We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden”

Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.68*
and up
Best of Scotland in a Day Small Group Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Blair Castle and go on a journey into the fascinating past of the Dukes and Earls of Atholl. Unique amongst Scottish castles, the story here leads you from Mary Queen of Scot's visit to the Civil War, and from the Jacobite cause to Queen Victoria's famous stay which led to the creation of Europe's only surviving private army, the Atholl Highlanders. Over 700 years of Scottish history are on display across 30 rooms. Highlights of the castle tour include the Baronial Entrance Hall, featuring weapons used at the Battle of Culloden; the classic Georgian styling of the Picture Staircase; the grandeur of the State Dining Room and Drawing Room; and the magnificent Ballroom, bedecked in hundreds of antlers. The Castle sits at the hub of a breathtaking historic landscape and the gardens and grounds feature a 9 acre walled garden, a peaceful wooded grove, a ruined kirk, a red deer park and a whimsical Gothic folly.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely garden”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hercules Garden is absolutely beautiful and every time I have been there have been ducks and ducklings in the lake which is lovely to see. They even grow a small but varied selection of vegetables in the garden which is great. The gardens are so peaceful and we have never paid to visit them as if you start off from the campsite you come in from the opposite end to that of the entrance gate and can wander around for free!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForYourEntertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    426
    100
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We toured Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens in June. The castle is quite lovely, but there was white plastic on parts of the outside as the roof was undergoing repairs. At least the white blended in to the exterior so that scaffolding didn't stand out too much.
A lone bag pipe player added to the ambience, standing right outside playing a lovely melody. You could hear it echoing through the hills. Lovely touch.
The tour of the house is rather extensive, but no photos are permitted except for the ballroom which is probably the most distasteful room in the house, if you ask my opinion.
The interior is filled with deer skulls sporting antlers....down every hallway, one after the other, on both sides, as well as in the ballroom hanging in large numbers on two of the walls.
The Hercules Garden was not anything outstanding, although there were some unique features like lily ponds and imitation Crannogs over the water.
There were some lovely walks, with rhododendrons in bloom, but without the floral beauty of those plants, there would not be many flowers to admire anywhere.
We had tea and a scone in the castle tea room. Quite ordinary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairCastle, Public Relations Manager at Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will make sure to bring up your points in next week's Operations Meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Glad we visited!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Blair Castle is a beautiful building, (sadly parts of it were covered in scaffolding on the day we visited) and is huge so be prepared for a long day. The costs of entre are quite dear but as long as you budget for it during your holiday its worth it - there are many different parts to look at so we would suggest planning your day out. Sadly the house doesn't contain means for disabled visitors to check out the floors above ground level. This means we are restricted to looking round the beautiful rooms that are on the ground floor and then spending a good 20 minutes watching the 'Blair Castle Audio-Visual Presentation' whilst the more abled bodied visitors can look at the rooms on the 1st & 2nd floors. The presentation is quite good, as these presentations go - but the sound was drowned out by the builders outside, which slightly spoilt the whole thing. There is a café, shop and toilets on the ground floor which all need to be visited before you attempt the large and expansive gardens because you will need substance for your trip, a map to find your way around and will definitely need to visit the toilets - as there are only one set of disabled toilets on site! Once in the gardens, we found our way around and really enjoyed what we saw - the flowers and shrubs were stunning and the woods were beautiful. There were area's that were less accessible that others, so ask at the house is there are any spots you should avoid in a wheelchair. Enjoy your visit - we did!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlie46Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairCastle, Public Relations Manager at Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, it's great to have a review from a wheelchair accessibility point of view. It will help us to assess how we can enhance the experience for wheelchair users in the future. I'm terribly sorry if the noise outside disrupted your trip but the good news is that the scaffolding has now been removed and the castle is back to it's usual peaceful state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fairly good castle attraction”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Be prepared for quite some walking around the castle and the estate. Their tour around the castle is fairly good and each room's content split into clear areas, so you know what belongs where. There is also a decent video after the first few rooms. A fair variety of topics is present in the various rooms, and also some nice items, even though some descriptions of various branches can become quite tedious. There is a spacious gift shot at the end, and you can go to their cafeteria for a bite. It's not the best I have seen in a castle, but will get the job done. Try and have a walk in the huge estate, even though we ourselves only had time to see the ruins of the church along with some woodland and the picturesque Hercules Gardens. The price could be a bit lower, but otherwise I don't complain much - a good castle visit, and still better than Balmoral. 8 / 10

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairCastle, Public Relations Manager at Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We love to hear what visitors think of the castle and how we can improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great walk and lots to see.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a walk in the evening which was lovely and quiet - it was also free! the gardens and walks were lovely as usual. have been coming here fir over 20 years and it looked as nice as ever.

Only criticism would be the tariffs - which even suggest if in foot you pay to get in the gardens, which I don't recall in the past, still it is an iconic place to visit and if you're in Perthshire then you should probably pop in - but leave plenty of time to have a good look around and if it is dry the gardens and walks are lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing