfy will definitely be back thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing