We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation experience”
Review of Diyar Timnay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diyar Timnay
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moulay Idriss
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Me and my partner loved to spend a night at Diyar Timnay. The contact with the hotel staff started the moment we get out the bus. I had introduced wrong coordinates in my GPS and was about to start walking towards the pointed spot when I was approached by a man who was introducing his accommodation business to arriving tourists. Well, by coincidence he was the owner (?) of Diyar Timnay and in that moment I was saved from walking about 1 km to somewhere just to find there was nothing there and with the difficult task to find by myself where would the hotel be located.

Anyway... about the place... close to perfection. Only tiny minus thing was the space management in the bedroom. It wasn't small, but quite stuffed, including an extra bed. Because of that, there was no space to sit comfortably by the desk.

But as I said, what a minor problem this was! The staff was more than perfect. Whatever we needed, whatever we asked, it was immediately solved and answered. The moment we decided to visit Volubis, there he was, the hotel owner, helping us dealing with the taxi drivers. We were asked at what time we wanted breakfast, we were allowed to stay in the restaurant just using as a lounge, making no expense but enjoying the gorgeous room to write our blogs and read and chat. Later on, much later, we did order something and it was delicious. Never in my life tried an almond smoothie, although I come from an almond land (South of Portugal)... freshly squeezed orange juice for an Euro... couldn't believe the price... a delicious fruit salad only with fresh fruit.

Internet Wi-Fi was solid and worked in a stable way all the time we were there, both in the bedroom and in the restaurant.

Breakfast was quite above expectations: we were served a glass of natural orange juice, a boiled egg, a Morocco style pancake, a basket with two kinds of fresh bread, home made orange jam, butter, cream cheese, mint tea (coffee as an option to this). It was all so good that the breakfast will remain in our memory.

Location of the hotel couldn't be any better. It's in a backstreet from the main square. As a result, it's quite all the time and still it's 2 min walking to the square where all the action happens (market, bus, taxis, etc).

So... to conclude the review: if you are looking for a fancy unpersonalized hotel, forget this one. Diyar Timnay is a place for true travelers looking for genuine hospitality, still with Western standards, all the commodities offered in a simple way and a great quality for the price ratio.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorgutPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Diyar Timnay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

i recommend this hotel for its brillliant customer service...the staff will do anything to help their guests even allowing me to use their internet in the reception for over an hour to check emails. the rooms are clean and modest but represent fantastic valued for money. the rooftop restaurant has amazing views over the township of moulay idris and the food is divine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morocco36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Most people visit Volubilis (the roman ruin near town of Moulay Idriss) on a tour bus from Meknes and just stay a few hours. But we (two adults and 3 children) stayed 2 nights in Moulay Idriss and were able to spend whole day at the Roman ruin and wander all round this hillside holy town. If you want to feel more like a traveler and less of a tourist in Morocco i'd thoroughly recommend a few nights here. We caught the train from marrakech to Meknes then got in a grand taxi near the medina. The food in the restaurant at this hotel was excellent - have the lemon chicken tagine, delictious.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

It is run by a very helpfull and pleasant staff and on a very good location. Very convinent to find, practicly on the taxi stand, price is agreeable even for tight budget and it includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simeLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres double sont spacieuses, plus confortables que les singles
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertrandDECROIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hakim1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous étions au dernier étage et avons bénéficié d'un balcon..très apréciable !
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank syrail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulay Idriss
11.3 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
389 reviews
14.2 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#15 of 19 in Meknes
124 reviews
10.8 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#5 of 19 in Meknes
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#4 of 19 in Meknes
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Zerhoune
Dar Zerhoune
#1 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Colombe Blanche
La Colombe Blanche
#2 of 7 in Moulay Idriss
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diyar Timnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diyar Timnay

Address: LN7 Ain Rjal BP141, Moulay Idriss 50350, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Moulay Idriss
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moulay Idriss
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diyar Timnay Hotel & Restaurant: a better base than Meknas, Tip Rating: ... Diyar has 10 rooms and a restaurant. Each room comes with a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diyar Timnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing