We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break for Munro's”
Review of Ptarmigan House

Ptarmigan House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blair Atholl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ptarmigan House
Ranked #2 of 3 Blair Atholl B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short break for Munro's”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice B&B with most things you need. Quiet area with good car parking. Room okay, good breakfast with hot toast. As we were Munro walking, it suited us as a location close to A9. Lots of things to do in the local area with a local hotel with its own brewery worth a visit .19th-century Atholl Arms

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bellgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
plockton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is honestly one of the best B&B's I have stayed in. It's a REAL Scottish B&B. For a start, it's perfectly situated, in Perthshire, just off the A9, just before House of Bruar, after a few hours driving from the major airports, that makes it the ideal stop off. Its quiet and peaceful. Its a lovely, big, old, GENUINE, family home. There are framed photos of the 'kids' and paintings of Highland cows. It used to be an old Victorian shooting lodge and hasn't been tranformed into anything else. The rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean and well cared for in a traditional, stylish and unpretentious way. Antique furniture with nice fresh cotton gingham covers, a lovely old big bed with good mattress and crisp white cotton, the tissue box was dressed in embroidery anglais. So many perfectly 'country' welcoming touches that make you feel comfortable but special.
The breakfast choices weren't cluttered with fancy combinations-I had a straightforward 'Bacon sausage and egg with tomatoes and mushrooms' after prunes and yogurt.(I bet it was cooked on an Aga...) Its honest, its fresh and its good- that makes it simply brilliant! Your hosts, the Muirheads, have got it right.
We did have a wee shop at House of Bruar ( nicknamed the Harrods of the North, 5 minutes away) before arriving and then we had the evening at Pitlochry Festival Theatre seeing an old Ayckbourn play. It's only 10 minutes drive away- top class rep. theatre. Great fun!
My only regret is we couldn't stay longer....
We totally recommend Ptarmigan House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miriamclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M, Owner at Ptarmigan House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you Miriam for your lovely review, we thoughly enjoyed having you to stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Regards Gordon and Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My son, myself and my wife stayed in the family room (5 I think) for just one night during a bike ride across the Highlands. The room was spacious and comfortable with a separate small lounge area with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The en-suite was very small but adequate. We were able to store our bikes securely in the house. Breakfast was great and set us up for a rather wet mornings riding! Not much in Blair Athol, but it suited us as it's closer to Aviemore, our next stop

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Best advice: expect adequate and basic en suite room and breakfast. Nothing fancy. 3 stars is generous.

Better advice: see Blair Castle if you are in need of a castle fix, then drive 6 miles farther and stay in Pitlochry. Blair Athol has offers nothing of interest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a wonderful nights break here yesterday. Very easy to find with plenty of parking. Lin and Gordon were unable to be there when we arrived but a key and instructions were left for us. Our room, 3, had lovely views and was very peaceful. Large room with double and a single bed, seating area and TV. Room and en suite very clean and fresh. Finally met Gordon at breakfast, a charming man who can cook a mean breakfast, absolutely delicious.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ptarmigan House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pots31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Chose this B&B mainly because of the professional website, and we weren't disappointed. It's easy to find, within walking distance to the pub and because its set back from the main road, is in the most glorious of setttings.

The welcome was warm and hassle free. The hosts friendly and accommodating(we asked for a 7am breakfast whcih was accommodated without hassle).
The Rooms are bright spacious and tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the house. The views from the rooms are fantastic. The bathroom and room were spotlessley clean, complete with tea tray etc.

I should also mention the bed. It was big! My partner is 6ft 6" and could lie straight out(something that is a rarity for him in most accommodation!).

The breakfast was hot, tasty and served in a lovely bright and lovingly decorated room with views over the hills. The food was great...my only comment was that it didnt come with either haggis, black pudding or a tattie scone ( or all of the above!).. These are the things that make it a Scottish Breakfast in our book.. That said, it was delicous!
Considering the decor, size of room, location and breakie, I would say this place is real value for money. It's also so much more interesting than a souless Premier Inn or similar.

I would recommend and will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Linden, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This guest house is fine for those who prefer the hands-off approach of hosts. The experience was more hotel-like than guest house, providing privacy instead of cozy welcome. The room also lacked some of the extras one may expect of Highland hospitality. That said, the room was clean and serviceable with all necessary amenities. The breakfast was satisfying.

If you have luggage, the location is more than a comfortable walk from the train station, and taxi's are not readily available. The walk to the castle would not tax anyone in fair physical condition and there are restaurants available along the way. If you have a car, the location on the edge of town is no problem. In fact, it assures a restful night sleep without road and city noises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blair Atholl
0.5 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
678 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,754 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
5.9 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ptarmigan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ptarmigan House

Property: Ptarmigan House
Address: Ptarmigan Lodge The Terrace | Signposted From Petrol Station on Main Street, Blair Atholl PH18 5SZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blair Atholl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blair Atholl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ptarmigan House is a former Victorian shooting lodge surrounded by spectacular scenery and overlooks the golf course to the hills. There is a large garden with ample parking. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing stay in the peace and quiet. All village amenities close by including golf course, pub and restaurants. We offer bike storage and drying facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ptarmigan House Blair Atholl, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing