We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not operated by Radisson blu any longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen
Ranked #32 of 142 Hotels in Rugen Island
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“This is not operated by Radisson blu any longer”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A third stay on a "Great Rail Journeys" tour. We arrived feeling rather bemused. Expecting a Radisson, we find that it has recently changed hands and is now owned by the Lindner group. The staff were keen to please and in the main were friendly and helpful.

The reception area is quite impressive, our room, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired, a perfect example of style over function. Not at all sure how this hotel can be considered 4 star, the rooms are cramped, there was no mini bar, only the fridge where it might have been, no in-room welcome tray (as we had in the last 4 star Radisson Blu we'd stayed in). The only welcome of sorts was a bottle of water with an accompanying sign that told us it would cost €3.50. So not much of a welcome here then!

Two easy chairs (albeit with hard wooden arms), table and desk, which doubled as a dressing table (interesting piece of furniture design)

In a room of typical size and proportions of a UK budget chain hotel the room “designer” had decided to run the bed out of the corner at 45 degrees, and stick the fridge and TV in what looked like a free standing sentry box/Punch and Judy style piece of furniture. Again at 45 degrees. But, it did house a nice flat screen TV, with several English speaking news channels. What little space there is, in the room, is wasted by this ridiculous layout. However, it was nice and quiet. The bathroom was clean with reasonable quality towels and flannels. There was no bath, only a shower, but was in good order.

The hotel is situated in an area were you risk getting irritated by gnats if you open a window. There is a screen in front of one of the opening windows, but there is no air con. However, In an area that has sporadic mobile phone coverage, the “free” WiFi turned out to be very welcome.

Now to the bed, it was truly awful. Ultra firm mattress that seemed to be made totally of synthetic material, paired with synthetic duvets. There is nothing in this bed that breaths, so you wake, feeling clammy. The pillows appeared to be filled with a mix of something lumpy, again synthetic and very uncomfortable. Add to this, the fact that the mattress is set into a wooden base, so you risk banging your shins on it.

On looking around at the surrounding area, we were very under-whelmed. The landscaping of this “resort” was sadly lacking. The beach at the end of the grass at the back of the hotel was so small - we've seen wider slipways! At the entrance to the hotel was a building site which you had to negotiate to take a walk towards the other area of beach. The overall area was less national park than we'd expected, more like coastal fields, that are about to be developed into a housing development.

The surrounding area seems infested with gnats or midges all of which seem very pleased to swarm around you anywhere outdoors. Thankfully we were not bitten.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    48
    32
    10
See reviews for
44
134
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuhr
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After 2years we visited this peaceful Hotel in the middle of a Nature Reserve again. This has definately been improved Since we were last here. The biggest improvement is that all rooms now have unlimited Internet access. Our room was bigger this time with more sitting facilities and we had a kettle with tea and coffee.
The breakfast was just as incredible as the last time. Any request was fullfilled from all the friendly staff leaving nö wishes open.
It seems that a good part of the Hotel has been renovated, new carpets on many corridors and a generally fresher look.
The Fitness room has been upgraded with much more equipment, and the Pool room now has more, and better, Sun-loungers.
We love this place, now even more than before.

Room Tip: Rooms in Haus Tenne are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunch-o-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuhr
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Location is great, right in the middle of a Nature Reserve, looking directly over the water.
The hotel is a bit shabbier than it was a few years ago, and the horrible cobble stones between the Entrance and the Parking lot make sure that all nice shoes stay in your case!!
The breakfast is great, and the view from the Wintergarten is georgeous.
Due to the restricted menu in the Restaurant, we preferred to eat in Fähr Eck now and again. About a 6min drive down the road, very rustical with very fresh fish.
Swimming pool is very small and the outside bit is closed in the winter months.
Restaurant staff are very friendly. If you want to use your Laptop you must have a room in the main building or else you end up sitting in the Lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunch-o-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The entrance to the hotel is a cobbled surface rather than a tarmac smooth surface, as a result unloading and loading of your luggage is difficult, even with the benefit of suitcases having wheels. In addition to this the ramp for wheel chair access is also a cobbled surface - which probably contravenes EU law regarding disabled access.
The other aspect of the hotel which is questionable is the height of the beds from the floor and in addition the mattress is recessed with in a wooden frame, rather than being on top, therefore when sitting on the side of the bed part of the thigh of the leg is on the hard wooden frame, therefore getting into and out of bed isn't easy. The beds are probably a designer’s dream of the age of about 30, rather than a lateral/logical thinking person who considered not only design, but functionality across all age groups.
The real benefit of the hotel is the location and really no more, although the friendly staff is a positive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhigh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The hotel is located next to the see at an isolated location. The bad things to say about this hotel are that it is far away from the beach, too small gym with little equipment and too few restaurant choices. The good things are the quietness, the connection between indoor and outdoor swimming pools, friendly staff and special offers.

A car is required to get around on the Island as I assess it to be to dangerous to bicycle on the Island because the (car-) speed on the roads are high and few bicycle roads were visible. Except nature there is little to see on Rügen, but 3-4 days at the hotel with a focus on wellness, restaurant visit and the swimming pool can compensate for this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishModel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We decided to stay at this resort after having seen the pictures in the internet and read some reviews. The experience is nothing like what you see in Radission's pictures or what most reviewers seem to think, even if there of course are positives too.

The hotel is situated in a very remote area of Rügen. This might be okay if it really was a resort, but it is mostly a run-down hotel.

Rooms are quite big but run-down and with stains in the carpeting. Rooms have NO air-conditioning, which is very bad if you come during the summer.

Reception staff gave us the wrong information twice (or even lied to us). They treat guests as thieves and write you up for borrowing a bath robe or umbrella...

Breakfast is excellent! A lot of stuff and very friendly staff!

Pool area is small for the size of the hotel and remembering that it is around 20 kilometres to the nearest beach. Staff is friendly and once one of them even helped to take out a sun bed even if it was against regulations. There were around 20 sun beds for a big hotel...

Free internet!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rugen Island hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Room:
Took a family room, double + sofa bed. Good size, okay decoration. Huge marble vanity counter to the wash hand basin made a good sized bathroom slightly tight.

Food:
Impressed by the quality of the restaurant, good menu well cooked. Great and varied breakfast.

Facilities:
Decent swimming pool, not heated, + sauna.

Service:
Have done a fair amount of travelling both for business and family holidays, but i don't think i've come across a hotel with such good standards of service. We stayed long enough and came across sufficient staff to establish that it wasn't just one or two who were exceptional: all were friendly, efficient, and hard-working (woman in guest relations translated some instructions for us over-night) all constantly in motion (with a purpose) which is a good sign. Particularly impressed with the waiting staff, who were incredibly attentive without being overbearing. Most speak english to a good standard, those that didn't were very helpful in german.

Location:
As another review noted it really is in the middle of nowhere, 30mins by car from the nearest town Bergen, otherwise fairly small hamlets. So if coming for a beach holiday best on the east coast: Binz, etc. If coming for a quiet weekend, perfect. Beautiful setting.

One negative: the room we stayed in did not have air-conditioning, not usualy a problem (i prefer to avoid using a/c unless absolutely necessary) except this particular room had triangular dormer windows which couldn't be fully opened. It was a fairly hot spell and i felt the room was a little claustrophobic. Don't take a top floor room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rugen Island hotels
15.8 mi away
Panoramahotel Lohme
Panoramahotel Lohme
#2 of 3 in Lohme
79 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aquamaris Strandresidenz Rugen
Aquamaris Strandresidenz Rugen
#35 of 142 in Rugen Island
70 reviews
5.4 mi away
Strandhotel Dranske
Strandhotel Dranske
#1 of 2 in Dranske
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Precise Resort Rugen
Precise Resort Rugen
#1 of 4 in Sagard
253 reviews
7.9 mi away
Atrium Am Meer
Atrium Am Meer
#1 of 3 in Juliusruh
24 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cliff Hotel Rugen
Cliff Hotel Rugen
#5 of 20 in Sellin
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen

Property: Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen
Address: Vaschvitz 17, 18569, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Rugen Island
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rugen Island
#23 Spa Hotel in Rugen Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindner Hotel & Spa Ruegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Rugen Island
Radisson Blu Hotel Ruegen
Radisson Trent
Trent Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing