We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frightening.”
Review of Timberland Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shabaqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberland Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Shabaqua B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frightening.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Not the worst I've stayed in but close. After seeing a couple of dead moose on the highway we decided it was time to stop. This place was cheap but even with that it was hard to take. When we arrived the window was open but that didn't hide the stench of the room which had been doused in air freshener. The carpet was damp, the box springs stained and smaller than the mattresses (lumpy) that were on them. There wasn't really a lock on the door so we put a chair and suitcase in front and there was no curtain on the window. My husband was the only one to brave a shower and subsequently got a rash of unidentified orgin.

This place is preferable to running into a moose but only slightly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tove L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2015
Thank-you for your review.. Terribly sorry for your experience . The Window was open as we had the carpets steamed cleaned earlier that day. All our rooms do have locks,they lock automatically when the door is closed. Our Rooms are dated but clean,If they are not please let us know that is very important us. Our water here is awesome drink it from the tap myself,Health board requests it to be be 0.00 and it is. Sorry again. Would be nice to serve you again.

Bill & Tracy
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
trenton
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Like others have said, we were too tired to drive any further. We were getting ready to go to bed and heard some loud bangs and seen some bright light flashing outside the window, all of a sudden the power went out. I looked outside and see a power pole and some wires going to the building. We went outside and noticed other people who were staying at the motel also lost power, while I was speaking to the guy that was in the room beside me, we saw a bunch of sparks flying on top of the roof in 2 spots. Girlfriend freaked out and packed our stuff and put it in the car. Had to call the number on the door to get a hold of the owner who lived upstairs, but still had power. Nothing he could do as the lines broke off the building and were arcing. Said it was up to us if we wanted to stay, after discussing with our neighboor, both parties decided for a refund and move on, as there was a 1% chance the place could have caught on fire and we wanted no part of that. Owner offered us gas, but we were full from thunder bay, also gave us 20 dollars more then we paid. We drove another hour west and found a nicer motel to stay at.

Room Tip: Drive another hour west, there is a better motel on a little waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, Owner at Timberland Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2015
We do greatly apologize for your evening, was beyond our control just as you explained it we had a weak wire which arched..... Yes was definitely scary I will agree there. We did phone hydro one and they arrived within the hour and fixed the problem :) Our rooms are dated but clean. I do hope you choose to stay with us again. Anything we can do to make your stay more comfortably please let us know.

Bill & Tracy
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were to exhausted to drive further. The rug was 'lumpy', paint peeling off of the walls, sink coming away from the wall. No hot water on arrival & the towels were 'iffy'. Linen appeared to be clean though. However the staff were very friendly & did come and fix the hot water immediately when told of the problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caser41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

If I was by myself on my trip i would have prefered sleeping in the car. Too fatigued to drive further. There is nothing else around. It is suitable for a guys only fishing trip where no one is worried about flies, bugs or grime. $75 a night and it should be $35. The place is what it is. A place to crash. I will say the linens were clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AndySzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timberland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Motel

Property: Timberland Motel
Address: Hwy 11/17 At Shabaqua Road | Shabaqua Corners, Shabaqua, Ontario P0T 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Shabaqua
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shabaqua
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Unit Motel (Old but Clean & Affordable) "Self Serve Cafe" Soups & Sandwiches, Chili, and much more. Homemade Baking, LCBO Agency "Cold Beer", Mini Mart, Confectionery, Bait & Tackle, Gas Station, & Gift Store. We are close to many excellent Fishing lakes Some of Ontario's best Moose & Deer Hunting is right in our backyard Trans-Canada snowmobile Trail Right across the Hwy We Welcome Crews, Room and Board Rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing