We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what i expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atholl Arms

The Atholl Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

the menu made everything look rather tasty, however........ either the chef was having an off day or I just didn't like it. The wife said the same and considering £34 for two course (between two of us), I was expecting much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting building, worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Came for lunch before visiting the castle. Food was delicious with a varied menu. Really interesting building and the main restaurant (which we walked through en route to the bar) was fascinating. Worth a visit and we hope to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Super large bar meals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Called in to the Bothy bar for an evening bite. They were very busy but we managed to find a table. We had starters that were very good, then on to the mains. I had the real beef burger with chips that was superb the wife had home made fish pie. This was very good as well. Service was excellent even though they were very busy, people were waiting to find a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malfishing47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
721 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Needs refreshing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cosy restaurant, good table service but long wait at bar to place order [only one man behind bar at time, lots of customers!] Have been coming here for years but menu has barely changed. Would recommend either the venison casserole or the haggis. Needs an uplift/refurb/menu change.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good for game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed in the hotel over the may bank holiday weekend. The service in the hotel restaurant is excellent. The menu is very traditional fare but good. I had a haddock cheese pot to start which wasn't quite what I expected from the description but quite nice. The venison was very good. My husband had steak.

The venue is a very imposing baronial hall. The wine list is decent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redheadsturnheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atholl Arms also viewed

Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Atholl Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing