We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 300 miles south of the border”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mision Catavina
Ranked #1 of 1 Catavina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is the only game in town unless you have the time to go 200km more. My investigation for my trip from LA, CA to Cabo San Lucas in Baja showed it would be the perfect distance (475miles) for a stop overnight. I made the reservation through Expedia and prepaid. The hotel is very nicely appointed and comfortable, bathroom ammenities, bar and restaurant. WiFi is available at the lobby if you ask them to turn it on. The pricing is high $89 + but there is nothing else around. Suppy and demand controls this 28 room hotel. Next to the hotel is a PeMex gas station that was closed at the time and there were people selling gas from 5 gallon cans with matching high prices, make sure you have enough gasoline in your tank for another 200km. The only negatives would be no in room coffee and breakfast not included.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mision Catavina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 92 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in all of it's previous incarnations. This latest one is by far the best with upgraded beds and refreshed rooms. Yes it's a bit pricy, but that's because of it's location.The new owners also run it's sister hotel, the Santa Maria in San Quintin. Both are worth staying at and I highly recommend.

Room Tip: You get can get a better price through third party sites like Expedia.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel formally La Pinta aka Desert Inns has been completely remolded by the new owners the Pino Brothers, to a high standard. They now have mini splits A/C in all the rooms, bar/pool hall and dining room. They have expanded Satellite TV and a gigantic new generator so no more blackouts. This scenic area is a great place to explore and stopover on the way south. Great food, margaritas, chips and pico de gallo!

Room Tip: Book through the hotel room through the their other hotel Hotel Mision San Quintin, MX
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My fiance and I made a quick rest stop at the Hotel Mision in Catavina on our way to Santa Rosalia last month. The place is simply unbelievable!!! We were so enchanted that we spent the night instead of driving on. Our room was well appointed and absolutely, spotlessly clean. The restraunt staff was as cordial as you will ever encounter. Our waiter was very attentive, to the point of recommending wine from the Guadalupe Valley in Mexico, and offering us samples of several varieties for an impromptu tasting. All were excellent. We feel that we have discovered a "Diamond in the rough" and plan to make it a destination anytime we are anywhere near.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeN44PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel, once part of the government run Pinta hotel group, is now owned by Los Pinos. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and consistent hot water, the grounds are beautiful, and the food is good. Considering that this really the only viable choice in this area, it is fortunate that it is so nice.

Room Tip: The rooms are all about the same, surrounding a large courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Early in 1973 Mex 1 still had a huge unpaved gap all the way from El Rosario to the state line at Guerrero Negro. That gap was closed later that year, and a wonderful hotel, called "El Presidente" appeared at Cataviña. It was a hotel in grand style, complete with swimming pool, and two throbbing diesel generators took turns making the hotel a modern outpost in the desert. After a few years the hotel became "La Pinta", and in its latest incarnation it is called "Hotel Misión Cataviña"

The hotel is still first rate. The rooms have been kept up to date and they are elegant and clean. The rates are a bit on the high side, but when you consider where you are and what is being offered, they are acceptable.

There is WiFi in the lobby and the hotel offers a satellite phone, and since the optical fiber came through in 2004, landline calling is also available at Cataviña.

The comedor (dining room) was always highly acceptable, but during our last visit we took our meals across the road at "La Enramada" operated by Salvador and Socorro Velasco and so we can't comment on the current status of the hotel's comedor.

The hotel is quite an establishment that makes for a memorable Baja experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yukonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarysolIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catavina
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
69 reviews
233.0 mi away
Desert Inn Catavina
Desert Inn Catavina
#1 of 1 in Catavina
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision Catavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Catavina

Address: Highway Mexico 1, Carretera Transpeninsular Benito Juarez Km 179 | Highway Mexico 1, about 180 km south of San Quintín, Catavina 22965, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Catavina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Catavina
Price Range: $79 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mision Catavina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mision Catavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mision Catavina Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing