We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back once again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair Atholl Watermill

Blair Atholl Watermill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A working watermill has been on the site since 1590s. We mill our own flour and oatmeal which we then use in our bakery attached to the mill. We serve breakfast, light lunches and cakes and our aim is to provide simple wholesome food with our baking and locally sourced food. We bake fresh everyday and have a range of bread, bagels, croissants, cakes and lots more available to enjoy in the tearoom or takeaway.
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Back once again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been coming to the Water Mill for more than 30 years now (seems hard to believe!) and enjoyed another visit yesterday. We were all able to sit outside in the sunshine, and I particularly enjoyed the cinnamon bagel with my cup of tea.

That couldn't be Kirsty's son helping out could it?? Surely Time doesn't pass that quickly?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PartyGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fab cafe and working mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

A thorough recommendation for the Watermill cafe and bakery at Blair Atholl. Though it’s now closed for the season it’s definitely worth a trip during the spring/summer.

It’s a working mill, powered by a water wheel and the local stream. It also has a cafe – great soup!! – which sells their baked goods.

This time I had a yummy raisin and cinnamon bagel. I’m a bit fussy about my bagels, having tried the real thing freshly baked at a Jewish bakery in the US. But Rami and Kirsty didn’t let me down – I’ll be back for more…

The others had carrot cake (my companion loves it so much she travelled from Canada for a piece!) and tiffin (which their adorable daughter advertises on the menu and box) – all fabulous.

It’s making me hungry just thinking about it…

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank e_halmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You just have to stop here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If in this area - you just have to stop here for lunch or snack! Sandwiches are made with absolutely delicious home made bread. Loaded with fillings. Thick cut ham, really tasty cheeses home made chutneys. Lovely fresh soup. Cakes to die for!
Staff are really friendly and helpful. On one occasion turned up at 4.45 - everywhere else closed. But no problem - made up some sandwiches, cheese and oatcakes, coffee and cake. Couldn't resist buying some bits and pieces to take home too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rather expensive for a roll and ham - £4.95 - no salad accompaniment and had to ask twice for my order, which was not exactly complicated! The restaurant is quaint and the surroundings pretty, but all in all it wasn't worth it. Sorry!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mumofoneCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty C, Owner at Blair Atholl Watermill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Unfortunately it seems you were charged for an open sandwich which is a larger portion and does come with salad and crisps but received a roll instead. I can only apologize but could easily have rectified this if you had mentioned it on your visit. Sorry about that as we do pride ourselves on our high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scones and bagles to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

On our way to visiting Blair Castle we had a short break at the Blair Atholl Watermill - which turned out to be the highlight of the day. Their bagles are a delight, so we decided to pamper ourselves with some tea and scones. Have a look at the picture - it speaks for itself. And as the mill is still operational this is as artisan as can get!
Service was very friendly, you can either sit inside (lovely old buidling), on the porch or the small garden. And if you still feel like visiting Blair Castle - sure, do - I'd rather stay a little longer and have another Scone or some deilicious cake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunntigschind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blair Atholl Watermill also viewed

Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Atholl Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing