We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn Catavina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An excellent place to stay. Clean rooms, air conditioning, and pleasant staff. The swimming pool was a real treat after travelling in the heat. A real gem. Full menu available. 3 miles to the north, there are rock paintings worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is a standard for those traveling down Baja. A safe clean place to stop for the night. They have dog-friendly rooms, a good restaurant, and a fun bar with a pool table. It's a bit expensive for what it is, but there are no other real options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed there twice recently; once while driving to Loreto, and again on the return trip. It is a natural half-way point.
Fortunately, this place is, for lack of a better word, 'charming'. The owners seem to take great pride in their hotel, and it shows. It has really improved in recent years. The rooms are large, and clean. The beds were even soft!
If you plan to stay here, though, book your room in advance! If you just 'show-up', they will have rooms, but you will pay a premium for them. Also, don't plan on eating here unless you are independently wealthy.
You can forget about any of the other hotels or restaurants in Catavina. From what I could tell, they are all belly-up. Also, remember to fuel up before Catavina, as the Pemex station is long gone.
One interesting feature of Catavina is that it looks like God took all the boulders in Baja, and swept them into Catavina. Really impressive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

After a long day of driving and you're out in the middle of nowhere, the Desert Inn surrounded by the enchanting Boojum Tree forest is the perfect refuge. The rooms are very clean and arched corridors leading to the pool, restaurant, and lobby invites you to relax from a busy day of navigating the winding roads of the Baja. I didn't try the food but the bar had enough tequila and cold beer to quell my thirst. I was impressed by how well maintained the hotel was considering it's location. The price was moderate for the quality and location of this property. At sunset I suggest taking a stroll in the quiet desert to enjoy the long shadows of the cactus and the colors reflecting off the immense boulders from the brilliant sunset. The next morning I found it curiously quaint getting fuel for the vehicle. You must drive across the road and purchase one or more of the jugs of gas lined up along the roadside. All your needs and necessities are satisfied at this little oasis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcanyoncurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped at this hotel with two other couples on March 31, 2012. We found it nicer than we had ever seen it before. Rooms-spotless, and power all of the time. The grounds and landscaping were is top shape throughout. The food was good overall, depending on what you ordered. A bit pricey, but all of Baja has become more expensive over the past 30 years! Service was good, and staff very nice. We would definitely recommend this as a stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mision, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

After a late arrival on a dark, rainy night, we were ready to relax and have a nice warm meal.
A large party filled the dining facility, but with encouragement, a table was made up for our party in the corner. The service was acceptable, an overworked waiter tried his best, but I'm dumbfounded still at how you can make nachos and cheese enchiladas inedible!

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with tv, soaps & toiletries, but the prices were high. Thank goodness for the locals' discount. We'll probably stay here again next year on our return from whale watching...because it's the only game in town, but we'll eat before we get there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I loved this place! After a rather hairy drive with the last hour being in the dark we arrived at this wonderful place in the middle of nowhere. It was quite cold on arrival but the restaurant and the bar were well heated and we played billiards and had a great unwinding session with margaritas and red wine in the warm bar. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. the hotel was built round a courtyard which contained two smallish pools. It was too cold too swim in February but I can imagine it would be magical to swim under the desert stars in the summer. I awoke to a desert paradise right outside the bedroom window. the desert either side of the hotel is very beautiful, with white granite rocks beautifully placed by Nature and wonderful fact, including the beautiful cedrous trees. iIf you get a chance visit the pintrura rupestres five minutes north of the hotel. You park and walk for about five minutes up to an overhang (watch out for rattlesnakes...there are warning signs although we didn't see any) Magic to see these wonderful paintings done by the Yuman tribes. make sure you buy water from the hotel before you move on. The restaurant was good , especially the breakfast. The evening meal also good although the chef was a bit liberal with the salt. 90 dollars a night, but well worth it for such a gem in the middle of nowhere. Don't forget to step a little away from the noisy generators and the lights to look at the night sky!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catavina
16.4 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#18 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Mesa
Hotel La Mesa
#29 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Velario
Hotel Velario
#37 of 46 in Tijuana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn Catavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn Catavina

Property: Desert Inn Catavina
Address: San Quintin Punta Prieta portion of Highway 1, Km. 178, Catavina, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Catavina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Inn Catavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn Catavina Hotel Catavina
Desert Hotel Catavina
Desert Inn Catavina Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing