We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Isolated....Viva Baja MX!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn Catavina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
Mona, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Totally Isolated....Viva Baja MX!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We passed this going south, made a note of it, then stopped on the drive back to the US. We were informed by the front desk clerk that this place is no longer affiliated with the Desert Inn chain of Baja hotels. Mexican decor, thick walls with big windows. Air conditionied. Clean, sweet lavender smelling sheets. Out in the middle of the Baja desert cactus environment. Rocky terrain. Nicely landscaped walking path out back to explore and decompress. Onsite power generators are a bit loud, but they provide the electricity that makes it possible to run the hotel and restaurant. Traditional Mexican food was passable, not great. Only downside was low class California tourists next door - saggy old women changing their clothes with the door wide open. They were an embarassment to the more thoughtful American guests. Apologies Mexicans!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UtahShunpiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

An unbelievable find in the middle of nowhere. The staff was helpful, the grounds were extraordinarily clean, the rooms were clean-truly a desert oasis. The staff brought us cervezas and margaritas by the pool while our kids played, and yummy chips and salsa out of the blue! Dinner and breakfast were delicious and, the best part, my dad was able to put the whole thing on his visa card! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcyrutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

After hours of car through a beautiful but hot and dusty desert, it was like heaven getting here. Beautiful, fresh, large, clean rooms, and very good restaurant.
Not exactly "budget", for Baja California standards, not very expensive either, and well worth it.
At the time of my stay, renewal works were taking place on the roof and in courtyards.
I would go back again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gallettgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Since the last time I stayed in '03 the power now seems to stay on all night (generator). For it's location it can't be beat. Yes it's on the pricey side, but look where it is. Rooms are clean and staff is great. This is nicer then the Desert Inn in Guerrero Negro and I would rank it #3 overall for the chain - #1 Loreto & #2 San Ignacio.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Hotel has great grounds and pool, and great location for an evening hike. The rooms are nice, well maintained. Restaurant food is OK, but not special; hovwever, amiance is good.
Hotel is sort of expensive, but relative to central baja hwy 1 resting points, is better than competing hotels. Most hotels in nearby El Rosario and Guerrero Negro are simply truck stops without nice grounds or pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJMSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was planning on staying here, but balked when the surly clerk told me the rate was US $90 + 10% tax. I stayed across the street at a very rough, basic hotel for $25 (no tax). There is a very rustic ranch / restaurant a mile off the highway on the eastern side of town that also costs $25. The ranch is solar powered so it has electricity (refrigerator & lights), but after dark things shut down. Except the donkleys and horses wallking around......

On the way back, I passed through Catavina and stayed at the Oasis in El Rosario. It was an incredible value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank GigHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

Very nice hotel in the middle of the desert, This is the only really nice hotel in Catavina. Room are very big, very clean and hotel is really nice. Is can be a bit expansive for the area: the price was $90 a night but we negiciated $70 a night when we were there. Very quiet too!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catavina
16.4 mi away
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#17 of 46 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
Tijuana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 46 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Mesa
Hotel La Mesa
#30 of 46 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Velario
Hotel Velario
#37 of 46 in Tijuana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn Catavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn Catavina

Property: Desert Inn Catavina
Address: San Quintin Punta Prieta portion of Highway 1, Km. 178, Catavina, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Catavina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catavina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Inn Catavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn Catavina Hotel Catavina
Desert Hotel Catavina
Desert Inn Catavina Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing