We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$145
Travelocity$145
Orbitz.com$145
Agoda.com$175
CheapTickets$145
Trip.com$196
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
71
41
11
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
41
11
7
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

The hotel has a great set breakfast. The onsen was lovely. The room is Japanese style and very big and clean. It does take about 15mins on foot to get there from the train station. You can ask for a shuttle and the hotel will try to provide it if within service hour

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
14  Thank Elsasong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We decided to visit Kyoto but needed a place with free parking. We were fortunate to find this hotel with a beautiful view of the river Uji. My daughters were visiting from the US and they experiance a tradicional Japanese hotel, from sleeping on futons to traditional Japanese breakfast. This was a great location to visit Kyoto.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Beautiful ryokan outside of Kyoto, easily accessible by rail line. Located along river bank in Uji. All rooms have river view, providing a peaceful, relaxing escape from the big city. Separate Japanese baths from men & women. Wonderful whole body massage chair available for guests.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Prandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Botan room, it was massive! The space totally took us by surprise & the large floor to ceiling windows allowed lots of natural light into the room. We enjoyed having tea with full view of the Uji river. The onsen was good for relaxing. The male one was on G/F but the female one was on the 3/F so you can see the river view from there. We enjoyed wagyu beef teppanyaki dinner at their steak restaurant. Make sure you book before hand. The service was satisfactory but not that personal, staff’s English was limited. The room was also dusty in some areas. There was construction going on next to the hotel along the river at night so we could hear the noise even past mid-night. Besides that, it was a nice stay away from all the tourists. The hotel is 20-25min walk from Uji station. You can try to call ahead to arrange pick up service, they provide a free shuttle bus service between 9:00 - 10:10am, otherwise taxi from Uji station will cost ¥700. The Botan Room is quite expensive but expected due to its size & full river view. There are many smaller rooms at more affordable rates. However we feel they are slightly run down. The hotel seems old & worn yet some rooms have had recent renovation work done. So be careful when choosing room types.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ManChaTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

This onsen ryokan is located right on the Uji River. We chose a modern Japanese room, which has a wonderful view of the river. Although it was not raining in Uji when we visited, the river was very high and flowing very swiftly due to the record rainfall in the mountains. Thus the pedestrian bridges to the islets were closed, and there was no cormorant fishing at night. But it was quite a view from the room.

The room was spacious and had very comfortable twin beds about 6 inches off the floor on a raised platform. There was a large table in the center of the room, which also has a comfortable rocking chair and small desk. The bathroom had a separate room for the toilet and a glassed in tub/shower room with a window looking out on the river. Soaking in the tub and gazing at the river might cause you to become water-logged, because it is very relaxing.

Carved into the wood floor of the room were small grooves that gave it visual and tactical appeal. One of the walls is stone, setting off the floor to ceiling windows. There was an easy chair and big screen TV if you are so inclined, however for us the TV could never compete with river.

Meals were served in the restaurant with a view of the river. Although it was typical ryokan style cuisine, the chef was very creative in the use of seasonal and regional delicacies. The person serving us was full of info on each dish. It was easily the most sophisticated and delicious food we had in Japan during this visit, and we highly recommend it to those who like ryokan style meals.

The hotel has 2 onsen baths, one on the first floor and one on the 3rd floor. They alternate between accommodating ladies and men in the morning and afternoons. The 3rd floor bath is partially outside and has a good view of the river.

We will be back next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews