We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we had family in Moulay Idriss”
Review of Dar Zerhoune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Zerhoune
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like we had family in Moulay Idriss”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Dar Zerhoune - stayed here for 4 nights in February. What stood out to us most (and what we loved best) was the service that our hostess Hajiba provided - she truly felt like family. When we arrived at Meknes we were surprised to see her come with the driver to greet us (we had arranged a driver come for us in advance through Dar Zerhoune which I recommend), which was very welcome in a new city especially since we knew very little French, let alone Arabic! Hajiba's management of the house was impeccable, and she made sure to pay attention to every detail including a guide for us in town, as well as a donkey ride. Not to mention she cooked utterly delicious Moroccan meals for us - and because of this we had absolutely no interest to try dinner anywhere else.

The riad itself is decorated tastefully in a traditional Moroccan style which made it very cozy and inviting. Clean guest rooms, and (while it takes a bit to start) - great hot water for showers! Terrace is really picturesque to relax and have tea - we even caught a glimpse of a wedding in town from the terrace one evening. Not to mention a great value for the money.

The only downside is Moulay Idriss can be cold in winter, and the nights can be cooler than you're used to despite portable heaters. The extra hot water bottles provided really helped warm the blankets, so we were very happy for those each night!

All in all, a great stay, highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Bathroom en suite was nice to have so you didn't have to leave the room to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetravels12, Owner at Dar Zerhoune, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for posting a review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dar Zerhoune, and being taken care of by Hajiba.

We still have the hot water bottles, however we now have duvets and electric blankets to keep guests toasty and warm over winter nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
37
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I came here as a single female traveler. Rose was amazing even before I arrived, quickly answering lots of questions by email. When I did get to Moulay Idriss, I was comfortable from beginning to end. The room and riad were very clean. The staff at the riad did things like offer me tea, or bring an extra heater (it's chilly in February!) before I could even ask. The dinner was AMAZING, as was the breakfast. I didn't get a chance to use the bikes, but they are in great condition. The booklet of info that is provided is very informative. I was checked up on and made sure I had everything I needed but also given privacy. Rose is super friendly and well-traveled. She is willing to share her experiences but also wants to hear about yours. I would love to return to Dar Zerhoune again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_M_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetravels12, Owner at Dar Zerhoune, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for your review and we enjoyed your stay as well... we look forward to welcoming you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The room is clean. And staying here is truly comfortable. Great value!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanghyunBaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetravels12, Owner at Dar Zerhoune, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
thanks for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

we had a really good couple of days and would really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper00777778787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Clean, convenient, friendly, great views off the terrace. Only bad thing: we had a lot of trouble opening the front door! Luckily the small boy who lives next door helped us out.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just returned from 18 days flashpacking around Morocco and during this time stayed in 9 places. We stayed for just one night at Der Zerhoune and were most disappointed.
This is the ONLY NEGATIVE review I have posted.
Having read other reviews we may have just been unlucky, though I do feel that some genuine thoughts be given here. The place is comfortable but a little shabby, and the decoration is not particularly good. We had an evening meal on the terrace - presented as a chicken tagine in the traditional pot, but this was clearly reheated chicken from the refrigerator......the outside hot, but the inside very cold although cooked. We should have sent it back but didn't and survived to tell the tale. We booked breakfast for 0800 hours but nobody appeared at the house before 0830 (I think staff live off the premises) making breakfast very late. I am not a moaner and we stay in a huge range of places across the continents so are not expecting anything for nothing.......but this was a poor experience for us - the only one we had in 18 days

Room Tip: ours had no windows, poor decoration, weak shower,....and no way of locking the door.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersclan241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetravels12, Owner at Dar Zerhoune, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry that you did not have an experience that was to the standard you expected. We know this is your only negative review and we have taken action based on your comments, to make the improvements for other guests. We would appreciate if you were to contact us directly to ensure we understand all the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Dar Zerhoune and found it comfortable and friendly. We ate in on the first night, which was very good. Unfortunately on the second night we did not ask if we could have dinner until rather late too late in the evening for the house manager to cook for us, but she organised us an alternative place to eat - la Columbe Blanche - which was also very good. We visited Volublis and wandered around Moulay Idriss, which seemed very quiet and peaceful after Fes! I would recommend this guesthouse and Moulay to anyone visiting Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetravels12, Owner at Dar Zerhoune, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed Dar Zerhoune and Moulay Idriss. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you with a meal on your second night and we are glad that you enjoyed where we recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulay Idriss
0.1 mi away
Diyar Timnay
Diyar Timnay
#2 of 3 in Moulay Idriss
54 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
381 reviews
11.3 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Colombe Blanche
La Colombe Blanche
#2 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Al Andaloussiya Diyafa
Dar Al Andaloussiya Diyafa
#3 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
17 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ryad Bahia
Ryad Bahia
#5 of 43 in Meknes
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zerhoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zerhoune

Property: Dar Zerhoune
Address: 42 Derb Zouak | Tazga, Moulay Idriss, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Moulay Idriss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Moulay Idriss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zerhoune is a restored traditional house in the whitewashed hill top town of Moulay Idriss Zerhoune. You are welcomed with mint tea and local nougat as you relax on the roof terrace with views of the Roman ruins of Volubilis (5km away) and the Zerhoune mountain range. The rooms have en-suite, and there is a dorm/family room with a separate bathroom. We have bicycle rental, or you wander into the local fruit and vegetable market, see the Muslim pilgrimage to the Mausoleum, experience the local Saturday market, swim in the thermal springs of the roman baths, explore Volubilis or just relax. We can arrange tours of Moulay Idriss, Volubilis as well as tours in the surrounding area. If you are on a day trip to Volubilis or Moulay Idriss then we can offer a 3 course home cooked lunch on the roof terrace. Please book this in advance.For the cooler months we have duvets, electric blankets and hot water bottles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zerhoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing