We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$144
Travelocity$144
Orbitz.com$144
CheapTickets$144
Trip.com$194
Agoda.com$174
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
71
41
11
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
41
11
7
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2016

The hotel is located in a quiet place along the Uji River. It is a very pleasant scenic spot.

Regarding access instruction, I would recommend those going to this hotel to take the Byodo-in Street. It is connected to a small path along the Uji River. The path is not very visible on Google map. I missed it at the very first time.

Room tip: Take the Byodo-in Street if you are walking from the JR station to the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Coconuttreeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

We wanted a ryokan experience and we chose this place.

It was pricey but so worth it. The service was top notch and the room was wonderful. It was a modern ryokan and had amenities like WiFi and TV.

There is also a shuttle service that is operated by the owner of the ryokan. The traditional breakfast was also very yummy.

If you want a ryokan experience, try this place!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Han M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Great place to get away from the craziness of the cities and sight seeing. Relax in the hot bath, and then enjoy the room view. Service is very friendly and informative, they told us where to eat late hours. The rooms are traditional just the way we like, and are always clean and organized when we get back. The town and temple is right by so you can get some yummy matcha ice cream or tea. Next time we visit Kyoto, we are staying here! The view from the room(212) is awesome!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and honestly it was the service that was excellent. If you have been to Japan before, you know that you will get looked after so to say the staff here went even beyond that is an understatement.

July is very hot and humid. We arrived by train and took a taxi which was about 650 yen. I think they may have a shuttle service, but check with the hotel. Instantly you were made to feel like this was not a hotel but a Japanese style ryokan. You took your shoes off and which they offered you slippers.

Our rooms were nice and cool as the air conditioning was on for our entrance. The rooms were clean and offered a Japanese style bath and separate Toto toilet. The floors were covered in tatami and had a table
With chairs you sit on the floor with. These were relocated to place your futon to sleep in in the evening.

What was fantastic was the service. We aren't the easiest bunch of people to travel with because there is always a slight drama. First was being bitten by insects. Remember bug spray because finding a pharmacy in the small town is difficult. You need to find one near the train station. The hotel gave us so ointment in the short term to use. Next thing is that restaurants close relatively early. The hotel arranged for Pizza Hut to deliver the most expensive pizza ever (lol). The last thing is my daughter had her stuffed toy run off on its own Japanese adventure. It seems it got stuck in the linens when they changed the sheets. There were about six people searching the hotel for her toy which was found thankfully. We would like to mention Sachiko-San who was particularly kind and patient.

I think this place is worth more than two nights for visiting something relaxing and beautiful. There isn't the pressure to see every temple and store they have to offer. It's a place where you can actually relax and listen to the river.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank jleegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

How did this place get such good reviews?! I am a frequent traveller and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. Don't let the pictures fool you--this place is a Japanese Motel 6. Staff is very friendly and view is beautiful but hotel itself is dumpy. Furthermore, if you arrive late (as we did) and did not make breakfast reservations for the next day, they offer nothing in terms of food and nothing nearby. My advice . . . KEEP LOOKING

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank carmencO5277HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews