We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic b&b”
Review of The Firs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blair Atholl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firs
Ranked #1 of 3 Blair Atholl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable room clean +wifi. Grand rich breakfast served in the sun room. Gracious and kind hostess (in the evening she recommended a restaurand nearby for dinner and asked for our travel plans in the morning). We felt we welcome and couldn't ask for more. Price was reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yael20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here as it was in close proximity to a wedding we attended at Blair Castle. Even though we arrived earlier than we perhaps should have, the welcome was no less welcoming and we were shown to our very clean and comfortable room. Wifi was a handy extra addition to our stay. We slept very well in our quiet location and the bed was one of the best i have slept in away from home! The hosts are wonderful - nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was fab in the lovely conservatory. Highly recommend this establishment and very much hope to return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pinkchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

You are sure to receive the warmest welcome at the Firs. Lovely rooms, clean, warm and comfortable in a gorgeous house. Great breakfast in the fab conservatory. Numerous superlatives all round. I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great little B&B just around the corner from Blair Castle. The house itself looks amazing, along with the front garden. Off the main road so no traffic noise. The twin room wasn't the largest we booked but everything was spaced out perfectly, plenty of room for luggage and personal movement. Great breakfast and amazing place to eat in the conservatory. The lady of the house was extremely nice and friendly. Definitely recommend it to anybody traveling around or in Blair Atholl.

Room Tip: The twin room we had was spacious and the bathroom was nice as well. The room was on the smaller si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEIVIONCRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Firs Guesthouse with a group on friends during the Blair Atholl Highland games.
We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome and the breakfast was excellent.
We visited the castle for the games, walked through the amazing countryside and swam in the river. All walking distance from The Firs.
I couldn't recommend this place higher and I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: If the weather is warm please head up to the river for a swim, easily the best swimming pool in scot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnhowlett87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Extremely friendly, very warm welcome. Great breakfast and good clean warm rooms. I have stayed on many occasions and always receive great service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooddy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Blair Atholl and always stay at The Firs. The facilities and hospitality are second to none and as such the house feels very much like a home away from home - with the bonus of friendly hosts and great cooking! The bike hire is also very handy for trips into the surrounding adventure playground of this part of Perthshire. Have just returned from a stay there this weekend for the Etape Caledonia, the Firs was a perfect place to rest and relax afterwards. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blair Atholl
5.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
741 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ptarmigan House
Ptarmigan House
#3 of 3 in Blair Atholl
61 reviews
0 mi away
Dalgreine Guest House
Dalgreine Guest House
#2 of 3 in Blair Atholl
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs

Address: The Firs St. Andrews Crescent, Blair Atholl PH18 5TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blair Atholl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blair Atholl
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firs 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned guesthouse run by Kirstie and Geoff Crerar in a quiet highland village just north of Pitlochry and close to the famous Blair Castle home of the Atholl Highlanders. All rooms are en-suite with colour TV and courtesy coffee/tea tray. Charming guests' lounge (with a real fire if it's chilly) and breakfast served by your hosts personally in our spacious conservatory breakfast room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firs Blair Atholl, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing