We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rested my weary feet in this river”
Review of Uji River

Uji River
Ranked #3 of 84 things to do in Uji
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Rested my weary feet in this river”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Caught the train from Kyoto to Uji to pick up my tea supply. During the walk from Uji Station to the tea houses, I came across a small store selling sashimi and croquettes. Pick up my lunch and walked down to the river bank, took off my shoes, and let the cool, refreshing waters of the Uji River soothe my weary feet. A really nice place to relax. The Uji River's source is Lake Biwa, Japan's largest inland freshwater lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    110
    59
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing area”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Uji river area with parks is relaxing indeed with few tea houses. Century old pottery house is located beside the river ad can stay at the Uji Hanayashiki Ukifune ryokan hotel which has very good view from high floor, onsen area an traditional Japanese breakfast.
Walking distance to the Unesco designated Byodoin Temple, centuries old Buddhist temple currently under renovation until Dec.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is set in a tiny city between Kyoto and Nara. The river is crossed by one of the most unique and oldest bridges in Japan. There are many places to sit on the banks and rest or have a picnic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wanderer919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Romantic and silent place”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Living in Japan for nearly 40 years, this is one of my favourite places. It is romantic in any season of the year, but best in fall and spring. Today, March 29, the cherry blossoms were in their best. I recommend walking along the Uji river first, then visiting Ujigami Shrine and Byodo-in which are listed as part of the UNESCO World Heritage. The Byodo-in, with its Phoenix Hall, is featured on the reverse side of the 10 yen coin. After sightseeing I recommend buying some wonderful sweets made of powdered green tea and having green noodles called "zaru chasoba" and green tea icecream. You will never forget that wonderful taste.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
727 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Dramatic views of water rushing”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Take the walking bridges over the river to enjoy the rapids, the birds and the beautiful scenery. Walk on the islands where the ancient 13-tiered stone pagoda resides. Notice the bamboo trellises that train trees to grow horizontally or in flat vertical planes. In summer season one can take an excursion to see the cormorants which are used for catching fish that are great delicacies and sold at high price if there is evidence of a cormorant beak. In fall the colors of the adjacent hillsides are resplendent with colors. On one side of the river is an ancient shrine and on the other the famous temple complex where a nice museum displays artifacts too precious to reside on the temple.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uji River also viewed

Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
Uji, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Uji River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing